Blind Ambition Window Coverings - 40 Reviews - Shades & Blinds - 681 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA

Blind Ambition Window Coverings - 40 Reviews - Shades & Blinds - 681 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
4/4/2016

Great job - start to finish!I needed blinds for my place in the City. It wasn't a huge job, so it was hard to get anyone to take an interest until I called Blind Ambition.The owners, Mark and Darryl, came to my place when they said they would, brought samples and helped me select the style and colors I needed, and took accurate measurements.They said the order would take 2-3 weeks. It only took about 2, and their installer called me promptly to schedule the installation.He actually came early on the day we selected, installed the blinds, explained how they worked, and cleaned up when he left. He was great!The whole process with Blind Ambition was seamless. The new blinds are beautiful. I would highly recommend this company!

8/16/2015

Unfortunately our experience with Blind Ambition left much to be desired.  Five stars for the blinds and zero stars for customer service, averaged out to 2.5 but rounded down to two.  The good:Fabulous product--we got Hunter Douglas SilhouettesGreat installer (contracted out from Blind Ambition)The bad:For the windows in one room, we weren't able to get the product we originally ordered.  After we paid our deposit, Mark then told us that the width of our windows was too narrow for the particular style we ordered.  He then said that they hadn't installed too many of these, only about 1000, so they were still getting familiar with the limitations of the product.  Whuuut??  I'm not a window shade expert but 1000 installations of a product would seem to be sufficient to establish a good reference point.  And if there was ever any question of width, he should have checked before confirming our order and taking our deposit.  It felt like a bait and switch, and it didn't set a good tone from the start.  Had we known this from the beginning, we would have chosen a different product--communication is the key, Blind Ambition! We ran into another snag because of a tricky installation.  Our place is an older Edwardian and things shift over time, including right angles of a window frame.  The first installer had a hard time installing the windows because our window frames were no longer perfect 90 degree angles.  After relaying this information back to Blind Ambition, Mark tried to talk us into starting over and getting a totally different style of blind.  This is coming midway during the installation after we've already paid for them.  Bait and switch again! We decided to go with the original product and Mark said that they could not stand behind them.  OK, understandable, I guess, but shouldn't they have forewarned us of these potential problems before we committed?  There's no way that during their 1000 installations they would not have seen an Edwardian with shifted frames posing challenges for this style of blind.  Communication is the key, Blind Ambition!  We went to this company for their expertise, but unfortunately our experience fell short. Thank goodness the second installer was able to install them.  They are still working two years later.  FYI Blind Ambition has not followed up with us in any way, which unfortunately is not surprising.    Throughout our process, Mark repeatedly stated that he is not the one that usually deals with the specifics of the product and his partner, who was the real expert, was out of town.  I kept waiting for him to hand us over to his partner who ostensibly did have more knowledge, but that never happened even though this ordeal lasted for many weeks.  Dealing with him wasn't unpleasant, aside from the many "you're kidding me" moments, but it didn't take away from the fact that our experience would have been totally different had he given us advance notice of the potential challenges.  So although we have a product with no guarantee from the company we are thrilled with that product, even our "substitute" blinds that we had to go with because of their first oversight of width.  Unfortunately, getting there was very challenging.  Judging by the Yelp reviews, the majority of people have had a bad experience here and hopefully we were one of the few who fell between the cracks.

4/8/2016

Mark helped me with my blinds twice.  Both times he was professional, helpful, and the blinds turned out great.  The installers were courteous and efficient.I also had a problem with my credit card and needed to switch payments.  Mark went above and beyond in being accommodating - great customer service.I'll look to them for my next blind install (btw Mark is an architect, and can do more than just blinds as well!)

12/2/2015

Recently purchased window coverings for a new home, and could not have been more pleased with the experience at Blind Ambition.Throughout the process, Mark was friendly, knowledgeable, flexible, and communicative. Great products, competitive pricing, and fantastic service from showroom to the installer. Everything came in on-time and as described.If you are considering new window coverings for your home, do not hesitate to give the folks at Blind Ambition a chance to earn your business!

8/10/2015

This place has very poor customer service. I called to get help with my window coverings. They wouldn't even schedule a time to come out to my home for a consultation until they provided me a quote but of course I had no idea what I wanted so the quote was irrelevant. Then it took a week to get a quote...the guy lost my measurements and then didn't bother to call me back and said "oh I thought I called you with the quote."  I had to track him down just to get a quote. Other places turned around a quote for me within 24 hours. Then after I tell him the quote looked good, he proceeds to leave me a voicemail telling me I should go somewhere else because they have a 3 week wait. If this was the case they should have told me upfront and asked if that would work with my schedule. Instead they wasted my time. It was obvious they just didn't want my business.

8/10/2015

Daryl and his team are fantastic. They do a great job at helpfully assessing one's needs without over-selling. Everything from the consultation to the install to the follow-up afterwards gives me confidence in recommending them every time.

6/17/2015

We had our blinds installed end of last year. Before making our decision, we spoke to many companies, including a couple at East Bay and no one came closer to Blind Ambition. Not only the price was reasonable but also the service is unbeatable which is extremely important for us! The entire blind selection and installation process was both smoothly and professional!And the service did not stop after the work was completed. I spoke to Mark and Darryl twice afterwards, once around Feb/March and once fairly recent. Need I say more? Both my concerns and questions were addressed timely and satisfactory!If you are thinking of adding value to your house with new/great window coverings, I will highly recommend Blind Ambition. They are simply the best, very professional and super easy to work with.

10/19/2014

Can only second the positive reviews of others and confirm that Mark and Darryl did a stellar job of handling my blinds needs for a major remodel in San Francisco.  After frustrating time trying to contact Hunter-Douglas representatives, I was lucky to find Blind Ambition Window Coverings on Yelp.Mark and Darryl quickly got a grasp of my aesthetics, budget and practicalities of the remodel schedule.  Their services included a helpful site visit to measure and advise, and skilled and fast installation of the blinds by their installer.You are in excellent hands with Blind Ambition, whatever the size of your job.

11/22/2015

These guys are the real deal. If only other companies had the service this company does. A Plus!

11/9/2015

It took a day or two for them to return my phone call, but it was smooth sailing from there. They showed up when they said they would to measure, had the right amount of samples to choose from and helped with the decisions. They showed up early to install. Very smooth. Darryl the owner, called when the install was complete to make sure I was happy. I was and am still.

3/29/2015

I love my shades!!Darryl is very easy to work with,I've had to reach out to him on a few occasions because of cord issues&he's always very prompt in returning my calls&has sent someone out within a day to fix the problem,A++ on customer service!!!If you need new window coverings call blind ambition!

4/25/2014

Mark and his team did a good job installing 5 window shades for our condo.They were very professional from the initial consultation to the installation.Their pricing is competitive and we received a manufacturer's rebate as well.

7/24/2015

Darryl and Mark run a fantastic business! I shopped around for blinds and was getting frustrated until my real estate agent recommended Blind Ambition. What a difference! Incredible customer service. They took the time to walk me through all the products I was interested in- and even kept their showroom open late when I was stuck in traffic and couldn't get there before closing. Their prices were more than fair, Darryl found some great discounts that I was eligible for, and they are both incredibly lovely people to work with. They even got  our blinds installed a week early! Fantastic all around. They over-delivered in every way and we've been super happy with all of our purchases. And they may have the sweetest dog in the world to boot. They have my business from here on out!

7/14/2014 Updated review

If you read my previous review, you will see that although I gave Blind Ambition a low overall rating because of the product, I said that they were excellent in customer service.Well, guess what? After I posted the concern about the quality of the window coverings, in less than a day, Darryl called me and not only apologized about the situation, but also offered to come to my place to come up with a better solution.The next day, he and Mark showed up at my place and spent a lot of time understanding my concerns and proposing options for replacement window treatments. In less than a week, they came back and installed brand-new blinds that are great. I am actually utterly blown away by this kind of customer service. Have you ever heard of a business that offers to help a customer with an already-installed custom product just so that the customer was happy? I certainly have not, until Blind Ambition!One of the things that is screwed up about Yelp is that it's easy to vent through a Yelp review rather than contact the business directly. I made that mistake and wrote a negative review before giving these amazingly high-integrity folks a chance to fix the problem.So in a nut shell: five stars for blind ambition, zero stars for me. To be very clear: this is exactly where you should go to get your blinds!And finally: please ignore my previous review and read only this one!

6/29/2014 Previous review 3 stars for service, 0 stars for product = 1 starI purchased blackout blinds from Mark and team,… 3 stars for service, 0 stars for product = 1 starI purchased blackout blinds from Mark and team, specifically telling them I wanted to ensure that my room would be dark in the morning so that I wouldn't wake up from the light.When I received the blinds, there were massive 2 inch gaps between the window edge and the blind cover. By 6:30 am, so much sunlight floods my room through these "blackout blinds" that it's as if I have my light fixtures turned on full blast.I am reminded every morning of the mistake I made going to Blind Ambition. So - why 4 stars for service? Well they came to my place and did a good job with installation.  They came back and did a few repairs on the blinds when they broke earlier than they should have, too.But given that I rise each morning to the regret of dealing with Blind Ambition and thinking "Dammit, why the hell did I buy these useless blackout blinds from Blind Ambition?", I wouldn't go back here again.I suggest you go elsewhere, too. Read more 6/13/2014

We had visited two other shops looking for Hunter-Douglas blinds.  We both immediately connected with Daryl.  His bid was quite competitive and he and his partner both came to our home to do the final measurements.  The blinds arrived faster than expected and the installation was done quickly and efficiently. Highly recommended.

1/9/2015

Shopped around and had the best customer service and price here. Darryl and Mark are so nice and were a pleasure to work with. Came and measured, gave me a price and got my blinds in 4 days instead of two weeks! Will definitely recommend this place to all my friends.

10/8/2014

This place was a find.  I wandered in at lunch just to check it out and they were fabulous from start to finish.   I called National and Budget about 3 months before wandering in and am still wondering if either will call me back.  Darryl and Mark were attentive, responsive, polite and very easy to talk to.  The blinds came in early and the installer was very polite and nice as well.   I admit it heartily, I am picky and can be a pain in the butt if I'm not happy.  I'm one of those people who always finds something wrong.   I still haven't figured out anything that I can complain about relative to this experience - thanks Darryl & Mark.  I wish I had more windows!!.

1/7/2013

This review is 2 months over due. I'm am so happy that I found Blind Ambition. Why? Well, let me count the reasons: 1.  MORE competitive pricing versus Costco  2.  Mark is the technical one. Darryl is the style guide. Combined, they are the total package. 3.  Calls and emails were returned  promptly. 4. Multiple follow up calls we made to check to make sure we were happy with our install. 5. Reminder call to not forget to fill out our Hunter Douglas rebate forms. THIS IS EVEN AFTER THEY WERE ALREADY PAID IN FULL. 6. Asked questions to help us decide what we eventually wanted and helped us make the perfect decision for our condo. 7. Darryl maneuvered it so that my Luminettes were installed as soon as they arrived. Relationship and excellent customer service is important to me. BUT I will pay more for them if I have to. BA offers both with excellent pricing. That's why I referred them to a friend who also decided to use Blind Ambition. Relationship. Excellent Customer Service. Great Prices. What more can you ask for?

5/19/2014

Best price and great service.  I had a problem over a year after installation, and they fixed it at no cost.  Professional and friendly.Kendall

9/28/2013

Look no further--Mark and Darryl are your guys if you are looking for blinds.  My husband and I needed blinds for our new residence and we have been exceptionally pleased by the customer service these two have provided.  They are professional, efficient, honest and have a terrific attitude.  Also, they quoted us the best price compared to their competitors.  They were a pleasure to work with and I highly recommend them!  You won't be disappointed.

Tags:
Related Articles
3 Blind Mice Window Coverings, Inc.  - Shades & Blinds - 5850 Rosebud Ln., Sacramento, CA

3 Blind Mice Window Coverings, Inc. - Shades & Blinds - 5850 Rosebud Ln., Sacramento, CA

5/14/2015I have worked with this company for several years both in San Diego and now here in the Valley.  They are extremely professional and followed through on every promise the have ever made to me. I have recommended them to numerous clients and

Fastsigns - 53 Reviews - Graphic Design - 650 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA

Fastsigns - 53 Reviews - Graphic Design - 650 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA

6/23/2016I cant even begin to explain the how wonderful Ria and her crew are at Fastsigns. Above and WAY BEYOND, Ria saved my butt. The venue wasnt sure of the floor graphic's adhesive on their floor - she gave us a sampleWe changed products - she se

All American Automotive - 70 Reviews - Auto Repair - 846 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA - Menu

All American Automotive - 70 Reviews - Auto Repair - 846 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA - Menu

3/30/2016I have read some of the reviews from my fellow Yelpers and don't understand the 1 star ratings. We are a 4 car family and have spent way too much money on repairs and maintenance. I apologize for this lengthy review but I'm sure it is worth

Blow Buddies - 18 Reviews - Adult Entertainment - 933 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA

11/11/2012Hookers n blow. blow pops. Blow up dolls. Blow me down! Shiver me timbers!5/30/2016If it weren't for the elderly Anger Twink manning the door on some nights, the place would be great. Instead, you're met with unwarranted attitude and a very

Ed’s Autohaus - 125 Reviews - Auto Repair - 980 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA

Ed’s Autohaus - 125 Reviews - Auto Repair - 980 Harrison St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA

8/10/2016My usual mechanic is in the process of moving out of his garage, and has referred his customers to Ed's.  My beloved Saab is 15 years old and I had put off maintenance for too long.  I finally made an appointment with Emerson at Ed's Autohau

You Might Also Like

Kick City  - Shoe Stores - 3134 International Blvd, East Oakland, Oakland, CA
12/19/2009If you are looking for Jordan's and ...
Resurrection Rehab - Rehabilitation Center - 55 Springtowne Ctr., Vallejo, CA
Green Hills Wine Tours   - Wine Tours - 11760 San Pablo Ave, El Cerrito, CA
9/19/2016This operator exceeded our expectati ...
Grom   - Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt - Via Agonale 3, Centro Storico, Roma, Italy
9/9/2016Everyday we had gelato, and every pla ...
Delano Nursery - Nurseries & Gardening - 644 Brannan St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
8/31/2016John and Carla are my saviors. I wor ...
Kindred Hospital - San Francisco Bay Area - 19 Reviews - Hospitals - 2800 Benedict Dr, San Leandro, CA
9/11/2015The people that work here are absolu ...

Tags