Hot Stone Korean Kitchen - Korean - 2190 N Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Hot Stone Korean Kitchen   - Korean - 2190 N Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews
9/27/2016

A friend and I decided to grab lunch here a little while ago. I'm very happy with the fast and friendly service we received here. We didn't have to wait long at all for our meals, which is a good thing since we were both hella hungry. Although you're going to spend at least $10 on your meal alone, you get what you pay for. They give large portion sizes and the food is delicious!In the front of the restaurant, they have a freezer with various ice cream treats that are for sale. They are reasonably priced and apparently the proceeds go to children in need in the Philippines (I guess it's through an organization they've partnered with). If you do try one, I highly recommend getting the Samanco. It's HELLA good! =)

See all photos from Paulamertha A. for Hot Stone Korean Kitchen 10/22/2016

Visited this place about 6-7 times nowFirst few times were great but now their service has definitely gone DOWNHILL. They are rude and don't check up on you.Only GOOD thing here is the quality of the food and portion but their customer service is a major turnoff.I have tried the following dishes: Bugolgi, Pork Tofu Soup, Bibimbap.They give you a great variety on side dishes which they refill unlimitedly upon YOUR request, if not they won't bother refilling it.PURPLE RICE is must try!!!Prices: at least $11 on any dishClean bathroom.Simple decor, don't seat by the window if it's sunny or else it will be very hot and you will be blinded by the sun.Overall nothing specific to say about food because it is very good and delicious but their customer service department is greatly LACKING!

9/3/2016

Came here on the weekend with my family and was honestly a bit disappointed. Given the high reviews and beautiful pictures on yelp, I was pretty unimpressed with their food and favors, everything felt like it was lacking "something." Service was nice but not very attentive. We asked for water and side dishes (refills) multiple times and we were never given them. Finally, we were given water AFTER paying our bill. Korean food is hella salty, especially with what we ordered, and we needed water. We asked 5 times for water, almost got up and refilled our water myself. Location is in a pretty sketchy place. Behind this restaurant is a motel and when we arrived, and when we left, children were screaming from the balcony. Loads of homeless people are around as well but the inside is very nice and clean, did not use the bathroom so I cannot comment on it.I ordered a lot, like 10 things, but here's what I remember:*Side dishes-Honestly we didn't get that many side dishes despite ordering nearly 100+ dollars worth of food. Overall very lacking in flavor and no one refilled them. In total we had 5 side dishes.*Japchae-It's a noodle appetizer that comes with loads of vegs. I normally eat this cold, and some places give it to you as a side dish, but this came to our table warm. Overall very ok and for the price we got a very good portion ($9.99 + fee if you want to add meat)*Soy Sauce Fried Chicken-This was by far the most disappointing thing we ordered. First of all, it wasn't even fried chicken, the chicken pieces were chicken chunks. I expected something like 99 chicken, and in their menu photo you can clearly see wings and drumsticks. All white meat, super dry/flavorless, barely tasted the sauce, and the breading was too thick and weirdly sweet. Would never order this again. Food here is very meh, average at best in terms of flavor. However, for Solano county, this is probably the best you'll get. Trust me though, drive a little further to SJ or SF, you'll see what real Korean food tastes like.+points for nice wait staff-points for really slow service and unattentive staff members-points for the food

10/21/2016

Food is fantastic. Service is mediocre at best. And they can't split a check more than 4 ways for some reason...? Atmosphere is good and casual, the back room is very open. the temperature is cool so have the ladies bring a sweater or a jacket.

10/18/2016

Came here with a big party. They sat us all in the back part with the large Flat screen TV playing Korean pop. They served us the ban Chan. So many I ordered the bimpimbop, my fave w/ no rice. They give you red rice or white. No refills on those. My husband ordered short ribs, he loved it. (They accommodated our toddlers too)

10/17/2016

Great local spot for amazing Korean BBQ! I love the cold buck wheat noodle dishes and definitely recommend any tofu soup dish there. The only con I do have about this place is pricing. Due to it being one of the few Korean spots locally, it can get a bit pricey. But my logic is that I would spend that price savings in the gas/toll, so I'd rather support a local business. It's great to see this location finally have some stability instead of always changing hands in ownership so often.

3/2/2016

I love my Korean food and haven't found many good ones in this area. Saw the good ratings and was really excited.. It was really nothing special :( I ordered the kimchi tofu soup which barely had any soup and the kimchi flavor was off. I mean it wasn't bad. It's like the kimchi was too fresh? Maybe not fermented long enough? Not sure. Fried chicken was a huge disappointment.. Korean fried chicken has a unique crisp to it. Their chicken is usually double fried and amazingly juicy and crispy til the end. The fried chicken here did not have a single crunch at all... The pieces were huge which could be good or bad depending on preference. I liked it. However, the breading was off and just came no texture! The soy garlic barely had flavor but the spicy was very tasty! It wasn't spicy but tasted more garlic than the soy garlic itself.Banchan was plated beautifully! They were good and again, nothing special but still tasty.Service. I think it was a new waitress but as usual, most workers at Korean places are very friendly! Wouldn't travel for this place unless I'm 5 minutes away and starving

Look at the size of this thing!! Look at the size of this thing!! Beautiful looking spread.. Decent food Beautiful looking spread.. Decent food 2/21/2016 Updated review

Wow. Quite the find on the way back from SF today. The sign outside is creative the food and service is excellent. Looks like this building was rehabbed from an old Denny's to a very cute tastefully and simple Korean Bistro. The menu does have pictures of all the creations. We started with hot steamed dumplings. The wrapper was perfectly cooked not soggy. Nicely filled. Served in a bamboo basket. Then we were presented with  12 small plates of many yummy Korean dishes. Main course. Iron pot beef. Let the picture show how yummy fresh and hot it was. Also ordered bulgolgi platter. Wow. The BBQ flavor excellent. We had sake and Asahi. They did reco Korean sake. Next time! Service very good. Attentive, responsive. So happy I read the Yelp reviews as this will be a stop next Bay Area trip!Second visit equally wonderful! Great service Nalle. Knowledgable and very pleasant. Tried fried calamari. Very tasty. Nice batterMiso soup very good. Came with iron pot and bolgolgi. Can't wait to come again.

Calamari Calamari Hot sauce. Yum. Hot sauce. Yum. Small plates come with entrees. Yummy tasting. Small plates come with entrees. Yummy tasting. See all photos from Karyn H. for Hot Stone Korean Kitchen 1/30/2016 Previous review Wow. Quite the find on the way back from SF today. The sign outside is creative the food and service… Wow. Quite the find on the way back from SF today. The sign outside is creative the food and service is excellent. Looks like this building was rehabbed from an old Denny's to a very cute tastefully and simple Korean Bistro. The menu does have pictures of all the creations. We started with hot steamed dumplings. The wrapper was perfectly cooked not soggy. Nicely filled. Served in a bamboo basket. Then we were presented with  12 small plates of many yummy Korean dishes. Main course. Iron pot beef. Let the picture show how yummy fresh and hot it was. Also ordered bulgolgi platter. Wow. The BBQ flavor excellent. We had sake and Asahi. They did reco Korean sake. Next time! Service very good. Attentive, responsive. So happy I read the Yelp reviews as this will be a stop next Bay Area trip! Read more Bulgolgi platter. Served served with rice. Bulgolgi platter. Served served with rice. The hot stone is excellent!! The hot stone is excellent!! Try it all. Yum. Try it all. Yum. See all photos from Karyn H. for Hot Stone Korean Kitchen 9/14/2016

Good bibimbop and service we attentive and fast. The side dishes were tasty too. Plenty of parking and we had a good window seat for people watching. Lunch and entertainment, a win-win. Looking forward to going back.

8/27/2016

I've been only once but, yeah, Hot Stone is good. My friend and I both had Bulgoki: it came pre-cooked with a good selection of sides including some pretty darn good kimchi. Fresh hot rice came along too and, at $10.00 for a lunch-sized portion--complete with sides--it's a pretty darn good deal. Given that this place is both quick and near the interstate, it can make a good lunch-time stop. Sure, there's better Korean food around but, for this kind of place, it's good. Recommended.

9/7/2016

Short ribs are tasty and cooked perfect. Lots of menu items to choose from and pleasant staff. I'd recommend trying it!

Short Ribs and a refreshing Korean beer =) Short Ribs and a refreshing Korean beer =) 11/30/2015

We were craving Korean food but wanted a change from the AYCE KBBQ places.  Hot Stone Korean Kitchen had a 4 star rating, so we decided to check it out. Our group of 6 was seated in another dining area which was not visible from the front, but was spacious, clean and eye catching.  There was mahogany bench seating around the entire room with two TVs.  They do not have any kid friendly items such as coloring books or the sort, but they did offer children's chopsticks.  I was initially skeptical of the service because we were not seated in the prime dining area, but our servers made sure we were taken care of.  They were pleasant, quick and attentive.  The waterbottle pitcher and banchan dishes were always replenished.      I almost forgot how much I love authentic Korean food and Hot Stone Korean Kitchen did not disappoint.  The dishes were so good.  We ordered potstickers for the kids, Dolsot Bibimbap, Fried chicken and Seafood Pancakes.  The potstickers were crunchy and flavorful, while the dolsot bibimbap was standard.  I loved the fried chicken!  The huge drumsticks and thighs were savory, crunchy and salty.  Yum!  I had several slices of the seafood pancake which tasted similar to calamari.  The prices are a bit high, but you are paying for good quality food.  There are not too many Korean restaurants in Fairfield, but this place definitely stands out.  I would come here just for the chicken wings!

Seafood pancake Seafood pancake Dining area in the back Dining area in the back See all photos from Connie C. for Hot Stone Korean Kitchen 12/2/2015

Came  here with friends because we were craving Korean food on a cold day. We got there around 5:30ish on a weekday and were immediately seated since there wasn't a crowd just yet. The server was very nice and brought us our banchans almost immediately. I was so surprised at how many side dishes there were! There were also some unique side dishes that I have not tried at other places that made this place stand out: spinach with tofu bits (very delicious), their potatoes were DELICIOUS! The server also was very generous with the portions when we asked her to refill the banchans, so nice!As for the entrees, they did not disappoint either. Most of us ordered the stew which came with a side or rice (mixed rice or white rice) and the portion was good enough for two meals. The stew was served nice and hot at the table, and the flavors were very good. I ordered the miso stew with beef and vegetables. The miso was not overpowering and it was balanced well with the jalapenos to give it a slight kick. For someone who does not eat much, the soup was able to last me for another meal at home. Definitely worth coming here. Service was great and the food is delicious! They also have a small parking lot at the back of the restaurant for parking.

love love love! and look at all those ban chans!! love love love! and look at all those ban chans!! 9/13/2016

Came here with a friend months and months ago but never got to write review. Cute place, good food. Just a bit pricey though! Nice place to come if you're looking to do something a little different in Fairfield.

Kimchi soup, bulgogi, and an array of sides Kimchi soup, bulgogi, and an array of sides 9/2/2016

One of the best go to place in town. Bibimbap is a real deal here. Authentic Korean chef is a bonus.

Hot Stone!! Boom! Hot Stone!! Boom! 8/5/2016

The staff are very sweet and friendly. My boyfriend and I ordered the Ramyun Ramen with Dumplings (mild spicy), Pork Bibimbob Hot Stone, shrimp tempura appetizer, and the Mushroom Soondobu. Everything tastes great! The portion sizes for the hot stone rice and ramen were on the larger side. Definitely thinking about coming back here!

Shrimp Tempura Appetizer Shrimp Tempura Appetizer Mild Spicy Ramyun Ramen with Dumplings Mild Spicy Ramyun Ramen with Dumplings Pork Bibimbob Hot Stone Mild Spicy Pork Bibimbob Hot Stone Mild Spicy See all photos from Shirley N. for Hot Stone Korean Kitchen 9/29/2015

I've been seeing Hot Stone Korean Kitchen pop up every now and then on the yelp* feed and I finally made my way down here... 'And unfortunately it was a bust. However, before I continue, the hostess/waitress did a decent job, she was attentive, helpful, and friendly... Well, at least until she brought out the banchan(side dishes), but more on that later. Store front - yelp.com/biz_photos/hot-…'Being my first visit here, I ordered Hot Stone's seafood pancake along with the kimchi fried rice. You can tell a lot about a Korean restaurant from the traditional seafood pancake, it's kind've like ordering chicken tikka masala @ an Indian restaurant, the basics. Also, I'm always on the lookout for a great plate of kimchi fried rice. It's not a standard menu item that I find regularly but when I do, nine times out of ten, you can bet I'll be ordering it. Banchan (Side dishes): I always look forward to trying the banchan @ Korean restaurants because the variety/selection vary from place to place. So, when the side dishes finally made it to the table, just say it was rather disappointing. This was my first, "WTF?" lunch moment @ Hot Stone. Photo - yelp.com/biz_photos/hot-…'And you call these three dishes, banchan?... "What. The. F*K?!" The other tables were getting between 9 - 12 side dishes and I get three? What gives Hot Stone? So, that's how the Hot Stone rolls?... (Sigh) Weak. I intentionally didn't mention anything to the waitress. I was curious and wanted to see if more side dishes would eventually make their way to my table. FAIL. The inconsistency of table service, thoroughly noted... 'And equally, thoroughly failed. Bad form. Solid, consistent food/service is key to any establishment and from my experience here, it was not.Note: If you browse through the banchan yelp* photos the sides number form 9 - 12 plates, you'll better understand my disappointment. (Hey, I know my fat @ss could stand to lose a few pounds BUT let me decide on what I cut out of my diet.) Seafood & scallion pancake - A10 ($12.99): "M'eh..."; It was more veggie pancake than actual seafood; good portions but I didn't see much seafood in the pancake. (Insert sound of deflating ballon here) "WTF?! - Numero dos!" $13 for a veggie omelette with bits & pieces of seafood, waste money. Photo - yelp.com/biz_photos/hot-…Kimchi fried rice - F2 ($8.99): "M'eh..."; very mild & not spicy @ all; good portions;  WAY TOO MUCH BUTTER; (Did Paula Deen help prepare this?)Photo - yelp.com/biz_photos/hot-…Root beer soda ($2.49) Total: $26.59 (+tip)Complimentary water - One word, "Gross!" WTF?!; nasty @ss sh*t!Photo - yelp.com/biz_photos/hot-…"WTF?! - Numbre trois!"Three WTF's?!... 'And I'm out! As I was finishing up, two ladies sat down @ a table just adjacent to me. The one seated closest to me inquired about the seafood pancake, which for the most part sat mostly untouched. ('But the sauce was tasty!) As the the both of them waited for their order, I had the waitress deliver a couple pieces of the seafood pancake along with a fresh bowl of sauce for them to try. After all, I wasn't going to be finishing it... I told them that the seafood pancake was a bit thin on the actual seafood part of the pancake. ('But the sauce was good!)Photo - yelp.com/biz_photos/hot-…I doubt that I'll be making a return trip here anytime soon... 'For the money, I expected more than just "M'eh," with an extra bonus of nasty @ss water. (I wonder if I had to pay extra for that?) I really wanted to like Hot Stone Korean Kitchen but sadly, it was not meant to be.'From this overpriced, mediocre experience, Hot Stone Korean Kitchen is very passable.BYOBw - "Bring your own bottled water"- Big Aloha!Overall rating: 2 StarsFood: 2Ambiance: 3Service: 3Value: 2

Kimchi Fried Rice Kimchi Fried Rice If you're going to cook w/butter, it should compliment the dish not overpower it. "Yuckas!" (Did Paula Deen help prepare this?) If you're going to cook w/butter, it should compliment the dish not overpower it. "Yuckas!" (Did Paula Deen help prepare this?) See all photos from Darrell P. for Hot Stone Korean Kitchen 8/9/2015

This is my 4th trip to this place. I normally would've done my review on this place after my first visit, but being the fact that this is a new place I decided to do quite a few test runs to see if the service or food loses it umph later down to road. And I gotta say that everything has been consistent. From the excellent service to the delicious food.  This is the first Korean BBQ in the area that tastes divine! Normally my husband and I travel to San Francisco or to Sacramento to get our Korean fix but thankfully instead of a hour drive to get some good food, it's only a 10 min drive!  This place is truly a diamond in the rough. You wouldn't have guessed such a great restaurant is in such a shitty location in Fairfield (one could hope they are cleaning up the area)

What's served before you get your meal What's served before you get your meal BBQ chicken, Calamari, and shrimp tempura BBQ chicken, Calamari, and shrimp tempura 7/20/2015

N Texas is a crummy-looking street with little wonderment but Hot Stone is a glittering jewel. I knew this location when it used to be home to Sandy's 101 but I could detect no remnants of that dumpy diner. Kudos to the owners for the slick, modern remodel. But what's a nice dining room if the kitchen is no good? Fortunately, Hot Stone's kitchen succeeds on multiple levels. Korean food is startlingly balanced (the pre main course "banchan" being an excellent showcase of flavor levels), and the mark of a good Korean restaurant is one that is cognizant of this balance. Hot Stone does not falter in enrapturing the palate with a nuanced, yet loud assault of flavors. The tempura calamari, for example, is one of the best --- the panko breading arrives at your mouth with an airy crunch; a sure sign of an expert kitchen.  And who can forget the most notable of Korean dishes, bibimbap? Westerners are most familiar with bibimbap but few know its true flavor complexity. Pleasantly, Hot Stone did not disappoint as the dish --- translated to mean "mixed rice" ---possesses a true mix of flavors.The facade might scream "the sticks" but leave your presumptions at the door, for Hot Stone rivals any eatery deemed more "authentic" on the other side of the Bridge.***I've been here about 5-6 times since their grand opening and have not been disappointed.

banchan banchan bibimbap bibimbap 6/25/2016

I came here with some friends on the way to go camping in Cache Canyon, and I ordered the beef and seafood combo spicy tofu soup. It wasn't very spicy. They give a pretty good amount of banchan (side dishes), but the quality of each was just so-so; they didn't take particularly fresh or tasty. My tofu soup was okay in flavor, but a bit lacking in the tofu and ingredients. There were just a bunch of clams and some scattered pieces of beef and squid, not much else. I tried my friend's spicy pork and that was actually really delicious - the meat was marinated and flavored very well. The quality for the price wasn't worth it; at $11.99 pre-tax pre-tip, I would expect the food to be a lot better!

Tags:
Related Articles
Joe’s Buffet   - Buffets - 834 Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Joe’s Buffet - Buffets - 834 Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/11/2016This place is no joke! Just like many others, things haven't changed her but the fact that they have grown larger and bought the next door space.     Was awesome back when I was a kid we used to park in the rear and walk thru their kitchen t

Baldo’s Original Mexican Food   - Mexican - 1730 W Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Baldo’s Original Mexican Food - Mexican - 1730 W Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

4/8/2016I love this place,got a wet langua burrito for the first time today,the wet sauce,part that is,& sauce was bitter& Shitty tasting,first nasty experience here!7/8/2016This was horrible! The place is dirty, and the food is nasty. The meat wa

Adalberto’s Mexican Food   - Mexican - 2370 N Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Adalberto’s Mexican Food - Mexican - 2370 N Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews

9/27/2016Waaaay better than Baldos!!! I've been eating here forever! And any day of the week choose this over the imposter Baldos!!6/29/2016A good go-to spot when you're in the area and need a quick on-the-go meal. Food is pretty good, but service is

Mediterranean Food Center   - Mediterranean - 823 Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Mediterranean Food Center - Mediterranean - 823 Texas St, Fairfield, CA - Restaurant Reviews

9/27/2016For a County seat and a city that houses more than 100 K residents, Fairfiled has very underwhelming dining options. Actually most of the people I know from the Flats go over the hill to eat in Vacaville. This is especially true for downtown

Hahn’s Hibachi Korean BBQ   - Korean - 1710 Polk St, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Hahn’s Hibachi Korean BBQ - Korean - 1710 Polk St, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

7/2/2016Polk Street is FILLED with such a selection of places that you sometimes end up walking right past these little gems, Hahns Hibachi is a total gem!My coworkers and I started off with the lettuce wraps. Super yummy, but small portion so if you

You Might Also Like

L’emigrante Wine Bar  - Wine Bars - 2199 Mission St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/17/2016The atmosphere is great, this is a p ...
Extra Space Storage - Self Storage - 4210 Forest Park Ave, Central West End, Saint Louis, MO
4/5/2010 Updated reviewAnyone that has been p ...
Lincoln Park Pool - Swimming Pools - High & Santa Clara A, Alameda, CA
6/13/2015Great little cute lovely pool :) wit ...
Taylor Mountain Regional Park   - Hiking - Santa Rosa, CA
7/26/2016First time visitor to the Disc Golf ...
Finn H Tonsberg,DDS - 25 Reviews - General Dentistry - 1907 Santa Clara Ave, Alameda, CA
4/4/2016Great dentist, awesome staff...glad w ...
Brian F Kram -  Attorney at Law - General Litigation - 950 Northgate Dr, San Rafael, CA
6/6/2016Brian was very helpful during our sit ...

Tags