Mamoun’s Falafel - Middle Eastern - 119 MacDougal St, Greenwich Village, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Mamoun’s Falafel   - Middle Eastern - 119 MacDougal St, Greenwich Village, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
10/22/2016

Love mamouns! U always get the chicken sandwich, and occasionally get the Shwarma plate.At 2:30am, they told me it was cash only which was annoying (I never have cash on me - it's 2016!) but otherwise a good experience.

10/4/2016

Two. Dine in lunch. Came here plenty of times. $2 a side.Best hot sauce ever. Falafel was actually appetizing after a burger meal for lunch. Line wasn't too long. Love the white sauce.Baklava was crusty and not too sweet like that of halal guys.

10/3/2016

Im not a big fan of falafels but this place had me tearing into one. Very fresh veggies, pita toasted so nicely, white sauce not too heavy but light and flavorful, and the hot sauce that will burn a hole in your tongue if you dont proceed with caution.You guys made me briefly feel that being a vegetarian is possible. Good job

Falafel and tabbouleh sandwhiches. Delicious Falafel and tabbouleh sandwhiches. Delicious 10/26/2016

The falalfel here is fresh hot and crispy. It is also reasonably priced at $2 for 3. There aren't really spots to sit but Washington square park is nearby. Dont forget to ask for extra tahini sauce.

8/15/2016

I am such a fan of falafel and have had Mamoun's Falafel bookmarked on my yelp page for over a year now, so while visiting the village I stopped in and finally had my first experience. I walked up to a crowded store front which to me is always a good sign of an excellent product. Mamoun's is cash only and there is an ATM machine rite outside the door. I ordered a falafel sandwich and requested no tahini, paid the man behind the counter and waited about 3 mins before it was ready. The pita was delicious and the falafel's were hot and crisp on the outside and green and flavorful on the inside. The addition of lettuce added a nice crunch and freshness to the sandwich. I devoured that sandwich in all of 3 mins and can't wait to come back and try some more of what Mamoun's has to offer..

7/25/2016

One of the oldest falafel places in the city (since 1974 I believe) By every definition this is a hole in the wall - decor/seating is pretty dismal, but when the food is this good, well who cares.  Just to takeout. I had the falafel and it was crispy and soft at the same time.  Perfectly cooked deliciousness that allowed the chickpea flavour and the spices to shine through.  Located not to far from Washington Square park this is a perfect place to hit up and then chill with your food at the park!

Falafel Falafel 9/29/2016

This place is overrated. The sauces are not good: the shawarma is not that good. The falafel is quite good. The pita is okay. I prefer many many other NYC foods and middle eastern places.

Shawarma falafel combo. Don't get the shawarma. Bad choice. Shawarma falafel combo. Don't get the shawarma. Bad choice. 9/18/2016

So far we've eaten here twice this weekend, and we could probably eat here 3-4 times a week and be extremely happy. It's too bad this place seems to be a go-to drunk food stop, because one should be sober to appreciate how delicious the food is. One of the best things you can do in New York is to get a falafel and swarma sandwich with hummus in them, huff over to Washington Square Park and enjoy your lunch. This is one of the little holes in the wall you hope to find that give a city character, not to mention a great value for a truly fantastic lunch. The falafel and swarma sandwiches are amazing, but if you want to take them over the top, add hummus to the sandwiches, you won't regret it. Will probably go back today, and most weekends, to have an excuse to sit in Washington Square Park on a nice day eating what is now one of our favorite lunches in the city.

7/29/2016

$7 schawarma & falafel sandwich = yumFlavorful, filling, wish there was a little more lettuce to make me feel a bit healthier, love the creamy sauce. Was a little thirsty after... overall, an affordable and satisfying lunch in the area. Side note, I can see how this would be good late night drunk food too

Sorry took a bite first. Couldn't wait. Lighting made the sauce look green... It's actually white haha Sorry took a bite first. Couldn't wait. Lighting made the sauce look green... It's actually white haha 10/27/2016

Great crunchy falafel and huge portions for the chicken schwarma plate. I rarely prefer baba ganoush over hummus, but their baba ganoush is soo delicious. Love coming here when I want some crunchy fresh veggies with flavorful falafel and/or meat.

6/30/2016

If you ever want Shawarma in NYC as bad as the Avengers did at the end of the first movie, Mamoun's is the place that will hit the spot.Very small hole in the wall. Really tight inside with limited seating. It gets really hot and stuffy in there. The food comes out pretty fast. Service was good.Shawarma Sandwich - $6.50 - It was full of spice and flavor and the meat was super tender. All the toppings and tahini mix perfectly with the shawarma. Only negative was that the hot sauce was not spicy enough.Falafel - $2 - So fluffy and you get that chickpea flavor. Fried perfectly. Very happy it was moist and not dry. Dipped in the tahini and hot sauce or by itself, it was really good.So good when you are hungry and a 100 times better for a drunk snack! One of the best cheap eats you can find in NY.

Outside Outside Shawarma Sandwich - $6.50 Shawarma Sandwich - $6.50 Falafel - $2 Falafel - $2 See all photos from Kevin W. for Mamoun's Falafel 7/1/2016

Tasty but pricy. I got the Falafel/shawarma combo plate and at $15, I was expecting something mind-blowing. It was alright. I definitely liked the shawarma more than the falafel. Even though it's rotisserie meat, it was still very moist while retaining a great texture. This was my first time trying falafel and all I can say is that I'm not a big fan of it. For those like me who have never tried it before, it sort of tastes like a bland and grainy meatball (no meat of course). It's also fried so unlike a meatball, it's also a little oily on the outside. The meat and falafels come over a bed of salad, which I found to be alright. White sauce on top was delicious!Would I come back? Maybe. But probably only for the shawarma sandwich. Even though it's called Mamoun's Falafel, I'll pass on the falafels next time. Extra points for the cashier who was super nice!

Falafel/shawarma combo plate Falafel/shawarma combo plate 6/17/2016

Mamoun's definitely has authentic, top notch falafel. If I had ordered just a side of falafel, odds are this would be a five star rating, but I have a quarrel with the falafel sandwich that I ordered. No Arabic pickles, no pickled turnips? Come on Mamoun's! These are essential to any Arabic sandwich! It really bothers me when authentic places don't have the traditional toppings for the sandwich. Instead Mamoun's offers tomatoes and lettuce in the sandwich, both of which I omitted. This left me with a plain sandwich, but at least they had a well made tahini sauce and some good pita bread.Next time I return to Mamoun's, I'll be sticking with the side of falafel as opposed to the sandwich, but there is no denying that I was still a fan. The falafel here is no joke.

Falafel sandwich, no tomatoes, no lettuce - I wish they had traditional toppings Falafel sandwich, no tomatoes, no lettuce - I wish they had traditional toppings 10/10/2016

Mamoun's Falafel is always full - no wonder, since their $3 falafel sandwich is awesome value-for-money. No frills, just a very good basic sandwich - you eat it in the nearby park and you can feel the happiness.

8/7/2016

mamoun's. whats all the hype about? lets see.The Glad: wow is this place cheap. under 4 bucks for a falafel sandwich. 2 bucks for 3 falafel balls (got way more than three when i ordered this, see pics). under 8 bucks for a shwarma sandwich. so yeah, im super about the prices. FOOD: don't read too much into this if you are a shwarma and falafel expert, cuz this was my first time trying both, but i thought they were both delicious. 1) salty, flavorful meat. 2)perfect amount of veggies and sauce to compliment. 3)  falafel balls: crispy exterior, warm creamy interior. awww yeah.The Sad: very small space, not a "sit-down" place. but thats not what theyre going for here. i know it, im okay with it.OVERALL: mamouns, ive visited you twice in my roughly 1.5 weeks in the neighborhood, and i will certainly be back. your palatable prices and even more palatable food are too much to pass up.

CLOSE UP: falafel ball CLOSE UP: falafel ball CROSS SECTION: Falafel ball CROSS SECTION: Falafel ball shwarma after a very tasty bite! lol shwarma after a very tasty bite! lol See all photos from Shane P. for Mamoun's Falafel 5/10/2016

Can you really go wrong for the best falafel sandwich for $3.50... I think not! I absolutely love this place! It's the falafel sandwiches that keeps me coming back for more but sometimes I'm in the mood for a chicken shawarma which never seems to disappoint either. This place is tiny but it's evident that it is run both effectively and efficiently by its staff. I always have to stop by when I'm nearby no matter how full I am.

Falafel sandwich Falafel sandwich 2am crowd! 2am crowd! 9/28/2016

Ran out of falafel + upped prices for the new corporate looking location.As a note this used to be my favorite hole-in-the-wall falafel joint in the city. No longer.

8/12/2016

My dad used to come here in his New York days 40Years ago. I've grown up listening to him talk about this place so naturally it was a must try for me.We went to the original one on MacDougal in Greenwich village. Tried the falafel. My dad always said it was the best he's ever had. So we gave it a shot.Dad was right. I'm semi bias because I grew up in a middle eastern household and know what tastes good and what doesn't. This was hands-down the best I've ever had. The falafel was so crispy on the outside but soft and chewy on the inside. That's sometimes hard to do because the falafel gets dense or oily sometimes when trying to make it crispy.This is a hole in the wall spot that's a definite must try. Can't wait to come back.

See all photos from Johana And Naz T. for Mamoun's Falafel 9/29/2016

Didn't really understand why it's so famous - guess cause it's cheap?

9/23/2016

For me this is one of those places that is always reliable for great tasting cheap filling food. It's a tiny place that's really dark. Counter service only. I always get a falafel sandwich. Sometimes I get it with the lamb shwarma or hummus or babaganoush. But always the falafel. They take this thin pita bread cut it in half and fill it with fresh veggies and the filling of your choice. Then you top it off with their famous hot sauce that they also sell bottled if you want to bring some home. Sometimes you have to fight for that sauce because there's only like 2 bottles floating around for all the customers. It's like a perfect late night or really any time of day bite. Quick and easy super satisfying and easy on the wallet. It's a real bang for the buck. The falafel is nice and crisp on the outside. Great flavor on the inside. The shwarma is juicy and seasoned well. I wish I lived closer because I'd probably it here a lot more often.

Street view across the street. Street view across the street. Decorative light inside. Still damn dark. Decorative light inside. Still damn dark. Falafel and shwarma sandwich. Falafel and shwarma sandwich.
Tags:
Related Articles
Minetta Tavern   - French - 113 Macdougal St, Greenwich Village, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Minetta Tavern - French - 113 Macdougal St, Greenwich Village, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

10/19/2016Decided to come here as a celebratory feast. Came on a Friday night, party of 2. I showed up a bit late, but there was a table for us when I did eventually show up. We ordered the bone marrow, the prawns, the black label burger, and the oys

The Halal Guys   - Middle Eastern - 307 East 14th St, Gramercy, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

The Halal Guys - Middle Eastern - 307 East 14th St, Gramercy, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

10/9/2016Halal Guys is famous for a reason.Obviously the prices are higher here given the storefront overhead, but it's still oh-so worth it! I am fortunate enough to live across the street from them (or maybe unfortunately...RIP waistline).A pro tip

Mona’s Cafe   - Middle Eastern - 3901 Banks St, Mid-City, New Orleans, LA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Mona’s Cafe - Middle Eastern - 3901 Banks St, Mid-City, New Orleans, LA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/10/2016I was a loyal patron of the Mona's in Lafayette before it closed & was sad to see it go.  I am so glad to be living in a city that has a Mona's again, but moreso, I'm excited that there are so many!  With that said, I'm reserving my 5-star r

Blue Ribbon Sushi   - Sushi Bars - 119 Sullivan St, South Village, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews

Blue Ribbon Sushi - Sushi Bars - 119 Sullivan St, South Village, New York, NY - Restaurant Reviews

10/4/2016In town visiting from California and was so happy to find this place!! Fresh fish and great customer service. We walked in and absolutely LOVED the ambiance. It felt like the perfect date night spot. The service really made the experience. E

Kan Zaman   - Middle Eastern - 1793 Haight St, The Haight, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Kan Zaman - Middle Eastern - 1793 Haight St, The Haight, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

1/17/2013Kan  Zaman has closed, and I'm very sad about it. And I'm sorry I didn't review it sooner; I took the place for granted.The food was good, hookahs were great, and the atmosphere was unique and comfortable. And their sweet Arabic coffee was f

You Might Also Like

Lers Ros Thai   - Thai - 730 Larkin St, Tenderloin, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/1/2016Love this place!My friend has been ra ...
Petit Crenn   - French - 609 Hayes St, Hayes Valley, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/19/2016Before coming over to San Francisco, ...
Gaspare’s Pizza House  - Italian - 5546 Geary Blvd, Outer Richmond, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
7/15/2016The pizza is great. Everything else ...
Thomas J Glascott - 11 Reviews - Accountants - 1550 The Alameda, Downtown, San Jose, CA
9/11/2013I highly recommend Tom. He has been ...
Fireside - Performing Arts - 3359 Cesar Chavez St, Bernal Heights, San Francisco, CA
8/23/2016This was a great event, can't wait t ...
Slow Burn Glass   - Arts & Entertainment - 2690 Union St, West Oakland, Oakland, CA
7/28/2016Did the beer glass making class last ...

Tags