Sophie’s Crepes - Desserts - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Sophie’s Crepes   - Desserts - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
8/24/2016

I had to try this place out to compare it to belly good. This place is definitely more expensive and I can see why! They add much more in their crepes. They put the ice cream all the way inside. With all the add ons, you can definitely have one to share. Don't be afraid to ask about trying out the ice cream before you purchase. I sampled lychee, banana walnut and red bean. I love them all but chose red bean with whip. I didn't know what else to put in it! I was definitely full after.I absolutely love this place!

Red bean whip Red bean whip 9/9/2016

Up until experiencing Sophie's, I always thought crepes were like pancakes except thinner...soft and floppy and kind of blah unless you smothered it with nutella and powdered sugar.Well, that wasn't the case at Sophie's where the crepes were crispy and hot and delicious! I'm not sure how they get it to be much more than blah, but they certainly do!Last weekend while shopping in the Japantown plaza we decided to pop in for a snack before dinner. We kept it real with just butter and sugar for $3.75 and it was excellent -- warm and CRISPY.There are three tiny tables inside if you manage to be able to get one.What is weird is that they have signs here saying "NO PHOTOS" ... seriously, why?

Cinnamon and butter crepe: so crispy! Cinnamon and butter crepe: so crispy! 9/5/2016

I ordered the japanese crepe (has matcha ice cream, red bean and matcha drizzle). The crepe was really good and slightly crispy, and the red bean texture and matcha ice cream went really well together. I also ordered the matcha and adzuki gelato which was also pretty good.Only down side is the long wait. Crepes are pretty solid and reasonably priced.

9/5/2016

Got the crepe that had green tea gelato, red bean, and some matcha sauce. Was overall good. Halfway through eating the crepe though, there was some hardened matcha bit that was really bitter, but the overall was good. Also appreciated how the crepe was more crispy than just soft, made it easier to eat.My friends got green tea and red bean ice cream. This was good. Very creamy and flavorful. Would get again.The wait for Sophie's is rather long. Felt like we were waiting for a while.Note: Cash only.

9/18/2016

Definitely had to get a crepe while I was in San Fran and decided to check out Sophie's. Sophie's is located in a little shopping center on the second floor and street parking was very easy to find. Cash only but there is an ATM machine inside. For $8, I got the mixed fruit with nutella & whipped cream and added vanilla ice cream. The crepe was huge! I would recommend sharing if you are not a crazy crazy sweets eater because even sharing with my husband, I got overwhelmed. With that being said, the crepe was delicious and placed in a cone that made it easy and less messy to eat.

Mixed fruits with Nutella & whip Mixed fruits with Nutella & whip 6/14/2016

Quick service and numerous offerings. I really enjoyed my red bean crepe with green tea ice cream, which weighed at least a pound and could be used for my weak sauce bicep curls if it weren't so nommable. Only minor gripe is that staff could have been more welcoming, but they move people through, offerings are clear and product is delish so try it out! Definitely pay the extra $1 for whipped cream.

Red bean and green tea toppings and whipped cream. I'd like my bridesmaids to carry these instead of bouquets maybe lol. Red bean and green tea toppings and whipped cream. I'd like my bridesmaids to carry these instead of bouquets maybe lol. 7/29/2016

Fairly inexpensive desserts with fresh fruit and crèpes. They also have non-dessert crèpes like Tuna Salad crepes and ham and cheese crepes. Their regular crepe is probably what I'll try the next time Im in Japan Town. Sophies is located indoors just past the restaurant row after walking into the indoor mall closest to the Peace Pagoda structure. Depending on the time of day you go there can be a line out the door. The crepes are made fresh and you can watch them make it behind the counter.  I got the ice cream with bananas and chocolate crepe. It was really good and filling. My friends got green tea ice cream crepe and mixed fruit crepe with ice cream and they really liked theirs also. Sophie's is a must for dessert in Japan Town.

Store front Store front Mixed fruit crepe. Mixed fruit crepe. My chocolate banana ice cream crepe and my friends green tea and mixed fruit ice cream crepes. My chocolate banana ice cream crepe and my friends green tea and mixed fruit ice cream crepes. See all photos from Vince N. for Sophie's Crepes 7/26/2016

I'm a purist- Nutella and Strawberries please. Don't get crazy. Don't add a bunch of fancy stuff. No I don't want whipped cream, ice cream or any of those other things you youngins are clamoring for nowadays. It's cash only, so prepare accordingly. They close kind of early so consider moving your dinner reservation early so that you can get there before they close (its worth it). And enjoy!

6/24/2016

Japanese crepes is a must-try desserts when you're visiting Japantown in San Fransisco, and I think Sophie's crepes is the place for it. I love how this place offers such a wide range of crepes, if you fancy sweet or savory they got them here! But if you got a sweet tooth like me, the sweet crepes are the best way to go. I tried their mixed fruit with whipped cream ($6) with green tea gelato for an extra $$. Slightly expensive for a crepe, but they are absolutely to-die for! Crispy & fluffy on the outside, sweet and creamy on the inside - probably, the best Japanese crepes I've ever had. They actually rival my favorite Marion Crepes from Japan (that came to the Bay Area once in every blue moon). I only wish they have more seating areas, and this place being cash only, is such a letdown. That aside, Sophie's crepes is still AH-Mazing! And if you never had a Japanese Crepes before, I would be happy to recommend this place. You won't be disappointed!

Mixed fruits and cream with green tea gelato. Scrumptious! Mixed fruits and cream with green tea gelato. Scrumptious! Mixed fruits with vanilla gelato. Mixed fruits with vanilla gelato. 7/5/2016

One of the only place that you could get crepes here in San Francisco. But the downside is video or photo taking is prohibited in the store.

5/18/2016

Cash only! Located inside the mall in Japantown with limited seating but there's plenty of places to sit around the area.You can order their combination crepes,make one yourself, or get gelato. I got a double scoop of the red bean and black sesame gelato ($5). The black sesame was absolutely amazing! Such amazing texture and unique flavor.

8/28/2016

The crepes are good for what you pay for. One of the employees wearing a black SF cap was very rude to my friend when he asked a simple question because he is new to this crepe place.  My friend asked how build his own crepe and the employee responded with a small laugh and said " dude it's common sense " to a customer.

1/8/2016

I'm a fan. Thinking about their crepes again makes my mouth water because it was so good. The crepes here are thin with a crispy texture and their gelato is creamy and delicious. They have both savory and dessert crepes here too!When I was here, I ordered the #17 Japanese-- green tea gelato, matcha sauce, and read bean paste in a crepe. It left me almost speechless because it was absolutely delicious. I would definitely try their crepes with gelato. Their gelato is so creamy and absolutely awesome. When you get to the end though, watch out because the melted gelato can spill all over you as you bite down on the ends of the crepe. Be careful and make sure you have some tissues/napkins close by.They have an extended menu next to the register-- make sure you check that out to extend your options!This is a very small store, so seats are pretty limited, but if you have a big crowd and need some seats, sit outside the store! Since it's inside a mall, there are some benches outside. Also, this is a CASH ONLY place, so make sure you have some cash if you're planning on making a visit here.

Japanese-- green tea gelato, red bean paste, and matcha sauce crepe Japanese-- green tea gelato, red bean paste, and matcha sauce crepe 12/15/2015

Recommend #17 Crepe with Green Tea Gelato, Red Bean Paste, and Matcha Sauce.Looking at the menu can be a bit overwhelming since everything sounds good! There are savory and sweet crepes to choose from as well as a list of ingredients you can customize your crepe with. We decided to go with #17, and the classic green tea red bean combination was absolutely delicious.The crepes are freshly made, filled, and rolled giving to the perfect balance of crispy exterior and soft chewy interior. I especially love that the crepe was not too sweet with the sweetness of the red bean paste balancing well with the pleasant bitterness of the matcha. Also, the gelato did not melt too quickly, and the crepe was not soggy or messy to eat at all.Good snack to have in Japantown.

#17 #17 12/20/2015

In the past month or so, I've visited several of the most popular dessert crepe places in San Francisco - Sophie's, Belly Good & Genki Crepes & Mini-Mart. Unfortunately, I thought Sophie's was probably the worst of the three. Don't get me wrong - the crepes themselves were pretty good. It's just that in comparison to the other crepes that I've had, it wasn't as amazing as it could have been.Regarding PRICE, I think other places have had more reasonable prices. I paid over $7 dollars plus tax for a strawberry & whipped cream crepe with added black sesame ice cream. It's an additional $2.50 to add an ice cream scoop, which is very expensive compared to other locations. If you don't want ice cream in your crepes, the price is much cheaper, but I personally think that ice cream adds a lot.Regarding TASTE & TEXTURE, I think that the crepe texture was part soft and part crunchy. I wish that it could have been crunchier, but that might just be personal preference. The crepe layer was very thin though and didn't leak, which was super impressive. The mixture of ingredients was really good, and the gelato assortment has a lot of asian flavors (i.e. matcha, red bean, black sesame), which is great.Regarding SERVICE & ATMOSPHERE, Sophie's is more of a take-out crepe place. There is very limited seating inside, so most people get their food to go and crowd around the square benches outside. The workers inside seemed to care a lot about efficiency and were not super friendly to me... if anything, they were quite cold and wanted me to order as quickly as possible, making for not the best experience.I think that my experience at Sophie's could have been made better in many ways. However, if I am in the area again, I would get another one of their crepes because they were pretty good. I just think that there are better crepe experiences elsewhere in San Francisco.

green tea sundae green tea sundae crepe with strawberry, whipped cream, & black sesame ice cream crepe with strawberry, whipped cream, & black sesame ice cream 8/6/2016

If you're here but don't feel like getting a crepe, consider a Japantown sundae. Ice cream and gelato stores are everywhere and they offer sundaes of all types, but the aforementioned one offered here is more like a dessert that you get in a sit-down Asian dessert cafe. Matcha ice cream, matcha drizzle, and azuki bean are combined into a nice little sundae cup with whipped cream on top. It's a bit decadent but it's worth pointing out just because this creation doesn't really exist elsewhere in this exact form. It's quite tasty, maybe bordering a bit on overly sweet (I would go without whipped cream if I remember).

7/4/2016

Excellent strawberry Nutella crêpe-Worth going out of the way to get it.Nice crispy light texture.

Crispiest yummiest crepes ever ! Crispiest yummiest crepes ever ! Strawberry Nutella ice cream... Strawberry Nutella ice cream... 12/31/2015

This is my go-to crepe place every time I am around Japan town. There are many crepe place in the same mall structure but Sophie's Crepes is the best in my opinion.I like their black sesame, hazelnut and green tea ice cream. It is always difficult to narrow down the flavor I want... I recommend the Japanese crepe, which is kind of far down near the bottom of the menu as one of the special items. It is basically a crepe with green tea ice cream, some red bean and matcha sauce. The matcha sauce is SO amazing! It is strong in matcha flavor, while the ice cream is more on the 'green tea' flavor side. However, you can get a green tea ice cream crepe with less the price, which is equally good. I am still on the fence about whether the matcha sauce and red bean is worth the extra few dollars, but if you haven't tried it you should! I would say all their ice cream flavors are pretty good, so you can't really go wrong. If you do want ice cream, it is best to get the ice cream with crepe instead of just ice cream in a cup. With about the same price, you get a bigger scoop of ice cream AND the crepe so it's a better deal. I can't wait to come back for more Sophie's Crepes!

Black sesame gelato crepe Black sesame gelato crepe 7/3/2016

CASH ONLY! I ordered #17 which is what the cashier recommended since we were new to this place! It had red bean paste, green tea gelato, and matcha sauce drizzled over it. Cost is slightly pricey: $7 with tax. The line was super short so I got lucky and only had to wait for 5 minutes total to pay and get my crepe. It was perfectly crispy and wasn't too sweet so it satisfied my crepe cravings! Everything was fine until I was 3/4 finished with the crepe and it decided to drip melted green gelato all over my favorite jeans. Tragic, I know. It turns out that the bottom of the wrap that the crepe was in wasn't completely sealed off :( so I recommend eating it quickly

:-) little did I know that this would soon spill onto my favorite light blue jeans in less than 10 minutes :-) little did I know that this would soon spill onto my favorite light blue jeans in less than 10 minutes 10/16/2015

Sophie's crepe! Everyone talks about going to this place over the other crepe place in the plaza. Personally, I like both. Sophie's crepe is more on the harder side and crunchy while the other place have their crepe very soft and creamy texture. I usually get J here. The banana is freshly cut and ice cream they offer is vanilla flavored. I feel like it depends on your personal like to determine which crepe place suits you. Customer service is not as friendly as the other place.

See all photos from Sammi L. for Sophie's Crepes
Tags:
Related Articles
Izumiya   - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Izumiya - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

4/19/2016There are some of us modern diners who are afflicted with an unspoken disease. Post-prandial tristesse.  The urge to immediately pay the bill and depart upon finishing your last bite.  By the time I've rounded my last couple bites, I've alre

Juban Yakiniku House   - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Juban Yakiniku House - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

6/28/2015My friend and I couldn't get into YakiniQ because it was busy so we found this place close by! It was pretty much a godsend.Pros: JBBQ. Done, bye. Kidding! My friend and I both got the $19 deal where we both got to chose 2 meats each to gril

Mifune Bistro   - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Mifune Bistro - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/11/2016Mifune is a hidden gem downstairs of the Kinokuniya building. The food is good and the wait is never too long. DO NOT get this place confused with the Mifune next to the garage entrance! This one is much better!The food has great taste and d

Sapporo  - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

Sapporo - Japanese - 1581 Webster St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews

8/27/2016To my surprised this place is pretty cozy and neat! You would pass by the entrance since it is not too noticeable and right next to the photo sticker store. But I liked their miso noodle, the bowl is huge and just right portion with reasonab

Benihana   - Japanese - 1737 Post St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Benihana - Japanese - 1737 Post St, Japantown, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

7/14/2016I think I have a love hate relationship with Benihana. I love their food but don't need the theatrics and don't really want to pay for said theatrics. You can order most of the menu at the bar but then you're still paying the same amount so

You Might Also Like

Zachary’s Chicago Pizza   - Pizza - 5801 College Ave, Rockridge, Oakland, CA - Restaurant Reviews
9/21/2016Love Zachary's pizzas!Pizzas are gre ...
Noe’s Bike Shop - Bikes - 2150 Oxford St, Downtown Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
Grand Lake Farmers Market   - Farmers Market - Grand Ave & Lake Park Ave, Lower Hills, Oakland, CA
9/7/2016I absolutely love this farmers market ...
Caminos Flamencos - Performing Arts - 26 7th St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
10/18/2010I took some flamenco guitar lessons ...
Serrano’s Expert Tree Service - 22 Reviews - Tree Services - Los Gatos, CA
8/15/2014These guys removed a 35 foot tree an ...

Caroline Orille - Berkeley Marketing - Marketing - 2150 Allston Way, Downtown Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

1/25/2011As soon as I talked on the phone to ...

Tags