Baja Cali Taqueria - Mexican - 23 Orinda Way, Orinda, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Baja Cali Taqueria  - Mexican - 23 Orinda Way, Orinda, CA - Restaurant Reviews
9/21/2016

So glad I happened to run into this place, being hispanic has made me very picky with Mexican restaurants. I eat out very often and I know why people can say its somewhat pricy, but the quality of the food is worth every penny!! My boyfriend ordered the Aguachile (since he loves seafood) its similar to ceviche (that they also have) and I'm sure its just as delicious. The aguachile was served with fresh cucumber and purple onion and it was pleasantly flavorful and a must try! I decided to go for the Mar y Tierra burrito and I must say its by far the best burrito I've had, the meat was so tender and the burrito itself was very juicy and it came with a green salad on the side which was a plus! Cant wait to go back!!

7/28/2016

I ordered the chicken tamale to go and tortilla soup. Both were very good and the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back again. I hope they will add a wider variety of beers down the road. Also live music once in a while would be great and Orinda is definitely lacking Latino music.

8/14/2016

This place is overpriced for the portion they give you.The cashier was great in writing down our order but the cook never bothered to read it.For my tostado salad, the black beans were missing. I had to let them know and she had to come see it for herself before telling the cook he forgot it. Awkward. My grilled chicken was flavorful but it was super dry. Portion was not worth $13. Reasonable price would have been $8 because it was so small! It barely had cheese on it. I couldn't find the guacamole and I think there was sour cream. Their chicken taco was missing the lettuce and the cheese. I wondered if they ran out(?)My husband ordered a burrito and for $2 more, they'll make it "special" by smearing a very small amount of guacamole and sour cream in it. Whaaaat? The size of it was pretty sad. He asked for black beans and he ended up with refried and still very little cheese. It was a sad burrito.There's also a huge sign by the register: refills, chips and salsa are $2. It was very tacky. It cheapens the place.The pluses: the ambience, their flavorful rice and black beans and that's about it. We like supporting small businesses but we regretted spending $38 here. Never again. We learned that it was under new ownership 4 weeks ago. New owners kept the friendly cashier and the cook.

7/24/2016

Baja Cali Taq & Grill has a shortened menu. menudo and the like not on menu.eats: carna asada burrito(8.75) -way smaller than typical burrito-tasty mix of beans, rice, salsa fresa, roasted tomato sauce, lettuce, sauteed onions, red & green peppers with marinated sauce. just a few pieces of tender steak.3.5 starsfrijoles refritoes:-chips commercially made, not so fresh.-quantity small, quality very good.-small dining area.

9/16/2016

Amazing! Super high quality meat. Worth every penny. The best ceviche I have ever had. Cute ambiance and very friendly staff. This is my go to for Mexican in the east bay.

Yummmm their chicken is so moist and flavorful. Super good quality meat. Their shrimp ceviche is the best I've ever had. Yummmm their chicken is so moist and flavorful. Super good quality meat. Their shrimp ceviche is the best I've ever had. 9/21/2016

Great food - I recommend the shrimp burrito, delicious and quite large. Great service - the woman who took my order remembered me after one prior visit. The prices may be higher than what you get at a typical taqueria, but the quality of food and service is much better.

9/15/2016

convenient location, however  food is mediocre at best. Definitely over-priced for what they are serving up. Granted the space rent is probably quite high, however,  have gotten much better quality off a food truck. My guess is that this place is likely run by absentee owner.

7/26/2016

I think I have finally given up on this place to have a quick burrito on my lunch break.  I just asked for a chicken burrito with sour cream and cheese.  I got this soft sloppy mess. Remember what I asked for?  I got a burrito filled with salsa onions and wilted lettuce. Really?  Who puts lettuce in a burrito?  It goes pretty well with a taco but not a burrito.  I just wasted $11 on this. I should've went to Safeway for a 59 cent burrito.

9/16/2016

Just tried for the first time.  Best burrito I have ever had.  The portion was huge and priced reasonably too.  Really happy to finally have a great place for Mexican food in Orinda!

8/22/2016

New owners, same atmosphere but MUCH better food. The carne asada and chorizo in the tacos was really good. Carnitas was a little dry, but still a solid taco. Even the chicken in the kids' burrito was moist and flavorful. Would like a better beverage selection and free chip refills (or at least not the handwritten sign telling you refills are $2). If you wrote off La Cocina (as you should have), consider giving this place another chance.

8/12/2016

This restaurant recently replaced La Cocina, another Mexican restaurant. I would say, if you enjoyed la Cocina, you'll have no issues eating here.

9/14/2016

This new restaurant in town is a must try! I had the chicken tortilla soup with a side shrimp taco and they both were amazing! Great flavors in the soup and well seasoned shrimp in the taco. Service was great! I see some don't seem to see the big sign that states " place order here " at the cashier. It's a taqueria, that's how they work. Definitely my new go to!!

8/22/2016

Hello Yelp! Salsa bar, aguas frescas, al pastor meat, are just some of the things Baja Cali Grill doesn't have. I decided to look beyond the high prices and try their burritos. I ordered the asada and my dad got the carnitas. I normally get pastor but again, it was not an option. The burrito felt really soft due to the burrito being 70% beans. The carnitas were bland and tasteless and the asada wasn't any better. I have tried countless Mexican restaurants all over the bay area and I have to say this is among one of the few places I regret visiting. I should have gone to Taco Bell instead. The only thing I liked was the service and the bathrooms were fairly clean. But the food was disappointing. After all, asada burritos are every Mexican place's specialty. I will not be going back and I will not recommend this place to a friend. Cheers!

9/1/2016

I really liked the vegetarian selection at the previous La Cocina, which included tofu or roasted veggies for burritos, tacos, and tostada.  The new selection from Baja is just not as good, and their salsa is nowhere near as flavorful as La Cocina's.  It also took forever to get our food, although they had recently opened, so maybe they were still working out the kinks.  Overall it was ok, but I doubt I'll go back.

8/21/2016

The place looks pretty much the same as before and the plastic menu looks like a franchise but we had two shrimp dishes which were delicious.  The serving size was good; not small, not huge.  The price was reasonable; service quick.  This is not the ritz but the food we had was really good.  We'll be back.

Tags:
Related Articles
La Costa Taqueria   - Mexican - 3100 Main St, Oakley, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

La Costa Taqueria - Mexican - 3100 Main St, Oakley, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/19/2016Ever heard the adage "the smallier and dirtier, the better, because that mean's it's authentic?" That doesn't apply here. La Costa's tacos are fantastic and every time I've been to this location there's a dedicated person keeping both d

Taqueria Morena   - Mexican - 2576 Appian Way, Pinole, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Taqueria Morena - Mexican - 2576 Appian Way, Pinole, CA - Restaurant Reviews

7/30/2016When I first came here a few years back, I could tell this place was going to be a success. I was in the area today and was able to stop by after 1 p.m. to grab some lunch. They continue to serve good quality food, respectable portions all a

Calafia Taqueria   - Mexican - 1445 Webster St, Alameda, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Calafia Taqueria - Mexican - 1445 Webster St, Alameda, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/13/2016My optometrist, Dr. Richard Marcus, suggested burritos at Calafia after we stayed late for an eye appointment this week. I think I had forgotten just how GOOD this place is!! I've been here twice, recently, as it is excellent food right next

Chando’s Tacos   - Mexican - 863 Arden Way, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Chando’s Tacos - Mexican - 863 Arden Way, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/6/2016I just moved to Sacramento from Austin. I was badly missing all the good fast-casual options in the ATX (Torchy's, P. Terry's, etc.). Sacramento seems to have some good high-end local restaurants, but I hadn't found anything specific to the c

Two Amigos Mexican Taqueria   - Mexican - 3550 Stanley Blvd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Two Amigos Mexican Taqueria - Mexican - 3550 Stanley Blvd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews

7/9/2016The best one-dollar-sign Mexican restaurant I've ever been to.I got the 2 enchilada plate (was considering the 3 enchilada plate) but it was very filling. The free salsa and sides are great, the chips are also AYCE which is great when you're

You Might Also Like

Bacalhau Grill  - Grocery - 1555 Alum Rock Ave, North Valley, San Jose, CA - Restaurant Reviews
7/17/2016So amazingly delicious! Had the snap ...
Cushion Works   - Interior Design - 3320 18th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA
5/27/2016I'm a fan of cushion works...especia ...
Law Offices of Jonah Chew - 47 Reviews - Criminal Defense Law - 1388 Sutter St, Lower Pacific Heights, San Francisco, CA
4/12/2016Approachable, knowledgeable, and res ...
Attic   - Filipino - 234 S B St, San Mateo, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/6/2016I actually didn't know anything about ...
Fiorella   - Italian - 2339 Clement St, Outer Richmond, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
8/27/2016Great neighborhood vibe with excelle ...
Rasputin Music   - Music & DVDs - 15590 Hesperian Blvd, San Lorenzo, CA
4/30/2016Great place to pick up the Barbra St ...

Tags