Balzan Gem Laboratory - 57 Reviews - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Balzan Gem Laboratory - 57 Reviews - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA
9/13/2016

Patrick and his father did an amazing job helping us design an engagement ring.  We brought in a family stone and they did everything from brainstorming ideas, assessing the stone, working with us on a design, to creating the perfect piece.  They were timely, friendly, and reasonable in their costs.  I can only hope I never have to come up with another engagement ring but if I did, I would know who to call.  Thanks guys!

9/21/2016

I called to ask if I could just verify the number inscription on my diamond and the gentleman said it wasn't a problem. When I went in he found it quickly and even let me take a look at it. I've called other places and they said they didn't have time to help me look at it or would charge to look and get it appraised. Very professional and helpful even knowing that I wasn't going in there to get anything done or buy anything.

2/22/2016

Needed a pearl replaced in my antique engagement ring and they did the BEST job. I had gotten the ring from Brilliant Earth and when it arrived to my boyfriend it was missing a pearl, he sent it back to them and they replaced it. Later, another pearl came out and the masters at Balzan replaced that pearl.It is a near perfect replacement/match to the original pearls, and they did a WAY better job than Brilliant Earth did. They are experts and affordable. They will forever have my business, and should have yours too!It's true: CASH OR CHECK ONLY.

3/9/2016

I want to thank Patrick, at Balzan Gem Lab, was so helpful and kind! He gave me great advice regarding my issues. I would highly recommend coming here for all of your jewelry needs. All The Best,  Craig F.

3/14/2015

Found this business through Yelp - wouldn't have known they existed otherwise because they're tucked away on the upper floors of the Shreve building. I needed to have my wedding ring sized down and was looking for a spot close to my workplace that could do it. Very quiet space - service was very prompt. The clerk measured my finger to ensure the proper resize of the ring, got my contact info, and gave me a ticket to present on my return pick up. It's good to note that the ticket only has the order# and no address of the business...in case I were to lose it on the street, there would be very little chance of someone finding it and trying to claim the item as theirs. Turnover time was exactly one week and I loved that my ring was also clean and polished. The cost was $45. I would go back here again for any jewelry repair needs. I would only look elsewhere if I had a rush order or needed a place that did repairs on site/same day pick ups.

9/7/2014

At my last club night, I came home from a hectic night of intense dancing to discover my beloved armour ring had broken! One of the small posts holding the section that covers the lower finger to the knuckle joint piece had broken off completely, leaving it held together very loosely and frailly with three posts instead of four. I searched on Yelp and called around and finally managed to get in to Balzan. It felt a little weird walking in dressed in my hobo bike gear wanting to get a silver chunky ring repaired when they obviously deal in precious jewels and metals but hey, not all of us are into those things. Plus, this ring has sentimental value to me and I really wanted it repaired.I talked to a wonderful and friendly lady behind the counter who was fascinated by my armour ring (I guess the bonus of unusual jewelry like that is they don't get to see it often in those types of shops!) She said she was pretty sure one of the jewelers could repair it for me with a piece of silver (since the ring itself is solid silver). I filled in my information, got my return ticket, and headed out.A little less than a week later, I received a phone call that my ring was ready to be picked up. She told me that they were open a bit later that evening so I didn't have to rush insanely out of work to get there (they close normally at 4:30 pm). They also only take cash or check, so she gave me the price over the phone so I could have it with me when I arrived.I showed up just in time and she pulled my ring out for me. It was perfect! You can't even tell where the new post was put in to fix the joint! It had also been cleaned up so it was once again shiny and new looking! I happily paid my $25 in cash, knowing I'll get more years out of my beloved ring.I will happily go back here if I have other jewelry needs in the future! The 4:30 close time and only open on the weekdays is a bit frustrating, not gonna front, and taking only cash or check is also annoying, but honestly, for how happy they made me with the work they did and how nice and sweet the customer service was, I'll happily deal with those little inconveniences.

Silver armour ring repaired with new post in the knuckle joint Silver armour ring repaired with new post in the knuckle joint 5/6/2016

Found this hidden gem as I was going to another place. They are courteous and knowledgeable, and did an excellent job resizing and shinning my ring! It's a personal heirloom passed down my father that means a lot to me, and they did such a good job helping me restore it. Highly recommended!

4/5/2014

I came into Balzan to have my wedding bracelet sized down.  I was helped by two people who explained exactly what process they would use (and why) to make the change and gave me an estimate on what the work might cost.  A few days later my bracelet was ready and came out perfectly and the work done cost 25% less than what they originally quoted.  Win!!Note, cash and checks only for payment.

5/9/2014

This place did a great job resizing my silver pearl ring. I had it sized down a couple sizes, which is pretty significant, but it only cost $40 and looking at it now I can't even tell that it was adjusted in any way.They also fixed a silver necklace on which I'd broken the chain. That was a little more pricey, I thought, for a single tiny chain that snapped, but it's very strong now and you can't even tell. All in all, $60 for both jobs was a good deal (I'd called around a few places). Service was also great - they were very friendly to me each time I called and came in. I also took a while to pick up my ring and necklace and they actually placed several follow up calls to remind me, which was nice.

8/26/2015

Excellent repair work!  Needed a pearl necklace restrung and repaired and was having a hard time finding a shop.  The folks at the General Bead recommended Balzan and I couldn't have been happier. Will be back. Thank you again.

12/28/2014

I met Patrick and his dad this month when i had to get a couple of ring evaluated to make sure I had gotten what I paid for online and sized. Patrick was a total professional, as well as his dad and I was in very good hands. They gave me some great tips, explained why I did a good job with the purchases- and I had bought them from someplace else. It felt good to know I was able to get a good deal with their blessing. They did an absolutely fantastic sizing of my diamond rings. Ones had to be made  3 1/2 sizes LARGER- it was a difficult job and it came out PERFECT. I sized another diamond ring the next week and it was also done PERFECTLY. They were professional, friendly and made me feel comfortable handing my jewelry over to them. They even tightened some of the prongs for the second ring at no charge and cleaned and polished both of them. They put a rush on one of the resizing at no extra charge to make sure I had my beauties in time for Xmas. Top notch folks to deal with and I'll never go anyplace else. I just wish they took debit or credit cards. Cash only can be hard. Thank you.

7/23/2015

Bought some beads in for someone to turn into two bracelet today, but there is an old guy was looking down on people, talking and explaining every little detail like he is talking to some five year old which, acts like immature adult, when I did not answer back at that man he yells got frustrated so I went somewhere else to get my jewelry repair done, who show true respect to their customers instead of here.

2/2/2016

We needed to have a wedding ring made round again after it had been squashed.  The man who assisted us was wonderful and fixed it while we waited  Highly recommend this place.

4/29/2013

Came in to get an old pair of eyeglasses repaired. The screw had come out of one hinge, and I couldn't find it, so I thought I'd give these guys a try. Long story short, I showed up unannounced, and ten minutes and five bucks later, walked out with my glasses fixed. The space itself is small, and in one of those old-school office buildings where every business has 100 sq. ft. at the very most. But the team is friendly and efficient, and took care of me quickly.

12/4/2015

This place is great I brought my engagement ring here had them replace the stone and it turned out beautiful. I highly recommended them. I had to take my ring back a couple of months later because a small diamond fell out ugh and again they did a real good job.They only take cash.

7/11/2014

I made my girlfriend a custom necklace pedant by 3D printing in gold plated brass (yea, you can do that now. I know, awesome right?  shapeways.com).  I had planned on going to Macy's or Nordstrom or something similar to find a simple gold chain to accompany the pendant and also to have them put the pendant on the chain. That was a complete failure. Their gold chain options were terrible and over priced and the staff were incredibly unwilling to work with me on the very simple alteration that was needed. So, Yelp pointed me to Balzan. Not only did they have a good selection of chains for me to try and match the pendant, but they were reasonably priced and the alteration was done without problem and for a very reasonable price. They were very helpful in turning it around quickly for me (I was already late on a birthday gift, uh oh) and went out of their way to coordinate pick up and drop off for me. Their work turned out great.Unfortunately, my gf broke the necklace one week later. This was no fault of Balzan's craftsmanship, she simply caught it on something and ripped it off. We were both devastated, but when we took it back in to Balzan they fixed it at no charge.Couldn't recommend them higher for the quality of their work and their willingness to go above and beyond.

2/19/2015

Balzan repaired a sentimental silver chain for me, which has snapped because of a knot. They were very nice and the cost of repair was really cheap! I discovered that they were not open on Saturdays or any hours after my work and when i told them I was worried about how to pick it up they actually told me they would just drive to my work to give me it! They were really patient ask they called me a few times when they arrived and I didn't hear it. Finally they said they didn't even want extra payment for this above and beyond service (but I gave them one!). Above all that the repair is really good. I would trust these guys, they are professional and really care about you as a customer.

1/29/2015

Wonderful team. I brought in a vintage engagement ring with all kinds of trouble-- Cortney and his team refurbished it so that I would feel reassured wearing it without having to worry about the diamonds flying off. It cost way less than what other jewelers quoted me.I've brought them smaller resizing and redesign work to do in the past and they've been amazing then, too. Don't go anywhere else!!

8/11/2015

Had an excellent experience at Balzan when I brought in my engagement ring to have the prongs tightened. They were able to fix the problem while I waited, and chatted with me about the process as they worked. Super nice and very knowledgable. I'll definitely be back if I have any other jewelry that needs repairs or upkeep.

8/12/2015

I came here not too long ago to learn more about a ring that I had purchased online, I wanted to know about the stone and the gold content. They knew that I wasn't coming in to buy anything or even to have anything done to the ring but I still received incredibly attentive service. Now that I have jewelry that needs re-sizing I came back and got the same incredible service. Very sweet guy, he explained everything to me and addressed all my concerns. Cant wait to pick it up and give another 5 stars! Thank you so much Balzan jewelers!

Tags:
Related Articles
Balzan Gem Laboratory - 58 Reviews - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Balzan Gem Laboratory - 58 Reviews - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

9/13/2016Patrick and his father did an amazing job helping us design an engagement ring.  We brought in a family stone and they did everything from brainstorming ideas, assessing the stone, working with us on a design, to creating the perfect piece.

Dan Tenenbaum Appraisers  - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Dan Tenenbaum Appraisers - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

2/2/2013You won't just stumble upon this place by accident because they are located on the top floor of a big building in downtown SF, but if you are searching for a buyer to purchase your fine or antique jewelry then this is your place hands down. Y

Shapur Mozaffarian Fine Jewelry - 37 Reviews - Jewelry - 272 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Shapur Mozaffarian Fine Jewelry - 37 Reviews - Jewelry - 272 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

5/3/2014My husband and I have been doing our watch purchases at Shapur for about five years now ...so this review is slightly tardy. Not only does Shapur sell the highest quality watches, but the service is exceptional. The family owned business is v

Suetake Bros, Inc   - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Suetake Bros, Inc - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

7/16/2016From the moment I started having things made custom, I knew my engagement ring would have to be made by someone magically talented. We went in together, picked out the diamond, talked design, and in an impressive turnaround time, was asked t

Zwillinger  - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Zwillinger - Jewelry - 210 Post St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

9/17/2016I can't say enough great things about Mel. He was professional, knowledgeable, responsive, offered great advice and most importantly got a great price. I went to Mel for a wedding ring and knew nothing. He walked me through everything regard

You Might Also Like

Soul Motion - Dance Studios - 200 Grand Ave, Oakland, CA
Seventh Son Tattoo   - Tattoo - 765 Clementina St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
8/8/2016Cecelia Wingate at Seventh Son is ama ...
Vow Muse   - Wedding Planning - SoMa, San Francisco, CA
12/5/2015I read about Vow Muse on New York Ti ...
LaserAway   - Laser Hair Removal - 1878 Union St, Marina/Cow Hollow, San Francisco, CA - Menu
6/28/2016Went to the one in Santana Row, San ...
Tile Plus   - Flooring - 1832 Stone Ave, Fairgrounds, San Jose, CA
8/14/2016I should have submitted this rave re ...
Tins Teapot Bistro   - Dim Sum - 320 Jackson St, Hayward, CA - Restaurant Reviews
9/3/2016Best dim sum with excellent service i ...

Tags