Baja Taqueria - Mexican - 4070 Piedmont Ave, Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Baja Taqueria   - Mexican - 4070 Piedmont Ave, Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
8/25/2016

Delicious Cajun grilled fish tacos yummy yummy yummy yummy.  Also some of the best sauces and side condiments on their salsa bar delicious!

9/9/2016

I want to love coming here.Sometimes I do, sometimes I wonder if the kitchen was fired wholesale.I understand that going GMO free means a lot of suppliers, and that means some variation. That's fine. It's even interesting.But age on fish isn't good.Mushy tilapia is very unappetizing, and salting it up only makes it worse. Portion sizes are variable, fry quality changes.To the owner: I've had far better veggie burritos in the parking lot. You had them too.Encourage creativity and get some new baselines. When your cooks are on point, they are stellar. Keep them happy.Love the decor. Michael Everett is a friend. I like paint and almost appreciate Lebo's paintings. Almost. I've vended next to Bungled Jungle. Good people represented here. So, if one time was meh, try again, pre lunch rush.

4/22/2016

This place is unique in that it is the most mediocre Mexican food I have ever had! I mean, you'd think it'd be impossible to make what is intrinsically a flavorful cruisine blandly, but somehow, despite all odds, this place has achieved just that. When you order, the food will look good, and by God it'll smell good, but once you bite in, your tastebuds will experience a sensation very much reminiscent of chewing on soggy cardboard. I've been here on multiple occasions - all visits after the initial one being out of sheer desperation. If you're starving, and don't care what you eat, this is the place. The best way to sum it up would be to say that it's Mexican food for people who have absolutely no idea what Mexican food tastes like.

9/25/2016

I've been going here for 4-5 years now. The food is OK. What can you expect for Piedmont Ave? Of course the food is going to be more bland and not really authentic. However, the service has declined recently. The owners hired a few younger people and they SUCK! They are extremely rude over the phone when I call in a pick up order and also when I pick up the order. The slightly older ladies who've worked there for a long time are awesome. Please train your newer employees better.

7/12/2016

Ok truthfully I got here just before closing and I was after beers! Many beers... But it was a good Mexican, few faults no fresh avocado, they ran out of salsa... maybe because of the time? But the staff were great and the food was good... It's better than the average and not as good as the best! I would definitely visit again... I had the carne asada burrito with black beans and it filled a hole...

9/15/2016

As a ritual, 2 to 3 times a month, my family and I come for fish tacos. We get excited.However, last night around 7pm was the worst service and tacos we have ever received.The fish portion was one bite full, while normally one taco is enough for me.  The fish was obviously from far away and void of flavor, with hardly any batter and no seasoning whatsoever.The flour tortillas were of two different varieties, and mine was burnt. The source of the sour cream-sauce was questionable and unlike anything we had ever had before.As for the almost 4$ side if guacamole, it came from a bag and had no trace of avocado. We didn't eat it.The service was not of the tip deserving kind. The cashier was not present and seemed intoxicated.  When our order was ready for takeout, we had been shorted a taco yet had paid for it. We had to make a second trip.I called a number of times only to receive a busy signal and then a voicemail. I calmly left a message explaining the order and our disappointment, but never received a call back.It is not easy finding a consistently proper place to eat, and while we were sure we had found one, its now unfortunate that I stand to be corrected.

7/23/2015

Wanted Mexican food and I got it and was pretty stoked on the restaurant and the quality of the food. Not exactly blown away but I'd come back after this experience.$15 plus tip for a beef taco and beef burrito. Not too bad...but not great either. The portions were a good size but could have been bigger. $5 for a taco is pushing it when you're using a regular sized corn tortilla.Pros: - The beef tasted amazing. Very happy- Not greasy or rly oily like most "authentic" taquerias.- The salsa bar was fantastic. The maybe one of the top 10 verde salsas that I've ever had. The chipotle salsa was also a 10/10- The bathroom was very clean and modern haha. Huge plus.- The cashier was a wonderful gal who knew her customers and was extremely sweet to everyone. She also helped bus tables and clean up the salsa bar which is great and rly shows that she cares about the placeCons:- Wish they gave us more chips... And a basket was $1.50 which isn't bad but....- Parking on that street is iffy. Had to walk a few blocks but I'm definitely not complaining. Needa hit the gym anyways...

Steak taco Steak taco 11/28/2015

This place has been here ever since I can remember. Everyone raves about the fish tacos. I wouldn't know since I don't eat seafood. I CAN however vouch for the other tacos here, and the nachos machos and the service. This is one of those neighborhood spots you hold dear and hope never changes.

Cilantro check! Lol. Good idea. Cilantro check! Lol. Good idea. 7/30/2016

Although I come here pretty often this Mexican food is pretty average. From my experience the foods not gonna wow you and it's probably not gonna be one of your "go to" type of place. It is open late and if you live in Piedmont it's really convenient. It seems to be on the healthier side of Mexican food which is nice if you're trying to keep it semi clean. Very nice staff, casual atmosphere with average Mexican food.

1/29/2016

Temescal/Rockridge has a serious lack of good mexican food, and Baja Taqueria is no exception. Ordered the steak burrito. Essentially $10 for what amounts to a cold tortilla, rice, under cooked beans, and a hint of meat (guac, cheese, and sour cream costs you an extra $1.50). Where's the love?If you take good mexican food as seriously as I do, you'll stay away.

8/19/2015

I've noticed their "fish tacos" and "GMO free" signs often  while driving by, but you know Piedmont Ave... so many options!So finally, on a Friday night, I convinced the husband that we HAVE to try their food (well, all other places we fancied were totally packed ;-)).Since I am trying to closely watch my carb intake right now (it sucks!), I did not pick the fish tacos like I had originally planned, but ordered the Cajun Fish Salad, which was really good! It came with the normal salad items, beans, corn and cheese (not a fan of the latter) and small piece of well-seasoned grilled fish - the portion was enough to fill me up. The husband had the Baja Chicken Combo and was happy with it. What I found pretty interesting about the place was the neighborly vibe I got - something I miss in other establihsments in the area. There were the teenagers, the older couples, the single guy with cell phone in hand, the dad with small daughter, who chatted with the cop, who was waiting for his take-out.The dining ambiance itself is very fast-foody though... You order and pay in front at the counter, tell them your name, fill your soft drink or take a beer out of the fridge in front and then wait for your name to be called.All in all good food (GMO free as mentioned above, sustainable, organic) - though if you want the real Mexican experience, you are better off on International - OK prices, friendly staff, interesting mix of guests. I will make another appearence!

7/13/2016

I really want to like this place because it is convenient and fast. But simply put, it it just mediocre Mexican food. There is nothing there that really "wow"s or is much more than mostly bland. The prices are reasonable and the people who work there are friendly, the food just falls flat.

6/22/2016

Shrimp and steak burrito was amazing!

6/21/2016

we live very near so you can imagine how much i wanted to like, nay love, the place. It is so not worthy on any level - from eating to paying. if you're forced to go here you must order your burrito sans rice; otherwise, you will have a rice burrito regardless of which you order. oh, and i've tried the fail-proof bean and cheese. nope. it was cold and cheese was still in shredded form (aka the entire thing was not hot enough to melt the cheese). try and avoid if at all possible. cholita linda and la calaca loca are close enough and worlds better.

5/21/2015

I have eaten at numerous taco joints in the East bay and one thing I have seen consistently is the questionable ingredients typically served. This place is the only place that is conscious across the board and there food is remarkable.1. Non GMO corn chips and tortillas2. Conscious sources for meat and fish3. Free salsa bar with a variety of sauces, salsas and condiments to spruce up your dish. Their roasted chipotle sauce is the shizz4. Service is fast; mostly is self serve, order at counter5. Atmosphere is vibrant and occasionally has live music6. Variety of dishes to choose from including Baja fish tacos7. They host special happy hour and lunch rates8. All of their packaging and eating wear is recyclable and compostable leaving less waste as other stands do that use toxic styrofoam9. They are open till 10pm making it a great bite when you are running late eating dinner.

Here is a little secret. You won't see these on the overhead menu and they are my favorite Fautas ever. Chicken Flautas plate. Here is a little secret. You won't see these on the overhead menu and they are my favorite Fautas ever. Chicken Flautas plate. 5/24/2016

Always consistently good and reasonably priced! Been coming here for years!

11/3/2015

Stopped in last night while in the area Menu looked food, ended up ordering a steak burrito deluxe to go.Wait was about 10 minutes. Live blue grass band playing in the back. Good fresh salsa selections. Burrito was OK. Looked great, was exactly as I has ordered, however it tasted somewhat like fish. I guess they prep the fish and meats in the same area? Either way the fish taste carried into my burrito and made it not as great as it could have been. Can definitely work on quality control. Not sure if I'd go back. Curious about the fish tacos but don't want one that tastes kinda beefy.

9/1/2015

Highlights:1) Meat is antibiotic and hormone free2) GMO free!3) Decent portions4) Local vibe5) $2 fish tacos Saturday night, after 6p6) Good chips, decent salsa bar7) Kid friendly8) Reasonably pricedReasons's to go to another taqueria:1) Not very flavorful/lacks seasoning2) Fast food atmosphere3) Needs a good scrub down4) Lacks authenticity

6/16/2015

I am a huge fan of the 2 enchilada combo with the red mole' sauce it is tasty and fres. The free chips are usually fresh and the salsa bar is on point, definitely try the medium Chipotle salsa. Blue grass music on Monday nights gets loudish but it's usually not a long wait even when they are crowded. However if  you are worried about time just call ahead. Oh and the psychedelic concert posters are very awesome.

polo enchiladas rojas con salsa de chipotle polo enchiladas rojas con salsa de chipotle 8/23/2015

If I had written this review after my first meal here, I would have given it 5 stars.  4-stars the second time and I figure I'd better write this now, the third time with 3-stars, before it slips more.I had a calamari burrito the first and third times - great the first time, only so-so this time (in fact, it's still sitting solidly in my stomach now, some 5 hrs later.  The calamari was tough this time and the taste was blah - although to be fair, I had asked for them to skip the salsa (though I did that the first time too) The second trip was a yummy lobster burrito, which I definitely considered tonight, but wanted to have a slightly less costly meal.  I had fresh pineapple juice to go along with it - that was quite good.  My husband's meal - 2 tacos - was equally lack luster tonight.  It was OK but not knock-it-out-of-the-park.  He loves the hibiscus juice and that, too, was quite good.  The prices are relatively high, but the portions are large so that kind of balances out.I'm hoping that there will be a reverse-star trend when we go back - that it'll go back to 4-stars, and then to 5.

Tags:
Related Articles
Lago Grill Taqueria   - Mexican - 134 14th St, Lake Merritt, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Lago Grill Taqueria - Mexican - 134 14th St, Lake Merritt, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews

9/4/2016Came here for the drink initially.Left with the yearning of another veggie burrito.Told the guy to make it enchilloso and he understood me. They put cucumber and jicama in the burrito.. Great combo. Definitely a must for veggie burritos!6/27/

Top Dog   - Hot Dogs - 3272 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Top Dog - Hot Dogs - 3272 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/7/2016Well I going to say the hot was good but not great, but I have to say the hot link is one of if not the best one I have had ever had and It was so good i had to get some links to go, if you like things spicy then the hot link is a must try fo

Neecha Thai   - Thai - 3236 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Neecha Thai - Thai - 3236 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/21/2016This is a small restaurant, so space is used to maximize as many tables they can fit.So ahem , try not to order many dishes as possible , believe me the tables are outlandishly tinyAnd you have to be tiny or skinny to be able to fit on those

Bangkok Palace   - Thai - 3300 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Bangkok Palace - Thai - 3300 Grand Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

10/2/2016Really nice staff that want to make sure you are happy. The prices also can't be beat. Great for vegan/vegetarians, because they have options that do not include fish sauce. The tofu satay is delicious, albeit a bit oily. Love the pumpkin cu

Shakewell   - Bars - 3407 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Shakewell - Bars - 3407 Lakeshore Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/11/2016Shakewell is one of my favorite restaurants in Oakland. The food is always fresh and delicious! The fried chicken, the kefta, and the falafel are my favorites.Brunch and dinner are both equally great. They also have bottomless mimosas for br

Roli Roti Gourmet Rotisserie   - Specialty Food - Moraga Ave And La Salle Ave, Montclair Village, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Roli Roti Gourmet Rotisserie - Specialty Food - Moraga Ave And La Salle Ave, Montclair Village, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/11/2016Had this for the first time at the SF farmer's market. SO DELICIOUS! The chicken sandwich was my favorite but the porchetta is also good.9/21/2016I visited them at the Civic Center farmer's market, and I have to say that the service left a l

You Might Also Like

Miss Waffles   - Waffles - 2142 Irving Street, Outer Sunset, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
5/15/2016What an amazing late night treat! Sn ...
Artistic Home Studio  - Home Decor - 1419 Park St - Alameda, CA
9/11/2016Ok, this place is so amazing that I ...
San Francisco Sex Information
10/29/2010Super helpful, super free!If you're ...
North America Noodle Co - Ethnic Food - 1175 Quesada Ave, Bayview-Hunters Point, San Francisco, CA
6/19/2009There's a Chinese master dude type h ...
Pause Wine Bar   - Wine Bars - 1666 Market St, Hayes Valley, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
5/16/2016Pause sponsored/donated to a neighbo ...
Arthur Beren Shoes   - Shoe Stores - 222 Stockton St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA
5/4/2010This is an old school shoe store. The ...

Tags