Mikuni Japanese Restaurant - Japanese - 1530 J St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Mikuni Japanese Restaurant  - Japanese - 1530 J St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
10/16/2016

There's a reason why this place is so popular. The service and quality of food is on-point and the ambiance is what you would expect our of a chill and hip sushi bar. They don't take reservations unless it's a party of 8 or more just an FYI. My bf and I went on a rainy Saturday night around 7:30 and our wait time was supposed to be 15 minutes, but it actually only took 5 minutes. They have this nifty service where they get your name and phone number and text you! So if your wait is long, you can walk around town instead of waiting around the restaurant. Waitress was very attentive and kept checking on us which was really nice. We ordered the Annie, Masa 3 roll, and a regular spicy tuna roll along with the garlicky edamame and 2 miso soups for appetizers. Man the garlicky edamame were so good. A very interesting baseball game was on the TV's so I was eating those soy beans like popcorn. I really enjoy hot soup, but these miso soups were a little more on the warm/lukewarm side which was okay. While choosing rolls, I kind of realized that a lot of the rolls on the menu looked very similar. A lot of them contained the same ingredients with very slight differences so it was kind of difficult to pick out some rolls. My favorite was the Masa 3 roll. It has salmon, cream cheese, and my favorite was a very thin slice of lemon on the top that tied every flavor of that roll together.

10/13/2016

I was just about to add photos I took last night and realized I have never reviewed this location after coming here for years. Needless to say, this review is overdue! Midtown was the very first Mikunis location I had ever been to. The puff daddy was my first introduction to Mikunis and I've been hooked ever since. There have been many rolls and dishes I've had over the years that I've loved but some of my favorites are: Bob's roll, Michi roll, pepperfin, the bento boxes, and the freaky edamame are all delicious.  They have a gluten free menu which has a great selection. They are accomodating with food allergies. Last night we were there for happy hour which is a great time to come since their HH menu is fairly large. The Tokyo tea is pretty strong. The Tokyo sunset is so good! I'm getting that again for sure. The illegal asparagus is a dish I've never tried before but liked too. The zig zag sauce is mildly spicy and would be good on anything. The hubbs got the Japanese mafia which is also a must have. I know. So many things to try, but all worth it!I love this location for its consistent food and service.  Mikunis is a sushi must.

Tokyo tea and Tokyo sunset Tokyo tea and Tokyo sunset Japanese mafia Japanese mafia See all photos from Mel L. for Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar 9/25/2016

Nice deco, friendly staff. They have  two floors, even a semi-private room. Ordered several kinds of rolls. Would like to highlight BMW, Special Scallops and Special Ell. Sunday night around 8pm they started run out stuff and need to restock on Monday. So if you want something relatively more fresh. So come that day. Overall it's a great experience.

BMW, salmon and Trout sth. BMW, salmon and Trout sth. Trout sth which is plain... Trout sth which is plain... 10/5/2016

I noticed in 2012 I left a 3-star review, after a few years of assistance in reconsidering my review, I deleted it and decided to write a new one. Mikuni has become one of the go to sushi spots for me over the years. It might not be perfect every single visit, sometimes there is a crazy wait and incredibly busy weekends. Unless you don't mind waiting an hour and being crammed with your neighbors,  in which case a Friday or Saturday night around 9 o'clock is right up your alley. They have a great Happy Hour, the fish is always fresh and tasty, and they have a cool, fun atmosphere. A great place for singles in the evenings.

10/19/2016

Awesome sushi and very cool sushi chefs! Shout out to Ronny and Chris for serving me up with some bomb dishes. Definitely coming back to this place!

Special roll made by Chris! Spicy and creamy is just what I asked for and just what I got. :) Special roll made by Chris! Spicy and creamy is just what I asked for and just what I got. :) 9/8/2016

A friend recommended this place while we visited. Being Japanese and from Hawaii, my sushi standards are set higher than most... WOW! This was awesome.. love the ambiance, decorations, setting and waitstaff... maybe a bit noisy, bit thats mostly from conversation in the area... it was authentic with thier own flair... not enough to take away from the authentic sushi lovers.HUGE sushi bar... 2 bars must seat 30 easily.Great stuff we would go back again...

Marilyn Monroe and Zigzag Soft she'll crab.. the MM sneaks up on you with some spicy heat, but you'll go back for more Marilyn Monroe and Zigzag Soft she'll crab.. the MM sneaks up on you with some spicy heat, but you'll go back for more Albacore Pepperfin... soooooooo good, sesame sause with thinly sliced jalapeño... awesome! Albacore Pepperfin... soooooooo good, sesame sause with thinly sliced jalapeño... awesome! Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 10/3/2016 Thank you for posting the photos, Kevin! So happy you enjoyed it.Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge 7/14/2016

Definetely one of my favorite Mikuni locations! Even when it's busy, we usually have a short wait or can manage to get a bar seat.The happy hour is to die for! Too many specials to list them all. I will have to take a picture of the happy hour menu next time. I have also come before with a large group and they handled it very well.I highly recommend the Pepperfin, BBQ tuna, or calamari. I always end up getting at least one every time I come. Never had a sushi roll I didn't like either. Very fresh ingredients!LOVE their oyster shooters! Definitely have Jay make you one if he's working! He kills it!

Illegal asparagus Illegal asparagus BBQ tuna appetizer BBQ tuna appetizer Oyster shooter Oyster shooter 6/7/2016

Every time we're in Sac now, we have to eat at this place!  LOVE!Got referred here by my bf's coworker since he use to work here and I'm so glad we did. Absolutely delicious sushi and doesn't taste like regular sushi as they use difference sauces and batter if you get something fried.Located in downtown Sac, this spot doesn't look like your average sushi joint either.  Spacious, two floors, the ambiance and environment is classy and trendy at the same time.  Our first visit here, this group was loud bc they were doing the sake bombs, it totally didn't bother me bc the feel and energy of this place is great!  All positive vibes.Appetizer- chicken karaage and mixed tempura, can't go wrong. HOWEVER, the karaage is $8 but they give you so little. :(Sushi-James Dean Roll: has crab, scallop, eel, avocado, masago, onion, their specialty sauce, and panko shrimp.  So I've never had panko shrimp before but its basically fried shrimp like tempura BUT a different batter.  If you love tempura shrimp, you will love panko!  Different than what I've ever tasted!  Bob's Roll: basically the same but has cream cheese, no eel or scallop, but has salmon.  Again DELISH!They have a huge selection of sushi, its amazing!  You won't see  a lot of the rolls they have at other places, forsure!You can also do a dinner for 2 meal or a platter if you're with a group.  Both such a great deal!Dessert-Xango Cheescake - TO DIE! Literally!  You gotta save room for dessertt and try this!  Its like a cheesecake roll...flaky yummy breading on the outside and cheesecake in the inside drizzled with caramel and raspberry sauce, topped with a mint leaf. DROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLS FOR DAYSSSSSSSSSThis place is a little on the pricer side but worth everything!I'm sad I'm not from here bc it would definitely be my go-to.

Xango Cheesecake Xango Cheesecake See all photos from Precious Ethel P. for Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 6/8/2016 Thank you Precious Ethel P for the comprehensive review of our midtown Sacramento location. We… Thank you Precious Ethel P for the comprehensive review of our midtown Sacramento location. We really appreciate your time and attention to detail, as well as your love of the Xango Cheesecake dessert. Makes us happy you enjoyed your time with us at Mikuni!Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge Read more 10/13/2016

Very spacious place with three sushi bar set ups and an upstairs. I had the Salmon Lover, Spicy Johnny Roll, edamame and hot sake. It was very fresh and the chefs were friendly and on point. I was visiting for work but I will definitely be back!

7/29/2016

I love every Mikuni's location but this one may be my favorite because it's located in the heart of downtown and always has a fun and bustling ambience. The service is top notch and the food is delicious. The full bar makes it a great stop to get drinks and dinner before late night festivities. I also love that there's a late night happy hour on Saturdays beginning at 10 PM. Must haves are the Japanese mafia roll, Bon bons, pepperfin, and seared tuna. I always get the green salad too. There's also an upstairs private room if you want to have a large party.

Four twenty eight roll Four twenty eight roll Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 8/2/2016 Thank you Mymy for writing such a comprehensive review. We appreciate it very much and look forward… Thank you Mymy for writing such a comprehensive review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to seeing you back soon.Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge Read more 4/28/2016

Fantastic sushi chain. Owners very innovative with prices/food quality. Probably the best run multi location restaurant I have ever seen. Not the standard sushi chain, they spend a lot of time with their menus offering everything from 45$ specials for meal for 2 people which you can't finish to excellent nigiri sushi/rolls.Each location slightly different because of demographics. Ask the servers for their signature dishes. They cater to different tastes/demographics. Some like spicy, some like a particular ingredient say uni. etc....They excel at almost all aspects of their business ranging from catering, to a destination for special occasions like birthdays to travellers going to tahoe to the business lunch crowd and the family dinner to go audience. The breadth of services and quality is excellent. Nobody approaches this operational excellence. Very consistent in food quality. If you don't like something just ask for a credit/etc... very responsive.

Asparagus with garlic and aioli Little spicy not on the menu Asparagus with garlic and aioli Little spicy not on the menu Any rolls Any rolls Nigiri large portion of fish to rice Nigiri large portion of fish to rice See all photos from Doug C. for Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar 9/24/2016

Taro is awesome! They catered the Classical Masters event and the sushi was fresh and delicious, from sake nigiri to lobster hand rolls - and Taro is is a super friendly and hip dude!

Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 10/6/2016 Thank you Andrew! Happy you enjoyed yourself at Classical Masters. We enjoyed being part of such a… Thank you Andrew! Happy you enjoyed yourself at Classical Masters. We enjoyed being part of such a wonderful community fundraising event.Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge Read more 3/19/2016

I wanted to visit this restaurant for two reason.  The first reason is that the Sacramento Bee published an article that describe what a great job a Sacramento native, Alan Wong is doing in China.  With 12 restaurants in Shanghai and Beijing and another one opening up at the new Disney location in Shanghai Alan's business is striving in China!.Of course the other reason was that Mikuni is quite close to my hotel.. I went there around 10pm at night to avoid the wait.  I was initially seated at a table however I wanted a close up view so later moved over to the sushi bar.  I was served by Emily the sushi chef.  I just ordered what yelpers suggested the Albacore Perrin which was very innovative and tasty.  The BBQ Albacore was equally good.  Of course the Incredible Roll was quite good, just a little bit much for 1 person to eat IMHO. The zigzag soft shell hand roll is too much rice IMO.Overall I was very impress with the service and food quality last night and the restaurant which even at 11:15pm was still 90% full!Bravo, not just because the food was innovative and good.  It appears to be a well run restaurant!

Mikuni inspired biz. Mikuni inspired biz. See all photos from Jim J. for Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 4/1/2016 It was our pleasure to serve you Jim. Thank you for trying Mikuni while you were in town.Jeanne… It was our pleasure to serve you Jim. Thank you for trying Mikuni while you were in town.Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge Read more 3/14/2016

My friend and I were in town and we were craving some good sushi, turns out there aren't too many good sushi places in Sacramento, so we settled on trying Mikuni, The place is pretty big and gets overly crowded and loud. They have a full bar, which is nice. When it comes to the sushi.... was meh. We ordered 3 different rolls and they all tasted exactly the same. Same sauce, same type of fish, same flavor... I wasn't very impressed. I got a spicy tuna handroll, it wasn't spicy and it had a really strong fish taste, which was bothersome... We got some good service, which was nice. The place got so crowded we felt rushed from our waitress to make room for the next party. I guess it's more of a fast food sushi spot. You'll get your sushi fix, but you're not getting quality fish. Living in LA I think I'm just spoiled when it comes to sushi since we have so many awesome places around here. I would recommending getting their Annie Roll, which is spicy tuna, shrimp tempura roll and seared ahi tuna on top.PS there is parking across the street for $10 and valet right in front for $5... so just do the valet!

They all tasted the same... Recommend getting the Annie roll (1st one on the left) They all tasted the same... Recommend getting the Annie roll (1st one on the left) 7/26/2016

Not impressed. We got there around 2:30 on a Tuesday and sat at the bar. The bartender wasn't that enthusiastic and didn't seem to be able to multitask. The happy hour selection is quite extensive. We had two rolls that were good (not great). I've been eating at @sushiran lately and nothing compares to that experience. They have a decent selection of wine. Not sure about the selection of sake.

3/31/2016

Mikuni's is a popular chain in the Sacramento area! I frequent the Mikuni's in Elk Grove, but decided to check this place out. This place is definitely I would say more "upscale" in a way. The place itself is nice with lots of windows and lighting. The downside to this place is that I feel like the food doesn't execute as much as the other Mikuni's. While the food is similar, it doesn't feel like the chefs put as much effort into it.Tuna sliders 2: 4.5/5 - I really liked these except the crab salad can be overwhelming. Mochi ice cream: 1/5 - it's boxed Mochi I believe... don't get it.I got a couple of other things, but meh the rolls are always too sauced up.Service was slow. I'd prefer the Mikuni in EG.

Mochi Mochi tuna sliders PT 2 tuna sliders PT 2 See all photos from Jenny L. for Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar 10/7/2016 Updated review

I keep hear that Mikuni too expensive!  I impressed!  Child menu, Pediatric as I say!  Hotel knowing why I use that, with hotel I use word Pediatric menu, at restaurants no, but Sheraton know why I been using that word!Anyway, yes, good child bento box!  At $7.55 with tax, yes that ten dollar and some quarters was definitely enough!  Ten minus $7.55 is $2.45 in change!  I left dollar and that change of forty five cents on the table!Only seven minute, no more ten minute, walk to and from Sheraton on 1230 J!  Please come here!  Pediatric plate or dish at $7.55!  What good price, good servers, good customer service!

10/23/2015 Previous review They have good children bento boxes!  Price about $7.55 with tax!  Child box, comes or came with… They have good children bento boxes!  Price about $7.55 with tax!  Child box, comes or came with Chicken Tonkatsu, rice, salad, two slices oranges!  Even came with the Miso Soup!  When first get there, I see lots high seats, chairs, I ask the lady (Melissa, brownish black hair) if there any tables with low seats, tell her with injury cannot climb on the high ones!  She understanding, I willing wait ten minutes or so for that kind table be set up!  I ask the server of children plates, there are bento boxes!  Server named Jason, eye glasses, short black hair!  He try speak Japanese to me, "Sorry, Sir, I not speak it!  Not only that, I am Chinese/Cantonese," but hey, honest mistake!  I order that!  As say, chicken tonkatsu, rice, salad, two slices oranges, came with the Miso Soup!That hotel in Sacra you knowing where, you knowing when, you knowing who, is right!  They know I always be asking of Chinese/Japanese restaurants!  OCTOPUS (I USING Animal Order names) say, "Yes Miss C, ten dollar should be enough if you want child dish!"  LEMUR say, "Come back when you done," yes right, I hear that all time whether stay or no at time!  I bring back the menu, prove I came back!  At $7.55, was definitely enough! All places have a Pediatric menu, one would not think of P F Changs, any Starbucks, or Mikuni's!  Yet all three do have the Pediatric menu!  That hotel knows why I use word Pediatric, they understand why! Read more Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 10/18/2016 Thank you so much for calling attention to our affordable bento boxes for children. In addition, we… Thank you so much for calling attention to our affordable bento boxes for children. In addition, we offer the $45 menu for two people. Over 40 options to choose from and many of our most popular items. Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge Read more 9/28/2016

This is one of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time. The food is fresh, tastes amazing with anything they pair it with, and the servers are extremely friendly and helpful. Huge props for the person who picked up smaller high hairs as well. I have a 6month baby that was with us and the high chairs they have actually fit him. This blew my mind because I was able to eat dinner with my wife and not have to hold our little guy. You have no idea how great that was for us. Thank you and this is highly recommend.

The sushi bar The sushi bar Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 10/6/2016 Thank you Phillip for calling out a special feature in our family-friendly restaurants. Not many… Thank you Phillip for calling out a special feature in our family-friendly restaurants. Not many people realize they can bring their small children to our midtown location! Happy you enjoyed yourselves!Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge Read more 1/10/2016

I just love this location downtown. The atmosphere is fun, exciting and entertaining. This restaurant is open and spacious with unique fish art throughout the place. With an upstairs that can be used to a big party, it does not get much better. Let's talk sushi: The sushi is fresh and made to order. I love how flexible the staff is when producing such delicious plates. I can't wait to come back to try the T.J. Roll. The staff at Mikuni's are great people. With an upbeat attitude and pleasant service, I have to tip them a little extra for being absolutely amazing.Have you heard of the Mikuni Koki Club? I recently became a member and highly recommend that you do too. It's a frequent diner program which gives points for redeemable rewards. Check it out!

Chad Money Mendez Roll Chad Money Mendez Roll Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 1/14/2016 Thank you for the very comprehensive review, Kristina. Appreciate you letting people know about the… Thank you for the very comprehensive review, Kristina. Appreciate you letting people know about the Koki Club and calling out the staff. See you again soon!Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge Read more 9/27/2016

I love this place the fish is great and fresh, call for recervation it is packed after 5, the place is beautiful really modern and the prices are not bad at all for the quality.

Comment from Jeanne M. of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar Business Customer Service 10/6/2016 Thank you for your review, Sandra! Love the photo!Jeanne MabryMikuni Concierge
Tags:
Related Articles
Karma Brew   - Bars - 1530 16th St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Karma Brew - Bars - 1530 16th St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/19/2016The sangria...the sangria...lord have mercy, the sangria is the BEST everrr. They serve it with a fork or spoon...there is so much fruit. The spices...oh my.  This man knows his sangria. I'm in love. And for $5...it's a steal of a deal.Fun p

Kamon Sushi Restaurant   - Japanese - 2210 16th St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Kamon Sushi Restaurant - Japanese - 2210 16th St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

12/5/2013I'm gonna try to enjoy Kamon as much as I can because after this month, they will be closed for a min due to reconstruction or something. They have been sold and that's the reason for the closure. By the time the place opens back up, it migh

Akebono   - Japanese - 4960 Freeport Blvd, South Land Park, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Akebono - Japanese - 4960 Freeport Blvd, South Land Park, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/15/2016After discovering this place while grocery shopping in the nearby Otto store, this restaurant became my favorite japanese restaurant in Sacramento area aside from Sushi Q in Elk Grove Florin.  Their sashimis are fresh, service is quick, rest

Sushi Paradiso   - Sushi Bars - 826 J St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Sushi Paradiso - Sushi Bars - 826 J St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA - Restaurant Reviews

7/2/2015the resturaunt is very spacious & intimate. the staff are very friendly and the food is delicious! my visit was a few weeks ago so I don't remember what rolls I ordered but they were very delicious! I remember the bill being about $30 for my

Mochii Yogurt   - Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt - 1530 16th St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA

Mochii Yogurt - Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt - 1530 16th St, Downtown, Sacramento, CA

5/21/2013This was the kind of joint dreams are made of. I was so sad when I found out they were closed I almost threw a fit but instead drowned my tears in the second rate frozen yogurt I was forced to endure from another shop.Why Mochii, why did you

You Might Also Like

Alameda Golfworks - 16 Reviews - Golf Equipment - 1731 Clement Ave, Alameda, CA
7/9/2016Alameda GolfWorks is the last golf sh ...
Dane Moler - Primary Residential Mortgage, Inc. - Mortgage Brokers - 1100 Larkspur Landing Cir, Larkspur, CA
7/11/2016Dane was such a huge help throughout ...
Provident Credit Union   - Banks & Credit Unions - 701 Sacramento St., Chinatown, San Francisco, CA
5/26/2016I've been a member of Provident Cred ...
Fantastic Comics   - Bookstores - 2026 Shattuck Ave, Downtown Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
7/14/2016Today was my first time visiting, Fa ...
California Hang Gliding   - Hang Gliding - San Rafael, CA
5/23/2016We had an unbelievable experience wi ...
Edwin Performance   - Auto Repair - 25710 Industrial Blvd, Hayward, CA
7/6/2016Took my Integra here for tuning and E ...

Tags