Jin Mi Korean Cuisine - Korean - 366 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Jin Mi Korean Cuisine   - Korean - 366 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
8/14/2016

The boyfriend texts me with, "What's your favorite Korean food? I'm getting you some!" Bless him. He was at Jin Mi with his team, and he was thoroughly enjoying his meal.Since getting my phone stolen from me in the Tenderloin, there is pretty much nothing that will get me over that fear. Jin Mi might be close, because the kimchee fried rice was DAMN good. It was just perfectly seasoned, and so, so tasty. And this is after I reheated it in the pan. The fresh stuff must have been superb. He even had some leftover banchan! It was quite good, too. I still prefer another restaurant's, but the fact that you can get it with your takeout is a pretty sweet deal. I can only imagine what the rest of their meal tasted like. I'm incredibly jealous of all the people who went there who were not me.I am told that they serve sikhye here (the delicious sweet rice drink). I am even more jealous now that I wasn't there.I might have to make the trek here, even though it's in a hella sketchy part of town. I'll probably only go with a large group of friends. But the kimchee fried rice was so heavenly that it is probably worth it.

9/2/2016

The food service was decent. I arrived to this place about half an hour before it's closing time. The employees didn't rush us for our order, and didn't rush us to finish our meal either. The wait for the food was about ten minutes. The helpings of side dishes are smaller than other Korean places nearby. Besides that, the only thing that holds me back from returning to this place is its location in the Tenderloin.

sizzling pot sizzling pot 8/17/2016

I hate this place..Horrible location.. beware TL zombies looming around outside.Interior is gross & lighting is disgusting... omg i wanna puke. *|8^{My appetite was run off by the ambience of this twilight zone.Service was slow & many other customers were waiting forever for anything.Come here if u want to lose weight by starvation.They messed up our bill, overcharged we believe but then brought back same check with their mistake cut off... so weird.Communication was tough & were not that nice so it was very confusing.I was fooled by 4 star yelp review.. why the flippity fuck is this shit hole so highly rated??I really dont get it.. perhaps fake / paid reviews.. but dont be fooled.Come on people dont b scared to write a truthful bad review.I waited a month to see if I should still write something negative.But then i realized its more about warning others of this bad bad scary place.Dont add this experience to your life like i did.. im trying to save u!There are much much better Korean spots in SF.Go to them..[ example: cocobang / ssisso ]*|8^D

8/23/2016 Updated review

So I was very weary about going to this place, but it was clean and good.  Nothing to write home about, but the Kimchi/gimchi was good. Perfect seasoning and balance with vegetables      Reasonably priced. The bimbimbop Was also very quick, good and 9.99

The bimbimbop Was very large quick, good and 9.99 The bimbimbop Was very large quick, good and 9.99 9/16/2015 Previous review So I was very weary about going to this place, but it was clean and good.  Nothing to write home… So I was very weary about going to this place, but it was clean and good.  Nothing to write home about, but the Kimchi/gimchi was good. Perfect seasoning and balance with vegetables      Reasonably priced. Read more Kimchi/gimchi was good. Perfect seasoning and balance with vegetables Kimchi/gimchi was good. Perfect seasoning and balance with vegetables 6/16/2016

This place was OK. We ordered the beef soft tofu soup and royal duk bokki (rice cake dish). The tofu soup wasn't spicy at all, pretty small in size and didn't come out hot enough for our egg to cook. The Royal duk bokki was a bit bland and watery. Side dishes weren't that great and kimchi was also too ripe.

Beef soon dubu Beef soon dubu Banchan & ddukbokki Banchan & ddukbokki 9/12/2016

We discovered this restaurant recently and love it. Not too crowded, so don't have to wait. But the foods are really nice. Tofu soup is my favorite.

Tofu soup is my favorite. Tofu soup is my favorite. Seafood pancake Seafood pancake 8/11/2016

Excellent service and lots of lunch specials! Decided to venture out and check out this Korean restaurant in TL while on break for jury duty. The restaurant is 2-3 blocks from the court house. When I arrived I didn't know what to expect, I was coming for takeout. The lady quickly handed me a menu and then another staff member told me I could sit at one of the tables to wait and let them know whenever I was ready. There was a range of lunch specials on the menu and other Korean dishes. There was a choice of BBQ pork, beef, or chicken. Purple rice and jap chae noodles. I got the BBQ beef, purple rice, and jap chae noodles. It took maybe 20 mins for me to get my food. It came with ban chan (kimchi, fish cake, bean sprouts, broccoli) and salad as well. The lunch specials are all under $15 The meats were cooked and marinated very well. The jap chae was plain, they could have added some veggies to it at least. The ban chans were okay, there was nothing spectacular about that but that can be because I got takeout. Overall, this is a decent Korean restaurant in the TL area that is worth trying!

4/24/2016

Their lunch specials are worth checking out. Choice of BBQ meat, rice, japchae and a salad for less than $15. I was able to get a taste of all three from the lunch special - bulgogi, spicy pork and spicy chicken. All were flavorful and very tender! The salad had a honey-mustard tasting dressing which I loved. The rice may have been undercooked just a tad bit, and the japchae was really bland. Hopefully that was just our batch of japchae... If you want to get just a slight taste of their BBQ meats, consider their lunch specials. What I especially loved here was the Kalbi Tang (beef short rib soup)! The beef was incredibly tender and I found the soup to have a hearty yet subtle flavor. I would love to order this again or try their tofu soups!Service was wonderful... they're very welcoming here and the restaurant itself seems clean and inviting. Banchan selection was decent, although flavors were a bit bland. Overall, decent Korean restaurant in the TL that's worth trying out!

Kalbi tang Kalbi tang Bulgogi lunch special Bulgogi lunch special 8/7/2016

Excellent service from all staff members!My +1 and I came in for lunch on a Sunday- both of us borderline hangry. The restaurant has a very casual and relaxed feel, with some KOIT radio and Korean channel playing. Crowds of all types came in: families, friends, those eating on their own. Food: 4.5/5We ordered:-Meat Lovers Stew (aka Army Stew aka )-Sizzling Stone-pot Mixed Rice ( )-Cinammon Punch -Sweet Rice Drink-The Meat Lovers Stew's taste was just right and hit all the right spots to warm my insides. Only thing that made me rate the food 1/2 a star lower was the size and presentation. I am used to having the Stew as a large portioned item (for 2 or more people) and served in a large shallow pot. However, it was served in a stone pot (the same size as the ones used to serve soft tofu stew), enough for one person. Not their fault at all- my black hole of a stomach just wasn't fully satisfied.-The Mixed Rice was very delicious and reminded me of ones that I had back in Korea. *Note to those who order this: When mixing the rice remember to flatten the mix along the stone bowl while it's still sizzling hot- that way you get to scrap off and eat the delicious crunchy rice at the end! -The Cinnamon Punch was very interesting- the taste reminded me of the Big Red gum (don't know if they still sell that..) but not as intense. It's a nice drink to refresh your palate for that first-bite taste of your food.- The Sweet Rice Drink was very refreshing, the best for a hot summer day! For those who've never tried it, it's a semi-sweet (similar to sugarcane juice) & clear rice drink with rice grains at the bottom. For those who've had it before, it's your typical canned Sweet Rice Drink but not as sweet. Like the Cinammon Punch it's a nice palate cleanser for your food.Staff & Service: 6/5Very quick and prompt service from the staff members- very attentive :) They would swing by every so often and pick up dishes, chopstick wrappers, etc to keep our tables clean and clear. They definitely went above and beyond!Overall: taste and staff were great! They have a lot of options that some Korean restaurants do not serve, so I'll definitely be coming back!

This Dolsot Bibimbap really hit the spot! This Dolsot Bibimbap really hit the spot! 7/5/2016

While not necessarily the "best" or most "unique" Korean good place (but seriously there's few such places in the entire SF) I have come to love this joint after coming here 5+ times. It's in a location you would not expect decent Korean food, and for that I must give that extra star which makes it from 4 to 5. Thank you for being where you are, providing reasonably priced and delicious dol sot bimbibap for all the lunches I have come. For $10, you have consistently provided quality bimbibap. Not once have they tasted worse that day. And consistency must be properly rewarded. And despite the waves of lunch crowd you have always been fast and courteous. For those to live or work nearby, I definitely recommend coming here for some delicious affordable Korean food. You won't be disappointed!

4/5/2016

Jin Mi is a pretty decent Korean spot in the TL. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they had kimchi jeyuk bokkeum on the menu - I haven't had luck finding it at any other Korean restaurant in SF!We ordered the kimchi tofu soup and the kimchi jeyuk bokkeum (spicy stir-fried pork). The pork tender but not super spicy, which I am A-OK with. I have a low tolerance for spicy food so I was able to enjoy the flavors of the dish.A huge line formed midway through our meal, so be prepared to get there early or to wait for a table.

Kimchi JeYuk Bokkeum Kimchi JeYuk Bokkeum Kimchi tofu soup Kimchi tofu soup Banchan and purple rice Banchan and purple rice 12/11/2015

Mediocre.Banchan taste - 0/5Banchan variety - 0/5Kimchi taste - -5/5Seafood soondubu jiggae taste - 2/5Quality of ingredients - 0/5 Cleanliness - 2/5Service - 2/5Friendliness - 4/5I am super disappointed in the food. Count me out forever.

4/26/2016

Walked in during lunch hours and saw a Korean couple in wedding attire.  They probably just finished filming a scene for their upcoming Korean drama. Synopsis: Girl moves here from Korea to pursue a career in the tech field.  She starts dating but guys can't commit to her because they're unsure if she had surgery to "enhance" her beauty.  She connects with a guy, they date for a while, and he impregnates her.  Her mom visits, meets the guy and does everything in her power to push for abortion and break them up.  Plot Twist: They are siblings.  Ok, the couple probably just came from City Hall but that story line sounds way more interesting.Kimchi Fried Rice - standard kimchi fried rice, very fillingBulgogi with japchae combo- bulgogi was delicious.  the combo comes with rice, salad, and japchae.  All the extras weren't necessary so we'll probably get just the bulgogi next time.

8/14/2016

Kimchi jiggae yaaaaaaas! Friendly people and delicious food.

7/22/2016

I love the Korean food here. I'm Korean American, and this has been the best Korean restaurant I've been to in San Francisco. It tastes like genuine home food that my mom would make for me growing up. I had the dwenjang jjigae, which is fermented soy bean stew. I'm not a fan of the location/neighborhood; I don't think I would come here for a late dinner. But I'll definitely be coming back!

11/5/2015

Yay! Happy to find a decent Korean restaurant in the TL.Ordered the seafood tofu soup , Gal-bi, and seafood pancake and they were all great.I was skeptical of ordering their seafood pancake because some Korean places have very flour-y pancakes.. but their seafood pancake wasn't! It was actually my favorite out of the three dishes ordered :) There was quite a lot of seafood and the vinegar dipping sauce definitely made it more amazing. The Gal-bi was very tasty! perfect flavor and chewiness but a little sweet.I thought the seafood tofu soup was good too; however, it wasn't anything to rave about. The ban-chans are great! They don't offer very many of them but they were all tasty. I especially liked how they added sesame oil to the broccoli ban-chan :)Prices are decent and I was pretty satisfied with my experience here.  Definitely will be back :)

Short ribs. Yum.. Short ribs. Yum.. Seafood pancake! Doesn't look like it, but there were lots of seafood and it wasn't flour-y. :) Seafood pancake! Doesn't look like it, but there were lots of seafood and it wasn't flour-y. :) Seafood tofu soup :) Seafood tofu soup :) 8/11/2016

I found this restaurant on yelp and wanted to give it a try for lunch. Got here around 12:30pm and no wait which was good since I was on my lunch break. Ordered and the food came out fast. I ordered the combo #1 which is the bulgogi and japchae dish. It came with salad too and banchan! The meal tasted okay, the only thing I didn't like was the japchae. It tasted weird to me like it had a sour taste. The price was decent and portion size was filling.Would I come again? Maybe give it another try.

Combo #1 Combo #1 3/21/2016

This is on of the few Korean restaurants that I've gotten multiple recommendations from friends to try. When I moved here from Los Angeles, I learned that San Francisco is generally not known for fantastic Korean food, so the thought of finally getting some Banchan (little side dishes) and chicken bulgogi excited me. The interior of the restaurant brought me fond memories of being at Korean friends' households while growing up in Los Angeles. The walls had Asian inspired art and furniture that I liked. I ordered chicken bulgogi, which was unexpectedly different than the sweet juicy bulgogi I had in Southern California. Instead, it was slightly dry and more spicy, yet still enjoyable. I did really enjoy the fish cake, bean sprout, broccoli, and kimchi banchan, and the server even brought out more fish cake, kimchi, and other dishes for us for free because he saw how we wiped out the banchan! I would recommend this place to other friends because it's convenient located close to Market St, has a homey ambience, and has great service!

Chicken Bulgogi Chicken Bulgogi Kimchi Fried Rice with Banchan Kimchi Fried Rice with Banchan 9/3/2015

One of the few Korean restaurants in this area. (Most of them are in the Richmond or Sunset area) This is your typical small biz Korean hole-in-the-wall. I got the seafood tofu soup, and it was solid. The neighboring tables' bimbimbap smelled really good too. As with most places, they serve complimentary ban chan- though they only serve about 5 different varieties. They offer the usual Korean dishes. Friendly service and hard working staff. Decent prices. Come here if you're already in the area and need a convenient Korean food fix.

Seafood tofu soup ($11.99) with complimentary ban chan Seafood tofu soup ($11.99) with complimentary ban chan 11/15/2015

I really hope our experience was a one-off, because it was one of the worst dining experiences I've had in a while. First off, service was pretty slow (we were only a group of 5 but it took about 35-40 minutes for our food to come out) while the other folks in the restaurant had their food in 15 minutes or less. We also had to constantly call for the server when we needed something.Their banchan was good (well made kimchi and fish cakes) but their main dishes were EXTREMELY underwhelming. I ordered the combination tofu soup. The broth was clearly made from tap water (I could smell the minerals emanating from the broth). Presentation was really good and it looked like it would be delicious...but there was absolutely no seasoning whatsoever, not even salt.My friend ordered the same soup but with beef and veggies. Due to my friends dietary restrictions, we asked if there was any zucchini in the dish and were told there wouldn't be any (my friend has a deathly allergy to the stuff). Low and behold, when the soup came out she found bits of zucchini in her dish.We brought to the server's attention the lack of flavor in our food and the zucchini we found in the soup. The server apologized on many occasions, offered to remake our dishes and gave us complimentary shikkae to make up for the mistakes. They were nice gestures, but it didn't really help with the bad taste we left with from the overall experience we had with this place.We definitely won't be back.

Combination tofu soup Combination tofu soup
Tags:
Related Articles
Elephant Sushi Golden Gate   - Sushi Bars - 380 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Elephant Sushi Golden Gate - Sushi Bars - 380 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

7/27/2016Had the most amazing Sashimi bowl ever! It was their spicy trio bowl and hands down was the best I've ever had. All fresh and great quality ingredients, their homemade ginger is a must try on the table.Best time to go is right at 11 to ensur

Taqueria El Castillito Star   - Mexican - 250 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Taqueria El Castillito Star - Mexican - 250 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

9/13/2016With limited options around the area and a craving for something heavy, I passed up my usual 3 spring rolls for Mexican food.  I was contemplating between the cheese quesadilla or the carnitas and cheese quesadilla and the meat and cheese wo

Fine  - Wine Bars - 555 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Fine - Wine Bars - 555 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

4/25/2016One of my favorite food trucks at Off the Grid at the Presidio. I got the crab roll ($16) which was on a toasted brioche with romaine lettuce and tomatoes. It was packed with fresh crab on top. Great option for a less heavy meal. I would rec

Golden Era Vegan Restaurant   - Vegan - 395 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Golden Era Vegan Restaurant - Vegan - 395 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

7/10/2016I am a stickler about my five stars. There has to be something special about the place, not just quality food. And there is here. First let me preface by saying I am pretty much a carnivore at heart, and I stumbled upon this restaurant both

Fuji Sushi   - Japanese - 380 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Fuji Sushi - Japanese - 380 Golden Gate Ave, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

12/3/2012This is about the 4th sushi establishment that has moved into this exact location over the past few years, and this one is by far best.I get takeout here at least 2 times a week for lunch. Yes, the street is a bit sketchy and the establishme

You Might Also Like

Associated Builders - Contractors - 4026 3rd St, Bayview-Hunters Point, San Francisco, CA
5/25/2011They did a great job.We secured 2 es ...
Replanet Recycling   - Recycling Center - 1420 Southgate Ave, Daly City, CA
5/23/2016Power to the people who recycle!! Wh ...
Bauer’s Intelligent Transportation   - Limos - Pier 50, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
5/15/2016Many of the one star reviews seem to ...
4505 Burgers  - Barbeque - 705 Divisadero St, NoPa, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/17/2016Best burger in SF. The beef brisket ...
Pacific Cookie Company   - Desserts - 2309 Telegraph Ave, Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA
9/4/2016Yum! My friends and I dropped in on S ...
Enjoy Napa Valley Kayak Rentals and Tours   - Rafting/Kayaking - Napa, CA
7/17/2016Our time with Justin on the river wa ...

Tags