Ozumo - Sushi Bars - 2251 Broadway, Uptown, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Ozumo   - Sushi Bars - 2251 Broadway, Uptown, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
8/21/2016

This place is so classy and laid back at the same time.  I've been here a few times now, and have yet to be disappointed.  The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars, is because I want to hang out here longer and see if it charms me even more. I've been here with friends for a quick drink,  lychee martinis are superb! And I've had a Pre-game dinner here with the hubby and we felt so spoiled with their appetizers and drinks and just the whole experience.  We will definitely go back to this restaurant.

Sake Wall Sake Wall Comment from Amanda P. of Ozumo Business Manager 9/6/2016 Hi Vana,Thank you for your great comments and feedback!  Im so happy to hear that you enjoyed your… Hi Vana,Thank you for your great comments and feedback!  Im so happy to hear that you enjoyed your cocktails, appetizers, and experiences here.  We hope that you and your husband will be back, and that we will get the opportunity to earn the 5th star!Thanks again,Amanda Read more 8/12/2016

I came to Came to Ozumo for lunch today and had the Mifune Bento and a Blueberry Lemonade spritzer. I didn't read reviews before dining but am surprised to see so many 5 star reviews. Food:The fish was fishy and not cut properly. I ended up leaving most of my fish behind which is a waste. The seaweed cucumber sunomono and kimchi that came with the bento were not properly seasoned. One tasted like it was pulled straight from the ocean and the other was not salted properly. The Blueberry Lemonade spritzer was excellent. Service:Service was good. Not bad, but not outstanding. Atmosphere: I ate in the lounge and the atmosphere has a nice vibe. Would be a great place to grab a drink after work. Overall, I don't see the hype. I would come back for happy hour drinks but would not likely dine here again.

Comment from Amanda P. of Ozumo Business Manager 9/6/2016 Hi Camille,Thank you so much for dining with us, and for sharing your experience.  I am really sorry… Hi Camille,Thank you so much for dining with us, and for sharing your experience.  I am really sorry to read that you didn't love the food, and it sounds like there were some problems with your dish, so i can understand why.  We have recently been completely revamping our techniques and our full lunch menu.  We just released a brand new lunch menu last week, and I truly hope that you will give it another shot!  Please feel free to ask for me if you decide to make a reservation, and I will make sure that you are wowed!Thank you again, and I hope we get the chance to see you again,Amanda Read more 8/8/2016

I love Ozumo! I had dinner here on Friday night before checking out First Friday. I made a rezzie on opentable a few hours before. I was running late per the usual! I was about 20 mins late, but was able to be seated right away although the restaurant was pretty crowded. The food is always yummy and the sushi is always fresh! My favorite dishes are the tuna tartare, nigiri, uni, and dragon roll. The drinks are always A+ as well. My server this time around was super friendly and attentive. I really really love this restaurant!

Dragon roll (shrimp tempura, eel, avocado, cucumber) and spicy salmon roll! Yum! Dragon roll (shrimp tempura, eel, avocado, cucumber) and spicy salmon roll! Yum! Comment from Amanda P. of Ozumo Business Manager 9/6/2016 HI Shar,Thank you so much for the great review!  Im so glad to hear that you had such a great time.… HI Shar,Thank you so much for the great review!  Im so glad to hear that you had such a great time. First Friday's are definitely fun around here :) Thanks again for posting your feedback, and I hope we see you again soon!Amanda Read more 7/16/2016

Corner of the busy Broadway street. It's best to carpool or uber. Came here couple of weeks ago, party of 4 loud girls. We sat in the upper side, overseeing the huge bar. It's nice, similar to the SF location but a little outdated. We started with oyster beer then cloudy sake which became shotssss =}Overload on sushi plates, tuna tartare, the udon was so good and ankimo but they were out of UNI(life is over...). Fondue was pretty tasty but server was just ok, not particularly friendly. Not bad but not sure if I would come back anytime soon.

See all photos from Vee V. for Ozumo Comment from Amanda P. of Ozumo Business Manager 7/19/2016 Hi Vee,Thank you very much for joining us at the Oakland location (and for the nice food pics!)  Im… Hi Vee,Thank you very much for joining us at the Oakland location (and for the nice food pics!)  Im glad to hear that you girls had fun, and enjoyed the sushi (sorry about the uni!!).  I am disappointed to read that the server was not great.  If by any chance you have more details to share, or know who your server was, I would love to hear more.  I do hope that we can chat further, and have the chance to have you back again.  If so, please email me directly at apinkham at ozumo dot com. Thanks again,Amanda Read more 9/14/2016

The atmosphere is the reason to come here. Service is fine too but the food is not as good as many other Japenese restUrants that cost 30-40% less. $95.00 for lunch for two when the food was nothing special...Really?I might go back for dinner, as I said, the room is gorgeous, but only when someone eles was paying.I would definitely go for drinks if the seating in the bar was comfortable.

5/5/2016

Just like the SF location - absolutely impeccable service. The food exceeded expectations and service was at its best. The vibe is great all around.. Much more of a chill vibe than SF due to the open-ness and spacious areas. Plenty of drinks/cocktails to choose from and I personally think all dishes are to die for.

Chicken.. Yummy!!!! Chicken.. Yummy!!!! Butterfish... If I could eat 10 servings of this, I would. AMAZING flavors Butterfish... If I could eat 10 servings of this, I would. AMAZING flavors Ribs on ribs on ribs... Fall off the bone quality (Googly eyes) Ribs on ribs on ribs... Fall off the bone quality (Googly eyes) See all photos from Kate N. for Ozumo 4/30/2016

The last time we were here we had a fantastic food and sake pairing. So we were expecting no less. The service was excellent  very attentive. We first had the tataki a spicy tuna With seaweed and ponzu sauce. It was 4 star. Nice portion size. Then my wife had the duck breast special with salad. It was served cold which was a surprise. 5 pieces without a sauce. Quite disappointing.I had the black cod. Server said it was a good portion size. It was 2 small pieces about 3 ounces for $28. How do you call this an entree? Then we ordered the salmon skin roll. The first had almost no skin and sent it back. They replaced it with slightly better but nothing like others we've had. My wife really liked the sake our server suggested. Worst thing was 20 minutes later I had terrible stomach cramps that lasted an hour.

Cold duck breast Cold duck breast The $28 black cod The $28 black cod Spicy tuna tataki Spicy tuna tataki 4/7/2016

I came here for dinner with my co workers. They have a bar, lounge, and dining room. We opted to sit in the dining room. It is a very clean and trendy restaurant. There was sumo wrestling also on all the televisions to watch, which was very interesting. We ordered their daily special - a ramen salad. Honestly, was very skeptical to try this, but it was surprisingly very delicious. The broth was their "salad dressing". My only complaint was it was a bit salty. Aside from that, we ordered some rolls for the table to share -  ozumo, makushita, and midori. All were very unique and the raw fish tasted fresh.This restaurant is more on the pricey end, but I would say you're paying for the ambiance, and this is probably the best sushi in downtown Oakland.

ozumo, makushita, midori, spider roll ozumo, makushita, midori, spider roll Ramen Salad. Ramen Salad. 1/24/2016

As long as you're willing to spend the dough, Ozumo is a fantastic place to throw down for a nice Japanese style dinner. Came here for Oakland Restaurant Week originally, but the menu temptations were too great for us not to order a few off-ORW menu rolls. This is my recap of the food and drinks....Giddy Geisha- Yea I'm a sucker for lychee... so sue me. This drank was pretty sweet, but so tasty!The Resolution- For you St. Georges Terrior Gin lovers, this is totally the earthy drink for you. Bucho roll- Shrimp tempura, crab, avocado, tobiko, and a yuzu aoili.... tempura wasn't really crunchy anymore, but still very tasty. Loved it.Ozumo roll- Eel, cucumber, crab, tuna, and avocado with a spicy aoili. Loved this one more! Bite of the cucumber and the fresh tuna... ahhhh so good!Makushita- Gratuitious slices of jalapeno, seared scallop, macadamia nuts. This was my favorite. The macanut was small enough so that you couldn't taste it as much as you could feel the texture with each bite... and OH GOD THE SCALLOP. Excuse my plebe self for never having had scallop so good before... How was I supposed to know it'd be so succulent and sweet?!.....*drools* ....Did I mention the jalapeno burn? Oh yea, it's there! (But in a really tasty kind of way! lol)Bincho tataki salad- I'll be honest and say I was kinda sad that there were only two slices of the seared albacore tuna, but damn were those slices good, lol. Greens were just dressed enough to keep it interesting.Kinoko soba noodles- Jeebus. I was already had at the soba noodle part, but wow....The egg was perfectly PERFECTLY poached, there were at least three different kinds of mushroom, and the broth was the lovely savory kind of salty (makes my soba + ponzu concoctions at home look sad, hahah). Also, the tenkasu was great! I had originally mistaken the tenkasu (joyous little puffy crispy fried bits of batter!) for a scoop of panko and was like "goddamn, how did our server make it out from the kitchen to table faster than the panko had time to mushify?!"....then I realized otherwise. Silly, me lol. But yes! It's a special kind of wonderful to be able to taste crispness admist a broth. =]Nigiri- Selection that night consisted of tuna, salmon, and yellowtail. All were wonderfully fresh and excellently cut so that I was able to split them with minimal chopstick force between my friend and I. Grilled salmon- Augh. So. Good! I was amused at having cooked salmon after it's nigiri form, but this was no less delicious in all its flaky goodness. Broccolini was also exceptionally tender. ^____^ House made truffles- Uber soft ganache packed with coconut flakes and strawberry goodness. What a way to end the night!All in all, a lovely place for a date or a treat-yo-self kinda dinner. Certainly there is plenty of space for larger groups and I'm sure at least some of the many rooms I saw could be reserved for banquet style gatherings. Lighting is dim (at least during dinner), but hey...it's all about setting that mood right? Lol. Service can be quite good as it was for us on a quiet Tuesday night, but it sounds like Ozumo can get pretty packed at times too. Shout out for our server, Alisha, for being an absolute sweetheart!

Complimentary house made coconut flaked macadamia nut strawberry truffles. Complimentary house made coconut flaked macadamia nut strawberry truffles. The Makushito. The Makushito. The grilled salmon. The grilled salmon. See all photos from Yen D. for Ozumo 1/24/2016

I had forgot about this place, but when I stepped into the restaurant for a Xmas eve snack, it had clicked in my head... 4 years ago I came here for a yelp event, a very successful night. I recalled the amazing food and celebrating the night with making your own shirts reppin' Oakland by a local t-shirt vender. Now that time has past and I was around the area, I found myself in this classy venue. Love the ambiance: great music in the back ground, white noise of people talking, but quiet enough to have a conversation without yelling. Date night approved! The venue is very spacious and I love that the bar is the center of attention. Drinks to try:Purple haze: delicious but deadlyNon-alcoholic mojito: taste just like the real deal, great for non drinkers like me!  Bathroom: they have Japanese playing in the background with translation so you can learn to speak! At first I thought it was a person talking next to me (creepy), but I stopped to listen for a little to find out what it was. The sink is cute, a square bowl with a metal bamboo like faucet. Park maguro - I was looking at the pictures to recall what I had a few years back and when I saw this dish, I had to have it! Dohyo - Spicy tuna tartare, avocado, cucumber, edamame, tobiko, ponzu, and wasabi oil- The flavors melt in your mouth, the tuna wasn't too spicy and the cucumber gave it a great crunchy texture- It came in a soup spoon, very elegant and well designed. -The down fall of being a spoonful is that you can't savor the flavors.I cant wait to come here again

5/15/2016

It's was mine and a good friend's birthday celebration last night. There were total of 7 of us. Being in the restaurant business,  I don't have a high standard when we have huge parties going to a restaurant. Then again, I friends who works at the restaurant and we'll they were above and beyond what I expect. Service was fantastic.. Chef Eddie even came out to serve us some Amuse Bouche and even came back after our dinner to check up on how was the dinner and our experience.  From the Manager on duty to the servers and hostess. It was an excellent experience.  And I haven't even started with the food. The food was amazing and everything I tasted that my friends and I ordered that night it was delicious.  Thank you OZUMO CREW .

My friends and I at Ozumo in Oakland My friends and I at Ozumo in Oakland 11/11/2015

A very cute and modern restaurant. I love the sophisticated interior and how open the space feels. The food, however, does not match up to the feel of the place. The food is surprisingly average. Ordered the mifune for lunch which comes with the california roll, spicy tuna, hamachi, and some sides including roasted eggplant and salmon collar. The fish was pretty disappointing and overpriced in my opinion. The upside, however, is that I have also attended some networking events here and I think this place is the perfect venue and the service was also on point.

Bento box Bento box 11/9/2015

When you walk into Ozumo, you will definitely be impressed. It's a pretty expansive restaurant! Food: Ordered the Beet Salad, Pork Ribs, Tuna Tartare, and the special ma po ramen. Everything was beautiful and delicious. I love the textural contrasts of the creamy (from avocado) and soft texture of the tartare with the crunchy chips that accompanied the tuna app. The ramen dish had very good flavor.Ambiance: Expansive and beautiful. It has such a hip vibe...you really would expect a lot more people to be hanging out there.Service: Attentive! We ordered ginger beers and I overheard our server tell the bartender..."this doesn't feel cold enough"...so it was exchanged for another one. I appreciated that. This place is great. I knick it one star because it is pretty pricey. You generally associate HH with being a great deal...so you drink more!  However, at Ozumo, HH isn't really a great deal. My beet salad...while delicious, beautiful and impressive...was $12. You're not going to go here to find items on the bar menu to be under $10. So, it was like going to dinner...4 items and two ginger beers cost about $80. My friend really liked the ambiance and we had a pleasant time!

Pork ribs Pork ribs Tuna tartar Tuna tartar Beet salad Beet salad 4/5/2016 Updated review

I'm still dropping in at my local watering hole, Ozumo. The food is fresh, the drinks are decent, and the attention by the staff to all is marvelous. A special kudos to front of the house managers, Megan and Mel, who give the high touch to service and hospitality.

Megan and Mel. The great staff! Megan and Mel. The great staff! Kushi-yaki. Pork Belly & Steak Kushi-yaki. Pork Belly & Steak Albacore and Tako. $1 off Nigiri Happy Hour. Albacore and Tako. $1 off Nigiri Happy Hour. 1/22/2016 Previous review Found my watering hole in my new work hood! Truly attentive service at the bar from Larissa and… Found my watering hole in my new work hood! Truly attentive service at the bar from Larissa and Andrew. Full menu of bar snacks that were mouth watering while I marinated my scotch. I enjoyed  albacore tuna nigeri,  a duo of kushi-yaki steak, shishito pepper and pork belly,with picy miso.It's pricey, however, well prepared and delicious. Jessica, the AGM, stopped by to say "hello," which makes me believe this will be a regular stop for me.BTW - There are two signs in front of the store posted by ACE Parking stating, "Restaurant Parking Available." This is a paid lot and Ozumo does not validate parking there. The restaurant told me that it's a concern for them and is addressing the issue with ACE. Read more My birthday shot! My birthday shot! My main man, Jorge! My main man, Jorge! Mini Udon Mini Udon See all photos from David N. for Ozumo 9/10/2016

Usually we have an amazing time here....they know us, well they know my husband and his co-worker. We used to come during the week which we caught on happy hour and before Erica got manager we were treated amazingly, but this time we went on a Saturday....our drinks were weak, the apps were sub-par, the service-staff were 'not-happy-to-work-tonight', and I for one got the ramen bowl...and it was served without the broth..and I asked for the broth...and asked for the broth.....and got hungry, and ate coldish ramen with no broth and a hard egg....yay.......I recommend you go on a week day...and ask for Erica!!!!!!

Comment from Amanda P. of Ozumo Business Manager 9/12/2016 Hi Lizzy,Im so sorry to hear that your experience has gone down hill :(  Many of the ramen specials… Hi Lizzy,Im so sorry to hear that your experience has gone down hill :(  Many of the ramen specials are ramen "salads" or ramen without a broth, however, if that was the case, that should have been explained to you.  I will definitely pass on the compliments to Erica, and I really hope that we will have the chance to have you back. Thank you,Amanda Read more 10/19/2015

Spectacular, contemporary venue for sushi that incorporates a lively circular bar right up front, a large dining area in the back, and a private area off to the side. Indeed, the best part about this place is the ambience, with the energy of the bar providing a nice background buzz, plus a view of the kitchen serving as additional conversation fodder for folks seated nearby at tables.Having said all this, the food is mostly an afterthought. I found the quality of the sushi to be pretty average, while the prices seemed rather steep given what I felt were skimpy cuts of fish. Service was cheerful and friendly, especially at the bar. Overall, a place worth considering if you're part of a large group sharing a large table, or if you manage to snag a place at the bustling bar.

Comment from Amanda P. of Ozumo Business Manager 10/27/2015 Hi Vincent,Thank you for joining us and for sharing your review.  Im happy to hear that you did… Hi Vincent,Thank you for joining us and for sharing your review.  Im happy to hear that you did enjoy the atmosphere and the space, but definitely sorry that you were not wowed by the food.  I do understand that there are lower priced sushi options, however, we do pride ourselves on carrying top quality ingredients, and having highly trained, amazing sushi chefs.  It is disappointing to hear that this didn't come through in your meal.  I will be sure to share this feedback with our Chef's and other management.  I hope that you will come back to give us another try.  We offer Sushi Monday - endless sushi at the sushi bar on Monday evenings, it is a great deal, and a fun experience! Read more 9/9/2016

Alisha, Amanda, and Tara were very helpful and sweet! But I ordered the kara aga is very different and much worse. The old kara aga was the best chicken ever (got a vegetarian to eat chicken!) and this is subpar. Please bring back the original kara aga!

Comment from Amanda P. of Ozumo Business Manager 9/12/2016 Hi Lauren,Thank you for joining us, and the compliments to the staff!  Im sorry to hear about the… Hi Lauren,Thank you for joining us, and the compliments to the staff!  Im sorry to hear about the kara age.  I promise you I will pass on the feedback to the Chef, and I hope that we can have you back again for another try!  Thank you,Amanda Read more 9/17/2016

Went to Ozumo with some friends for All You Can Eat Sushi night, fantastic. The fish was fresh and good, the sides were excellent. Service was efficient and friendly. Less one star, a little pricey but overall worth it!

4/10/2016

This place has ok sushi. It's good, nothing extraordinary. It's not one of my go to spots for sushi. They do have a good up beat atmosphere and sometimes music. It's a decent spot to go with friends for some cocktails and basic rolls etc

See all photos from Krista B. for Ozumo 5/30/2016

I came here for happy hour with a couple of the girls, and it was reasonable, tasty and fun!  We had a good spread of dishes from edamame, tuna tartar, fried calamari, ribs, okonomiyaki to great cocktails and sparkling wine!  Our bill was quite reasonable in the end, and we liked our friendly server.  Great for happy hour, and it's close to 19th Street BART.

Tags:
Related Articles
Plum Bar + Restaurant   - Bars - 2216 Broadway, Uptown, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Plum Bar + Restaurant - Bars - 2216 Broadway, Uptown, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

7/28/2016One of the best burger bars. Their burgers and fries are one of the best in the Bay Area and would totally come back sooner if it were closer to where I live. Their desserts are also a must try9/15/2016Came here a few weeks ago with a friend

Plum Bar   - American (New) - 2216 Broadway, Uptown, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Plum Bar - American (New) - 2216 Broadway, Uptown, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/29/2014Being able to walk into a place on a Friday night with a party of 6 and not hearing that it will be at least an hour before you will be seated deserves 5 stars in and of itself.Where do I begin?  The service was very friendly and attentive.

Judoku Sushi   - Sushi Bars - 3314 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Judoku Sushi - Sushi Bars - 3314 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/30/2016Wow.  If I lived nearby I'd come here more than once a week.  I ordered the 9-piece sushi set #2 and I couldn't believe that it came with premium fish - butterfish, mackerel, etc for $18.95.  i also ordered the Japanese scallop nigiri for a

Coach Sushi   - Sushi Bars - 532 Grand Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Coach Sushi - Sushi Bars - 532 Grand Ave, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

7/13/2016You've felt the effects of a bottomless mimosa brunch, but have you tried bottomless sake? At Coach, you'll get bottomless sake for just $3.75 but be warned, you'll want to gobble down plenty of rolls to offset this shockingly good deal. Coa

Rawbar   - Sushi Bars - 346 Broadway St, Chico, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Rawbar - Sushi Bars - 346 Broadway St, Chico, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/19/2016Visited Paradise & Chico over the weekend. My aunt & uncle took me here for dinner. It didn't disappoint. Tried the following:Pork-Shrimp-Mango Paper RollBibimap (outstanding)Lobster TostadasKorean TacosTempuraIt was all very delicious. I

You Might Also Like

Wonder Dog Rescue   - Animal Shelters - 2926 16th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA
9/22/2016This is our first time adopting a pu ...
High Treason   - Wine Bars - 443 Clement Street, Inner Richmond, San Francisco, CA
8/10/2016The Inner Richmond is fortunate to h ...
Little Szechuan   - Szechuan - Chinatown - San Francisco, CA - Menu
9/17/2016Why so much hate? This place is fabu ...
Moe’s Books   - Antiques - 2476 Telegraph Ave, Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA
8/9/2016Without parallel. Moe's is a last ves ...
Revere Academy of Jewelry Arts   - Art Schools - 785 Market St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA - Menu
7/13/2016Life changing experience at the JTI ...
Riskguard Insurance Solutions - 22 Reviews - Home & Rental Insurance - 422 Presidio Ave, Pacific Heights, San Francisco, CA
8/25/2016I had a very positive experience wor ...

Tags