Girl Friday Zeppole - Food Stands - 1 Ferry Bldg, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Girl Friday Zeppole   - Food Stands - 1 Ferry Bldg, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
7/18/2016

I tried these for the first time at Off the Grid: Picnic in the Presidio and I hope it won't be the last time I have these! They are also at the Ferry Building, so you can catch them at different places in the city. These are golf-sized balls of deep-fried goodness, that are light, fluffy and soft on the inside, and just the right amount of crispness on the outside. I could probably eat 6 of these in one sitting, but if you share with a few people, it's a great little snack or dessert.You can get different dipping sauces to go along with these. Make sure you try these next time you see them out!

9/19/2016

Sadly the guy before me in line bought the last of the dessert Zeppole's so i didnt get the thing i wanted, but - the savory ones - are pretty on point.I've been looking for a zeppole for something like 10 years (not looking very hard ...clearly) ever since Alex F yelp.com/user_details?us… told me about some epic NYC zeppoles.Finally i got to try this mystery food, and GFZ did not disappoint.

4/25/2016

Tasty dessert option at Off the Grid at the Presidio!I got half a dozen of the lemon ricotta zeppole ($4) which kept me wanting more. They are very soft and doughy on the inside. Not too sweet and has the right amount of zest. I also tried them with the vanilla bean creme fraiche dipping sauce ($1) which was a great combination.

Lemon ricotta zeppole ($4 for half dozen) Lemon ricotta zeppole ($4 for half dozen) 4/24/2016

I WANT MORE! I tried the zeppole with vanilla bean creme fraiche dipping sauce at Presidio Picnic, and it was the best decision ever. I don't like dessert that is too sweet and this dessert solves that problem. Since it's partly made with cottage cheese, it has a slightly savory taste, which is perfect when dipped with a not-too-sweet dipping sauce. The sauce is a mixture of a vanilla-ey, creamy, and citrusy flavor, and its coolness mixed with the hot fresh zeppoles is amazing. The zeppole with crispy on the outside but "doughy"/soft on the inside.This is definitely a must try. Next time, I'm getting both the sweet and the savory (with bacon) choices.

1/9/2016

Encountered a new food tent at the Ferry Building Farmers' Market.  Freshly fried zeppole!  A lot fancier than your typical carnival fare, with dipping sauces to really set them apart.Zeppole: I ordered a dozen because I wanted the 3 dipping sauces that came with.  I was a little worried at first because I kept thinking about the fist-sized zeppoles you'd get at carnivals.  Thankfully these were about the size of donut holes, but way bougier.  Crispy exterior and soft doughy interior.  Reminded me a little of a mini-beignet.  A quick tip though.  Pour the zeppoles out of the cone as soon as you get them.  The zeppoles at the bottom of the cone tend to get soggy (with all the steam) otherwise.Earl Grey Chocolate Ganache: Very thick and intense.  Didn't really taste the Earl Grey, but that's ok since the dark chocolate was so good.Vanilla Bean Creme Fraiche: I'm not sure if this was lemony or if it was just so mild that it let the lemon zest already on the zeppole shine.  Either way, it was creamy without being overpowering.House Cultured Butter Caramel: My favorite of the bunch, but I'm hugely caramel biased.  A nice creamy texture that attached to the zeppole, but wasn't too runny.  Great pairing!

Zeppoles w/ Earl Grey Chocolate Ganache, Vanilla Bean Creme Fraiche, House Cultured Butter Caramel: Zeppoles w/ Earl Grey Chocolate Ganache, Vanilla Bean Creme Fraiche, House Cultured Butter Caramel: 8/7/2016

Very flavorful donut holes! I ordered the "half dozen", but it actually came with eight (probably because they were close to closing), and the seasonal pluot-sage sauce. However, although the sauce was really good, the donuts didn't need it at all - they're so yummy on their own (lemon, ricotta, powdered sugar), that I really thought the sauce just covered much of the taste. I'd like to try the savory ones!

3/11/2016

I'm still dreaming of these.They were at Oakland First Friday and they were amazing. Tried half savoury half sweet. Each tasted like fluffy clouds and were so good. The sweet had a light hint of lemon and paired well with the earl grey chocolate and the caramel dip. So good I kept my leftover dips and brought them home to eat. The savory donut was so good as well, and the dip paired with it had a good bite/zing to it. Loved being able to alternate between the two as well. I can't wait to follow them where ever they set up shop and munch on these again!

8/29/2016

Had these at the Presidio picnic yesterday - both savory and sweet. Not a fan. They were greasy and heavy and there was way too much sour lemon.

4/25/2016

In the age of over the top donuts and pastries, it's nice to have a zeppole every now and then.  Make sure you try one from Girl Friday Zeppole.  Theirs is a lovely, light and fluffy ball of deliciousness.  Just the right size.  Just a hint of lemon and ricotta.  Just enough of a golden brown crispy shell.  Just a light dusting of sugar to coat the outside.  When dipped into one of their dipping sauces, you have a dessert that is just perfection. The vanilla bean creme fraiche dipping sauce that I chose to go along with the zeppole was perfect too.  Creamy and subtly sweet, it adds great flavor without overpowering the zeppole.  To me this is important because I feel that too much flavor would ruin the experience.  I'm very pleased with Girl Friday Zeppole and will definitely buy more from them the next time I catch them at Off The Grid.

9/18/2015

GIrl Friday Zeppole offers lemon ricotta Zeppole. this italian pastry orignated @Go Streatery..now it's on it's own.locale: eat real '15eats: lemon ricotta zeppole by 6 or 12's with a choice of dipping sauce.(6ish choices) ($5 for 6?, forget, 12 is a lot cheaper)*choose earl grey chocolate, chocolate evident, not earl grey.-pastry is freshly made on site. recommended to be eaten quickly.-ate it quicky, no aftertaste, wondering if it goes with beer, bourbor, whiskey, or coffee?light tasting, not fulfilling, probably good dinner deseert dish...-looks like a large donut hole, essentially fried dough, dusted with sugar....crumbs:-better if bought by the dozen and shared by friends. foodies.....-gonna research this further (by thinking, googling, not eating).-smiling, helpful service.........

3/13/2016

My first time trying lemon ricotta zeppole and I must say the are pretty darn good.  Piping hot because they are freshly fried.  Crispy on the outside, super moist, and super light and fluffy on the inside.  The sauces we chose were the vanilla bean creme fraiche, salted caramel, and blood orange marmalade.  Vanilla bean creme fraiche was our favorite by far.  Blood orange marmalade was good, the salted caramel was only okay.  I would like to try the savory zeppole next time.

9/24/2015

mmmmmmmmmmmLove this old world italian treat meets san francisco sassyness

1/23/2016

Fantastic hot lemon ricotta zeppole with vanilla sauce. Texture and taste to die for! My new motivation for working out :) Can't wait to try the savory ones, too. Wish I'd had more room in the tummy for both today. Thanks, ladies!

9/24/2015

I eat these tasty fried knots at Picnic @ the Presidio almost every weekend. Lemon Ricotta is their signature, which I highly recommend with the vanilla creme fraiche dipping sauce. Either way, Girl Friday will get you fry-high. Definitely worth the treat yo!

9/21/2015

I tried the Zeppole at the recent Oakland Real Eats event. YUM! We  couldn't decide if we were looking for dinner or dessert, so we got a combo of savory and sweet. Whatever we were looking for, we ate all of them!  If you haven't tried one, a Zeppole is a flavorful dough ball, deep-fried with a crusty shell. You get a choice of dipping sauces.  I'm definitely adding Zeppoles to my list of must-have street foods!

Tags:
Related Articles
Mastrelli’s Delicatessen - CLOSED - 127 Reviews - Italian - 1 Ferry Bldg, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Mastrelli’s Delicatessen - CLOSED - 127 Reviews - Italian - 1 Ferry Bldg, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/19/2010so sad...had the most amazing tasting italian subslike an orgasm in the mouthi dont cheese but i did heremost dearly be missed.......3/1/2010The most affordable lunch spot at the Ferry Building was scheduled to CLOSE on March 15th (lease end

Proper Food   - Sandwiches - 100 1st St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Proper Food - Sandwiches - 100 1st St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

6/3/2016Proper Food is a wonderful quick grab and go spot for lunch. Local, organic, made fresh daily.They have a pretty good selection that rotates depending on the season. Some notable options:Seared Lemon Pepper Tuna SaladProper PB&J: House-made c

International Food Court   - Food Court - 320 Bush St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

International Food Court - Food Court - 320 Bush St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/2/2016I recently discovered this little hub before I started working in FiDi. My friend and I wandered around this area after having lunch at Muracci's across the street and out of curiosity I decided to walk downstairs to check out the environment

Proper Food   - Salad - 116 Montgomery St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Proper Food - Salad - 116 Montgomery St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/29/2016When I need healthy food on the go, this is my go-to spot. Conveniently located near my office and lots of choices for interesting healthy food that changes with the seasons. It is a great and sustainable concept.I've had the Seared Lemon Pe

Slider Shack   - Food Trucks - 400 Howard St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Slider Shack - Food Trucks - 400 Howard St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

7/16/2016I'm a big fan of the bbq pork slider as well as the moa fried chicken. And they have good tots. Tasty, big portions, and quality ingredients. One of my favorite food trucks in SF !!!8/8/2016Pretty darn good, the "Shack" in the name make

You Might Also Like

Mortar Rock Park - Parks - 901 Indian Rock Ave, Berkeley Hills, Berkeley, CA
9/2/2015Beautiful shady spot to boulder. Only ...
Honeybee Acupuncture - 59 Reviews - Acupuncture - 766 Valencia St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Menu
4/20/2016Been to a bunch of different acupunc ...
Arrow Checker Cab   - Taxis - 2575 Marin St, Bayview-Hunters Point, San Francisco, CA
5/17/2016#73/2016Flagged down Arrow Cab after ...
Castro Tarts   - Vietnamese - Castro - San Francisco, CA - Menu
7/5/2016This is a one stop shop for breakfast ...
Samsara - Accessories - 2101 Union St, Marina/Cow Hollow, San Francisco, CA
10/4/2011Was having a little 'Adventure on Un ...
Classcycle - 36 Reviews - Bikes - 1531 S Novato Blvd, Novato, CA
4/3/2016I was getting ready to take my daught ...

Tags