Ba - Middle Eastern - 3905 Piedmont Ave, Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Ba  - Middle Eastern - 3905 Piedmont Ave, Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
8/8/2016

This place is just fucking delicious. Everything I've tried is good, but I'm sort of fixated on the Chicken Tagine. I get that almost every time and always eat the whole thing, not because I'm actually that hungry but just because it's so good. The portions are pretty generous.Also, I go there sometimes just for the hummus. I think it's the best hummus I've ever had.And, I kinda like the pomegranate motif all over the walls and stuff- hella cute and cozy divine feminine/fertility vibes or something.

8/4/2016

Well deserved 5 star rating. Everything we ordered was delicious. Can't go wrong with the followingShazari saladHummus with falafelBeet saladSpiced carrotsChicken tagineThey have a choice of regular pita or whole wheat pitaLooking forward to trying the rest of their menu.

To go. To go. Chicken tagine Chicken tagine Beets. Sliced carrots. Shirazi. Hummus with falafel Beets. Sliced carrots. Shirazi. Hummus with falafel 7/14/2016

Very good middle eastern food. Many vegetarian options alongside meat options. Variety of salads, entrees and drinks, some homemade. Casual, attractive setting - great pomegranate art on the walls. Moderate price and options for getting smaller or larger salads.

7/5/2016

LOVE Mediterranean food, so I kinda loved Ba-Bite before I even went. The food is beautiful, fresh, healthy-ish, and... a bit pricey (but hey, it's Piedmont Ave, after all). Bonus that the atmosphere is so charming too, very colorful and spacious. The lunch rush is a real thing here, so we arrived at 11:30 to make sure we could get a table before all the Kaiser folks arrived, and it was very chill at that time. Salads & hummus are fabulous options here, with lots of variety and sizes to choose from. The lamb was a little disappointing (too chewy, not as flavorful as I'd like), and the desserts seemed really overpriced ($3 for a tiny bite of rugelach or baklava), but the meal in it's entirety was really enjoyable, filling, and unique. They even have some California influences like kombucha on tap! If you're a Med food fan, you've got to try Ba-Bite. Go a few times and figure out what dishes you love. Seems like it would make perfect take-out or leftovers.

Lunch spread, salads & hummus Lunch spread, salads & hummus Lamb hummus Lamb hummus Beet salad, full size Beet salad, full size 9/16/2016

I can't downgrade them for the food just because I'm not a fan of middle eastern cuisine. My husband and my daughter loved it.  I will say the quantity of food was very generous. We had salads and couldn't eat them all.  The ambiance was interesting and the noise level was low. Service was fantastic!  This is one of my daughter's favorite places and is within walking distance of her home.

7/3/2016

Came here for lunch and it was pretty darn good. Got the falafel hummus and shakshuka. Falafels were BOMB!!! Perfect flavor and crunch mixed with the falafel that had pine nots and great texture. Shakshuka was just the right spice and fit nicely inside the pocket pita bread. My egg was dripping down my arm when I was eating it. It was so good.

8/31/2016

Ba-Bite is a yummy Greek/Mediterranean place. I ordered a falafel and my friends ordered a bunch of dishes that we all shared. There was an eggplant dish that was really tasty. I highly recommend it! Also, the hummus with the pita bread was also really good and plentiful. We were full and had enough to eat the next day. Prices are reasonable. Walk up, order and then get your food. Pretty straight forward. I would go here again if I were in the area.

9/21/2016

Love this place! I had been meaning to go for months before I actually made my way over, but so glad I finally did. I've tried 2 of the salads so far and both of them were delicious and the ingredients tasted so fresh, and the chicken was the perfect addition to bring everything together and make it a full meal. Got the hummus once with pita and it was delicious, although definitely better to share as I had quite a bit leftover for a few days. Great and friendly service as well! 5 stars all around :)

9/9/2016 Updated review

Ba-bite is just keep getting better. New tasty items on the menu. Amazing healthy and tasty food !

8/16/2015 Previous review Ba-bite keeps getting better and better. New tasty dishes on the menu. Amazing healthy & tasty food ! 5/16/2015 Previous review Ba-bite is a great fresh local restaurant !!Many tasty dishes to choose from, all perfectly done.… Ba-bite is a great fresh local restaurant !!Many tasty dishes to choose from, all perfectly done. The owners and stuff are supper nice, and make you feel very welcome. This is my favorite place for lunch !! Highly recommended !! :-) Read more 5/10/2015 Previous review Ba-bite is a great fresh local restaurant !!Many tasty dishes to choose from, all perfectly done.… Ba-bite is a great fresh local restaurant !!Many tasty dishes to choose from, all perfectly done. The owners and stuff are supper nice, and make you feel very welcome. This is my favorite place for lunch !! Highly recommended !! :-) Read more 2/17/2016

Best quick service Mediterranean restaurant in the East Bay, hands down. I went with my parents and we couldn't stop gushing about how delicious everything was. The dishes are simple with high quality ingredients and you can really taste the care put into every meal. I ordered the Lemon Saffron Shrimp Majadera, which is saffron shrimp over rice and lentils with tahini yogurt on top. My parents got the Chicken Tagine, chicken over couscous, drizzled with chermoulla sauce. The chicken was so moist and tender. We shared a small Salad Shiraz, a perfect complement to both dishes.I saw some pretty great beverage options as well, like the Saudi Coffee and kombucha on tap. The beer selection is solid and even the water is refreshing - infused with cucumber and mint!And everyone working here is nice, to boot. Highly recommended.

Tasty duo with salad shirazi on the side Tasty duo with salad shirazi on the side Lemon Saffron Shrimp Majadera Lemon Saffron Shrimp Majadera Chicken Tagine Chicken Tagine 2/1/2016

Ah, what a disaster.Long story short, I've been meaning to try this place since they first opened and today I finally had the opportunity to give it a shot. I've never seen such high hopes destroyed in one fell swoop.Not only did they get my order wrong, but the second order came out with not one, but several strands of long black hair in it. Yuck. I couldn't even finish the first half of my wrap after spotting it.When I did actually have a chance to get my munch on, I found the lamb meat to be rather mediocre, with tons of tough un-chewable bits and even a huge bone was left inside, nearly shattering my teeth.Their saving grace would be their house made pitas (which are nice and crispy) and their falafel which I grabbed a la carte, which was quite good. A great deal of spices and a good tasty crunch to it.Though I highly doubt they purposely added the hair flavorings on purpose, it was still a horrendous thing to find in your food, and maybe starts to bring the question of whether or not other items they serve may be contaminated as well.I'm all for tasty pitas and falafels, but better check your food safety peeps!

Hair found in my wrap. Epic no-go. Hair found in my wrap. Epic no-go. Comment from Robert G. of Ba-Bite Business Owner 2/2/2016 I would not normally leave a comment, but this one deserves a comment. Hi Anthony. I wish that I… I would not normally leave a comment, but this one deserves a comment. Hi Anthony. I wish that I could write a review about you, you are a douchey customer. We are certain that we didn't have your order wrong, but we still gave you free food to make up for your error in ordering. Our lamb is boneless, there is no chance that you had any bone in your dish, 0.0%.  I am not sure if you understand lamb physiology, the bones are pretty large. There are no bone pieces in your dish. Lamb bones don't work that way. We did right by you, move on.......Also, the hair looked like yours. Read more 2/18/2016 Updated review

I think my count here is hitting about a dozen . How is it possible that each time I visit is better than the last time? This place not only oozes with deliciousness, but with originality and pretty stellar service.This time around, I got the butternut squash salad with falafel added, and split a falafel wrap with my girlfriend. On my last review, I advised not to get the wrap do to independent friends suggesting it was not very good. ( slight update, I've now tried the lamb wrap, and it is... Meh. The hummus bowl with lamb is still a jackpot!! But the wrap, in my opinion, has a bit of room to grow). Some friends that came with us tried a couple of their hot entree plates , and they were absolutely on point!! The name escapes me, but it was effectively an Israeli rice bowl with delicious spices. Everytime I come in here, I feel like a guest. It's like you're entering somebody's kitchen. Everybody seems to have great chemistry, everybody from the cooks, to the person delivering the food, to the person taking your order. Often times, the roles are interchangeable. But the entire staff is sweet nevertheless. Ba Bite has managed to open up out of nowhere, and already been established as a neighborhood staple.

Here's a picture of....everything on the menu Here's a picture of....everything on the menu I love how they give away stuff every couple of buys, instead of something ridiculous like every 20 buys or something I love how they give away stuff every couple of buys, instead of something ridiculous like every 20 buys or something Hummus lamb bowl, cabbage salad, cucumber sal, and of course Israeli beer Hummus lamb bowl, cabbage salad, cucumber sal, and of course Israeli beer See all photos from Dave K. for Ba-Bite 2/10/2016 Previous review I was torn between four and five stars, mainly because I wish they had more on their menu with… I was torn between four and five stars, mainly because I wish they had more on their menu with respect to some sort of pita sandwich or wrap. That being said, I think it's fair to stick to grading what is on the menu, and that earns a 5 star rating. You must get the falafel plate! It is the closest, the absolute closest, I've come to eating food that tastes just as good, in some circumstances better, than the food in Israel. It's also a good idea to get a selection of the salads meze style. It is a smaller portion of the salad, but it is still generous, and 3 salads for 13 bucks--not bad!They also have booze there which is fun. And if you know anything about Goldstar, you will be excited to know that they have it there. The prices are reasonable. Don't get me wrong, it's not cheap. But the quality is extremely high, the taste is wonderful, and the price is fair. The salads are all completely different from one another. We are not talking about the same salad with some slight variant of greens. The salads are dramatically different, and all uniquely delicious. I didn't try it, but several unassociated friends have independently argued that the wrap is not very good at all. That being said, everything that we did try was delicious, & I can't think of any reason why I won't be back soon. The staff is also super awesome! Read more Comment from Robert G. of Ba-Bite Business Owner 2/12/2016 Heyo David, I am happy that you are happy with Ba-Bite. We do our best to make good organic food, I… Heyo David, I am happy that you are happy with Ba-Bite. We do our best to make good organic food, I am glad that it tantalizes your taste buds. You should give the wraps a chance. They are made with a great lavash, include hummus, shirazi salad, romaine, tahini sauce, lemon sauce, and the protein of your choice. They are huge sellers for a reason, I hope that you will give them a chance. Read more 11/2/2015

Ba-Bite could rename as Nom-Nom because that's what happened. Refined casual atmosphere, high quality dishes, friendly, order at the counter, parking on the street.4 stars:* GREAT DISHESWinners: Beet Salad with the Feta and Romaine *luscious*, Chicken Tagine *tender*, Lemon Saffron Shrimp Majadera *delicate*, Hummus *swim in it*. Decent: Lamb Shishlik *gamy* -- I like gamy :)* LOCALLY SOURCED, ORGANIC INGREDIENTSTheir website says: "We source locally, organic, and sustainably." Great job guys, it comes through!!* GRACEFUL AMBIANCEThe color palette is mainly red-orange, and yellow-ochre and the lighting is very warm. These hues definitely put you in the mood to eat, but they are also somehow subdued and calming. The decor is lovely and unostentatious.* VERY NICE STAFF & BABY FRIENDLYBa-Bite must feel like a rewarding place to work. Really nice folks all around with bright faces, like Manal who took our orders. Our friends brought their chubby lil baby & the only trouble we got were tempered lil smiles.- FALAFEL OVERRATED Some article wrote that Ba-Bite's falafel is on the list of 'food to eat in Oakland before you die'. Eh, didn't think so. You know Falafel is dry when you can't eat it alone and the one's we had unfortunately fit that category. Even if I hadn't walked in with that overblown expectation, I'm sure I'd still be writing about it because I love good Falafel, and our fried little bean-balls were definitely not as good as the rest of the meal.But back to the positive -- Thank you Ba-Bite, we shall return!!

$95 for 4 people including tip. $95 for 4 people including tip. See all photos from Art S. for Ba-Bite 8/12/2016

Had the Lentil soup and Shirazi Salad with Chicken. Great food well prepared and the nicest woman at the register. She was quick, efficient and friendly with genuine good karma about her. Everyone eating here seemed low stress, happy and healthy.  I should eat here more often.

Shirazi with Chicken Shirazi with Chicken 9/13/2016

The food here is so delicious! I always enjoy sampling their soup of the day. Their hummus is perfect. They have great gluten-free options and vegetarian options. I highly recommend this place!

3/8/2016

#52What a cool place all hidden away in Oakland.  We were surfing Yelp! looking for a new lunch spot and we came across Ba-Bite.  We both thought, "Hmmm, 'In the House'--what a clever name..."  So we decided to give it a try.  At least the name was a tell-tale sign that this could be authentic Middle Eastern food.We arrived to a really awesome location with easy street parking out front.  The place was pretty big for a small family type restaurant, and very clean.  We were greeted upon entry and they explained it was a counter service type spot, but they would bring our food to the table later, once it was ready.  We looked at the menu--all the usual favs:Baba GanoushHummusGrilled LambOlivesFalafelPitaBaklavaYeah, we grabbed one of all of that, and a couple fancy little sodas.  We took a seat in the adjacent room and waited on our yummies to arrive.Shortly after, the food came to the table and the server asked if we needed anything else to compliment the meal.  It looked so delicious, I could think of nothing to make this better.  I was just ready to eat.The hummus was served in a HUGE dish with paprika overtop.  The pita was in a basket alongside of the hummus and baba ganoush with some pickled veggies and olives.  So super yummy.  The falafel was pretty awesome too.I am happy to say that I have found a new spot in Oakland for Middle Eastern yummies that is conveniently located near a nail shop we frequent and a couple stores we shop at often.  I love discovering new places, and Ba-Bite is a keeper.Stephani Smiles for Ba-Bite ;)#biggestmostdelicioushummusintheeastbay

baklava baklava fancy sodas fancy sodas grilled lamb grilled lamb See all photos from Stephani M. for Ba-Bite 6/17/2016

I swore I wrote a review of this place when I took my car in to nearby Subaru. I walked around the neighborhood and remembered this place. I ordered a salad with some lamb, and the lady was nice enough to see the long line and understand my frustration and threw in some free hummus, how nice! The lamb was perfectly cooked and tender and juicy. Everything else was super good. The service was really nice and I definitely want to return to this spot!

4/6/2016

Okay seriously the least greasiest Middle Eastern food I've had. Three people shared four different plates and we left feeling extremely content and full. But not the nasty full, but like a "wow, I ate such delicious food and I feel great still!" Seriously. The falafel is... cooked to perfection. Right amount of crunch and flavor. The hummus is a little bland, but you can tell they made it right then and there. I'd suggest the eggplant for vegans, so so so so good. And it's not crazy poppin' like every other restaurant. Pretty tables.

Say hello to your next meal. Say hello to your next meal. 9/3/2015

3.5 stars. The food is actually 5 stars, but the prices are a little steep. Bf's lamb dish was $15. I get it, it's lamb, but when we opened the to-go box there wasn't enough meat to justify the price. I just looked at their website (very nice website) and it says their ingredients are locally sourced and sustainable, ok maybe the prices reflect that. Regardless, this place feels like a to-go establishment (despite their efforts in making it cutesy and homey), but with sit-down restaurant prices. With all that said though, the food was really tasty. I don't have a ton of experience eating middle eastern food, but I could tell everything was very fresh and seasoned to perfection. I had the falafel hummus plate ($11.50), and everything about it was amazing. The 3 falafels had great flavor and texture. The wheat pita was warm and extremely fluffy!! It came with a side of pickles and olives. Bf's lamb was alright. The rice was strongly seasoned which smacked me in the face with flavor. Probably a good thing. If I was seriously craving delicious hummus and pita bread, or even falafel, then I would consider coming back.

Falafel hummus plate Falafel hummus plate Lamb Lamb 8/30/2016

I tried a salad which was really really good one with a butternut squash and I had some falafels on the side to test and I thought they were terrible they were cold and they were kind of stale and I had the hummus what is the absolute best thing in the world ever the pieces they have a thick and fluffy warm and delightful and it's yummy and the best hummus in the whole wide world

Tags:
Related Articles
Bangkok Palace   - Thai - 3300 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Bangkok Palace - Thai - 3300 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

10/2/2016Really nice staff that want to make sure you are happy. The prices also can't be beat. Great for vegan/vegetarians, because they have options that do not include fish sauce. The tofu satay is delicious, albeit a bit oily. Love the pumpkin cu

Top Dog   - Hot Dogs - 3272 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Top Dog - Hot Dogs - 3272 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/7/2016Well I going to say the hot was good but not great, but I have to say the hot link is one of if not the best one I have had ever had and It was so good i had to get some links to go, if you like things spicy then the hot link is a must try fo

Neecha Thai   - Thai - 3236 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Neecha Thai - Thai - 3236 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/21/2016This is a small restaurant, so space is used to maximize as many tables they can fit.So ahem , try not to order many dishes as possible , believe me the tables are outlandishly tinyAnd you have to be tiny or skinny to be able to fit on those

Michel Bistro   - French - 3343 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Michel Bistro - French - 3343 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/27/2016 Updated reviewI can't stop coming here -- it is just that good.Last week I ate the most incredible dish I think I may have ever eaten:  smoked albacore salad.  It's simplicity of title didn't reflect the insane artistry and perfection of th

Boot  - Italian - 3308 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Boot - Italian - 3308 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/24/2016I heard a lot of great things about Boot & Shoe prior to coming here, and I will say it pretty much lived up to the hype. Pros: Great vibe- had a very chill atmosphere that's hip and cozy. The food was all very enjoyable and the cocktails we

Cheese Steak Shop   - Sandwiches - 3308 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Cheese Steak Shop - Sandwiches - 3308 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/9/2016First time having a cheese steak sandwich and I am officiaLLy soLd!!!Funny thing is, i had the CHICKEN cheese steak!!Any steak or chicken sandwich is made with 100% sirloin/ 100% breast meat.The buns are soft ItaLian roLLs  and are accompanie

You Might Also Like

Bosley Medical - Hair Loss Centers - 50 Francisco St, North Beach/Telegraph Hill, San Francisco, CA

4/6/2015Exellent service from a wonderful sta ...

WeWork SoMa   - Shared Office Spaces - 156 2nd Street, Financial District, San Francisco, CA
7/20/2016New to working in San Francisco, I w ...
SF Website Design   - Web Design - 108 Cambon Dr, Parkmerced, San Francisco, CA
6/17/2014Alex developed an outstanding websit ...
Crown  - Tea Rooms - 1746 Post St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA
9/6/2016I've been here twice now and have enj ...
Satori Yoga Studio - 170 Reviews - Yoga - 110 Sutter St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA
9/23/2016Definitely one of the best yoga stud ...
Arthur A Dugoni School of Dentistry   - General Dentistry - 155 5th St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
8/26/2016This is a great school with a good d ...

Tags