Halal Cart - Halal - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Halal Cart   - Halal - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
9/5/2016

If there is any body who can be a close competitor to Halal guys New York, then they are there ones. They are open for a couple of hours during lunch and provide an equally great Halal experience. In addition to the traditional red and white sauces, they have the green sauce. (Similar to the Indian mint chutney) Note:1. They are crowded. So be ready to wait. 2. Generally available during lunch. I think that to just on weekdays. (Not sure if they do weekends)3. They finish off all their food pretty quickly. Mostly but 2pm they are ready to say bye bye. I just wish they can extend their timings. Love them overall

8/24/2016

Bit into a piece of small hard plastic in my food today :-(I managed to get my money back, but they weren't very friendly about it.

8/23/2016

very fast service and good for a quick lunch meal. you can smell it on the way there, very  tempting. the portion is pretty good and the taste is good too. beware though, the crazy hot sauce there is actually very spicy, make sure you put it in a container instead of pouring directly on the food, or you might experience unexpected stomach problems, but it is great and worth a try :)

7/13/2016

Holy sh*t that red sauce is no joke!!!!!!!!Ordered the combo over rice which includes yellow rice, shredded chicken and shredded lamb\beef, salad is included in the plate as well at 2 slices of a wrap, white sauce layers the top of all of your meat, if you dare sample try the red sauce(mite as well be labeled dragons fire) just a word to the weary it HOT!!!! All around good flavor on everything on their dish, rice well seasoned, shredded chicken just enough seasoning to make you want more and that lamb\beef seasoned for me just right, have not sampled the spots in NY but I have had my share of falafel spots in various spots of the US, this one by far in regards to price and taste is hands down best; for fast foodThis is a cart on market in SF in the fidi realm, no seats, take it add you extra sauces, grab your utensils, grab a bag and take it to go. Highly advise if you venture that red sauce be close to a water fountain or have a tall glass of milk, kinda heat where you eat more it burns more, lingers on your tongue depending on how much you dabbed for an easy 5min per scoop and the spoons ain't that big.Their menu is short and sweet, but what they make comes out really good, next time I am in the area definitely will hit up this spot again, minus the red sauceFood ***** all that flavor for $10 Price $Service **** quick, efficient, friendlyAmbiance **** depends on who is in the line with you haha

Combo over rice, shredded chicken & lamb\beef that red sauce though. HOT!!!!!! Combo over rice, shredded chicken & lamb\beef that red sauce though. HOT!!!!!! On 455 Market St On 455 Market St 6/7/2016

I work a few blocks from The Halal Cart and I have been meaning to try it for a while now but today I finally went. I have to say it is one of the best lunches I have had in a while. The portions are huge. You can easily split the meal into two and share it with someone. I got the chicken and rice and it comes with a salad and pita bread. You have the option to add extra sauce on the side. The saucier the better sometimes, but in this case the flavor of the chicken was more than enough that I didn't need the sauce. The food came out super fast. It's $10 for a combo, and they only take cash so make sure you have cash on you!

Behind all the smothered sauce is Chicken and Rice goodness! Behind all the smothered sauce is Chicken and Rice goodness! 8/19/2016

This halal cart is a close substitute to the famous Halal Guys in New York. The beauty of this place is 1) how simple the menu is and 2) huge portions. As in you'll probably hate yourself afterward if you manage to finish the whole thing in one go. (Price for a bowl is now $10.) The most popular option here are the bowls: chicken/gyros/both over lettuce and seasoned rice. It also comes with pita bread. Half the bowl is rice and meat, and the other half is lettuce. Feel free to ask for all rice or all lettuce.There hasn't been a line when I've went, and even if there were, orders come out super quickly. After you get your food, they have bottles of sauces for you to load up on the white sauce and a sprinkle of red sauce (as everyone has already warned, it's pretty spicy.) I really have no complaints about this place; it's cheat food at its best.

Chicken bowl topped with an overwhelming amount of white sauce. Let's be honest, there's no such thing as too much white sauce. Chicken bowl topped with an overwhelming amount of white sauce. Let's be honest, there's no such thing as too much white sauce. 5/29/2016

Oh baby this place is great. My coworkers must think I'm a masochistic with my first two trips here. I always go for the combo over rice. Its about 10 dollars, and gets served very quickly! Once you have that, slide on over and start putting the sauces on. This part is where you have to be careful. I put way too much of the hot sauce on my first and second times, but it was so delicious I've kept coming back. The portion size feels like it is 1.5 meals. This food truck is a cash only shop, but they are conveniently parked in front of a Bank of America. Be sure to head over early to avoid the lunch rush!

Combo over rice pre me putting extra sauce on. Careful, the hot sauce is spicy! Combo over rice pre me putting extra sauce on. Careful, the hot sauce is spicy! 4/19/2016

The chicken bowl is da-bomb-chickie-de-deee!  And the servings are so BIG that tiny-toons, like myself, can make it a 2-day meal.  Best value in FiDi!  $10 for a big bowl of hot food, who can ask for more?The chicken bowl is served in a pie tin, A PIE TIN folks!  That in itself is da-bomb-chickie-de-dee!  And it's layered with flavortown.  They have seasoned super long grain rice on the bottom, topped with a generous amount of well seasoned chopped and shredded up chicken, ice berg salad on the side and a swirl of white sauce on top.  It comes out fast too, like in 2 minutes!  If your into hot sauce, do not miss the opportunity to add it in yourself.  I put a round dab the size of a quarter to the side just for an added kick.  And did it kick my buds to the sky?  Hell ya!  That stuff is on FIRE!  Good FIRE!  HOT!I came at 11AM and there was zero wait.  But I've seen the lines during lunch hour and the long lines speaks for itself.  So, don't just pass by, get in line because your buds will thank you.NOTES:  Cash only.  Free bags!  Lots of sauces to add more flavortown into your flavortown meal.

Addiction Addiction Chicken bowl Chicken bowl 9/20/2016

good spot for lunch! $10 for a chicken and rice plate is a deal... i'm definitely coming back soon

ring of fire ring of fire 5/8/2016

Great value and delicious food. $10 for a full plate (meat, rice, salad, and some pita bread). A combo plate is generally 2 meals for me.Be sure to try the sauces on the side. The red sauce is really spicy. I like to squirt it all in one spot so I can adjust the spiciness accordingly.

Combination plate Combination plate 7/19/2016

I had the Chicken "Sandwich" wrap (in case you're wondering, the difference between the chicken and gyro options are that the gyro ones are with lamb and beef; other than that, they're the same).Between the speed (took about a minute between ordering and getting my meal), price, hot and juicy filling, and soft and warm pita, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I practically inhaled the thing. I definitely had to eat it with a fork and knife, though, because it was absolutely overflowing with juicy chicken :-)Be warned, though: it's cash only, and they don't offer receipts!

7/14/2016

Huge portions, tons of flavor, super quick service, and easy to find/access! The truck is located right along Market Street in the Financial District of SF. You can smell the food within the radius of about a block, so just follow your nose if you are unsure where to go :)There are pictures of all the options on the truck, and only a few to choose from so it's easy to pick what you want. All the pictures look delicious! The line moves ridiculously fast too. As soon as you walk up to the counter, have your money (cash only) ready because your food is prepared almost instantaneously. I ordered, received my food, and paid within the span of only about one minute. Prices range from around $8-10 for a solid meal. A great place to go if you're looking for a quick, hearty lunch!

7/10/2016

I got the mixed plate. Presentation wise is looks like the Halal guys in NYC. Quantity wise, there was less food. The hot sauce is just as spicy as Halal guys(extremely spicy). Sometimes there could be a long line up for this food truck, however the line moves quickly.

Mixed plate Mixed plate 6/1/2016

A legit halal cart! It's not The Halal Guys, but who cares. It's tasty and delicious in it's own right. Line was hella long, but went by quickly and efficiently (maybe even moreso than THG in NYC..). If you haven't had it you should definitely give it a shot. Beware, the red sauce will knock you on your rear-end! Cash Only.

6/27/2016

When I want to grab a hearty flavorful lunch, this is where I go.  If you haven't been, try the combo.  I go strictly gyro now (lamb) because I think it packs a lot more flavor in those processed chunks of meat.  For $10, the food is a substantial amount (I pretty much get food coma on the days I eat here for lunch).  It comes with white sauce already on it, but you can add more, plus you can add the green sauce (not as thick as the white sauce, and more herby, plus green is healthier right?) and red sauce (be careful, this packs a punch going in and coming out).   I think its just as good as any of the other Halal places.  Service is quick, but lines can be long.

5/5/2016

So many have yearned for the West Coast version of The Halal Guys of NY. I guess your wishes came true. A few savvy entrepreneurs saw the demand and supplied. I know many smart, business-minded people wanted to take a stab at this venture too, but hey you can still go after it. You just won't be the first.I'm not going to compare Halal Cart to The Halal Guys, because... well, I don't really like comparing any one thing against another. I form my simple opinions based on how much or how little the food satisfied me.When I first took notice of the Halal Cart, they always had a line. It wasn't a terrible wait, but I was just too impatient and kept on walking. One day, it was close to 2PM and there was no one around. I knew they were getting ready to close up, so I asked if I could still order. They kindly agreed to my request. I like their simple menu, basically consisting of sandwiches and rice plates.I got both the Chicken Over Rice & Combination Over Rice for $8 each. I took them home to share with Mr. Joy, and also I wanted his opinion. Mr. Joy is a man of few words and his response went something like this, "It was okay." Me...I like to be thorough, maybe too thorough.They both had pretty good flavors and make for a good lunch option. Chicken was okay, but the shredded chicken breast texture is dry. The lamb was heavily seasoned, so there was hardly any game-y flavor, in my opinion. I remembered trying the red sauce from the Halal Guys and it was too much fire for me, so I skipped it altogether and went with white sauce all the way. I'm not too fond of this type of rice, because I find that long grain rice is rather dry and too chewy. I prefer short grain rice. As for the "salad," I'll take it or leave it. Iceberg lettuce is just a filler, but I do like tomatoes. I also like pita bread, so I was happy that was in there.I am happy I tried this food cart. I have satisfied my curiosity and now I can move on with my life.

4/16/2016

Where are the firemen? Because this dish is so spicy I almost burst into flames.Seriously. This is hotter than any jalapeño and almost as hot as some ghost chilis I've had.So be prepared for some intense heat and some intense flavor.The food here is super tasty, if you can stand the heat. I highly recommend this place for anyone who likes spicy food, but if you like mild food you may want to stay away since I barely hot through half of my dish since it was THAT spicy.

8/1/2016

Tried the Gyro and like it a lot.  Just think it needs a little more lettuce to balance out the meat.  Good portion and though it was good flavor and super fast, so great for if you go during the main rush 12-1.  Get extra napkins!  Like the tax-included pricing.  $8 out the door.  I'm all for cash-only if it means speeding up the process.

4/13/2016

very good. It's $10 for lunch in downtown area with pretty good quality and quantity. If i worked in the area, I would consider this a go to place.I got the combo plate and definitely enjoyed the chicken pieces over the lamb pieces.There's also a lot of unmarked sauces! I just add the green one whichever that is and it's not spicy.CASH ONLY.

9/6/2016

I tried Halal after reading the reviews, the cart is a half a block from my office. The combination plate is the best deal. It is really two meals.  Absolutely loved it.  The guys are nice, it is convenient and the food awesome.!

Tags:
Related Articles
Prime Dip Sandwiches   - Sandwiches - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Prime Dip Sandwiches - Sandwiches - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

6/30/2014I use to go all the way to past the Filmore district to eat here but now its super convenient and here I thought that was the only Prime Dip in the city. I entered the place and the spacing was small only for ordering and the kitchen took mo

Focaccia Market and Bakery   - Delis - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Focaccia Market and Bakery - Delis - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/31/2016A stuffed small salad for only $7?! This is such a good deal! The one thing I love about the salads here is the fresh mozerella. It's delicous! The small salad comes with 3 toppings, and although 3 toppings doesn't sound like a lot the salad

Onigilly   - Japanese - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Onigilly - Japanese - 455 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

2/7/2016I found out about this place because my coworker got lunch here, and smelling his onigilly made my mouth water! He has tried soboro, natto, and unagi. He said the natto was slimy and tasted like someone put snot all over his mouth. In fact, h

Andersen Bakery   - Bakeries - 525 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Andersen Bakery - Bakeries - 525 Market St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

5/7/2016 Updated reviewGreat bakery on Market.I came here after work to grab a snack to eat. There wasn't too much bread left at 5pm, so I went for the desserts. I asked the employee if he recommended the strawberry tart or the crème brûlée, and he r

Gambino’s   - Sandwiches - One Market Plz, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Gambino’s - Sandwiches - One Market Plz, Financial District, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

10/31/2013What-sup-witch-yew? Lemme tell ya sumthin'. When I needs me a sub san'wich, I come to Gambino's 'cuz it'z like bein' at home...in Joisey, Y'see, the owner is from my neck of duh woods and dis here Joisey girl knows how to make 'em like my U

You Might Also Like

Beastmode   - Men's Clothing - 811 Broadway, Old Oakland, Oakland, CA
8/25/2016I'm over-rating this place just beca ...
Sparc   - Cannabis Clinics - 1256 Mission St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
8/19/2016i really, really miss nookies.they g ...
University of California Santa Cruz   - Colleges & Universities - 1156 High St, Santa Cruz, CA
4/10/2016Assuming the academics are good for ...
Healthy Living Spa   - Massage - 369 3rd Ave, Inner Richmond, San Francisco, CA
4/27/2016Just amAzing amazing amazing place t ...
Winning Windows Inc.   - Windows Installation - East Oakland, Oakland, CA
6/13/2016We had all of the original windows i ...
New Hong Kong Wok   - Seafood - 5019 Freeport Blvd, South Land Park, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews
9/18/2016Pretty good for a Chinese spots. The ...

Tags