Taqueria Davis - Mexican - 505 1/2 L St, Davis, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Taqueria Davis   - Mexican - 505 1/2 L St, Davis, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/13/2016

I've never been disappointed here. The food is always so fresh and zesty. They offer complimentary nachos and salsa with your meal. The staff here are always so nice and welcoming. The prices are pretty fair. My favorite dishes here are the carnitas tacos (both soft and crispy). I definitely recommend this place if you're craving some top notch fresh and quick Mexican food.

8/26/2016

This place has a warm, friendly feeling to it.  The guy working at the register was ridiculously friendly.  Not the fake kind of friendly you would receive at McDonald's where they throw canned conversations at you.  Started off with a great impression.You get a little bowl/basket that you can use to scoop yourself some tortilla chips.  Be careful not to fill up too much on these as it can get easy to binge on chips and salsa.  The salsa bar has only two kinds of salsa, though.We got a carnitas torta, carnitas taco, lengua taco, and a small cheese quesadilla.  All of them were amazing! If you have difficulty deciding what meats to get, I highly recommend their carnitas and lengua.  Delicious.There are abundant tables around the area and you can see families bringing their children to eat here.  Parking is not too bad, either, since there's a lot of street parking outside of their small lot.

8/4/2016

My buddy and I came for a late dinner and left satisfied. The restaurant is clean and fairly well maintained.Parking is fairly easy with several neighboring businesses.I opted for a side of guacamole, a chicken taco, and a carne asada burrito. The guacamole was good but I've had better. The chicken soft taco was above average for street tacos. The asada burrito was the winner. The meat was marinated well and cooked properly. The flavors were well balanced.The chips and salsa were decent but I've had better. Drink choices are fairly abundant. They have bottled drinks, fountain drinks, and horchata and the like.I'd likely lean towards four stars but I was disappointed as we left. I saw someone bring in a dog and place it on top of a table and not one of the employees flinched or said a word. It was not a service animal and had no business being in the restaurant let alone on top of the table.

Chicken soft taco Chicken soft taco Guacamole and spicy salsa Guacamole and spicy salsa 5/25/2016

They have California burritos and carne asada fries here! I came in on Cinco de Mayo with all intents of getting a CA burrito, but the special that day happened to be mole enchiladas! Snagged a parking spot in front. It was pretty full but I got a small table to myself.I got the 2-enchilada mole plate which came with rice, beans, salsa. Very filling and tasty food. The owner who took my order was very sweet. Free chips and salsa. My favorite place in Davis still remains Guads, though (which I also ate on Cinco de Mayo later that day).

Special: 2 mole chicken enchiladas plate Special: 2 mole chicken enchiladas plate 8/2/2016

I was torn between four and five stars for this one. The fish burrito was good not great. A regular burrito with fish, it just felt like it was missing something. It had rice, beans, fish and that's it. They used pinto beans instead of refried, and there was no cheese as mentioned. The tortilla was wheat I think. All in all not fantastic but still good.The fish taco plate however was excellent though. The refried beans and cheese were good as always, rice bland, but the taco was everything you'd want in a taco. The corn tortilla was flavorful, as was the fish, and the sauce literally topped it off. It was a bit spicy as well.So four for the burrito and five for the taco. What pushed me back to four was the fact that one burrito sans any sides cost ten bucks. Even given the fish, which was about as much as there is in two tacos. The whole taco plate with guacamole included was only eight bucks. Guess their burritos make them the most moolah cuz everyone seemed to be gnawing on those. I'd come back to try their other menu items but the burrito I could take or leave.

inside of burrito inside of burrito Regular fish burrito is a little smaller than my forearm Regular fish burrito is a little smaller than my forearm 7/21/2016

The man at the register is the friendliest guy ever. I ordered the off-menu Taekwondo fries and asked if they would add a fried egg on top and he was more than happy to. I was already super stoked about that, but the food itself?The taekwondo meat is Asian marinated and it's absolutely delicious. Could not have asked for anything more tasty!

Taekwondo fries w/ a fried egg (special order). Taekwondo fries w/ a fried egg (special order). 2/18/2016

I am a converted fan of Taq Davis. This was not one of my go-to places in Davis until my boyfriend, who LOVES this place, took me here a couple of times. His favorite dish is the 49er Burrito, a Super Burrito covered in enchilada sauce, which I have also come to like. I recently also tried their Shrimp Tacos and I liked them as well.While I don't find the food too different from any of the other Mexican food places in Davis, I do like seeing the same friendly face taking our order every time. It really give the place a family business feel and I like supporting them.

Shrimp Tacos Shrimp Tacos 49er Burrito 49er Burrito 7/22/2016

Absolutely delicious. The red salsa is some of the finest I have ever enjoyed and the chorizo crispy taco was the stuff of my happiest dreams. Excellent guacamole and chips as well. My girlfriend had chicken enchiladas with red sauce and I had the verde. We both loved our food & the super friendly service. Second visit: still amazing. Stopped in for a late lunch & they were out of chorizo until dinner but we still loved the chicken tacos we had instead!Third visit: chorizo dreams came true! Still perfect.

Crispy chorizo taco & enchilada with AADA. Excellence. Crispy chorizo taco & enchilada with AADA. Excellence. 1/13/2016 Updated review

This place impresses me every time I come here. UC Davis students, you guys should be so lucky. This is the quality Mexican food I used to eat lot of in various parts of Los Angeles. Today I had the special of the day whose name escapes me. It was a chicken enchilada with a salsa verde sauce with cheese. While not as good as the mole version, it was so delicious nonetheless.  As always the place is tidy and the owner is super cool. And right next to a liquor store where you can buy your Powerball ticket!

Chile verde chicken enchiladas. And yes l, you must always order the Limon Jarritos! Chile verde chicken enchiladas. And yes l, you must always order the Limon Jarritos! 12/19/2015 Previous review Just gotta reiterate again how close to LA/Mexican style this restaurant is!  About 1.5 weeks ago, I… Just gotta reiterate again how close to LA/Mexican style this restaurant is!  About 1.5 weeks ago, I went there (again) and wanted to try out their tacos since they weren't having mole enchiladas (get those!).  So I got three tacos, 1 asada and 2 al pastor.  The al pastors subbed in for my usual lengua and the owner personally vouched for his al pastor.Those tacos were so spot on!  I really loved the al pastor.  Normally I don't like al pastor because I've had some really bad al pastor in the past.  The al pastor was really tender and very flavorful.  The tortillas were oiled and grilled too.  Perfect.And the usual, the chips were great and the salsas were great too. Read more Two al pastors and 1 asada. all three were great! Two al pastors and 1 asada. all three were great! 10/22/2015 Previous review This place impresses me every time I come here. UC Davis students, you guys should be so lucky. This… This place impresses me every time I come here. UC Davis students, you guys should be so lucky. This is the quality Mexican food I used to eat lot of in various parts of Los Angeles. Today I had a long meeting and didn't eat breakfast, so I headed to this place and was pleasantly surprised to see they had a mole chicken enchilada special today. And I ordered it and was not at all disappointed. In fact, it reminded me a lot of my brother's Mexican friends mom's mole chicken sauce.  Was soooo good! I took a pic. Because sharing is caring :) Read more Mole chix enchilada. GET IT Mole chix enchilada. GET IT 7/22/2015 Previous review Do I need to drive out this far to get home style Mex in Nor Cal??? :)FINALLY a Mex place that's… Do I need to drive out this far to get home style Mex in Nor Cal??? :)FINALLY a Mex place that's worth its salt. I travel to Davis about once every week or so and this place is nearby. I stopped by here for a quick lunch and was happily surprised. They have the standard Mex items, so won't go much farther into a description. I had a combo lunch of chicken enchiladas and a carnitas taco. It came with rice and beans and a generous portion of lettuce, sour cream, and guacamole. Guac included in the price is always nice! And though I've really kicked back on soda, they had my fave soda: Lime Jarritos. So it was ordered!  Also included is a serve yourself chip bar and a small salsa condiment bar. Chips were homemade and fried perfectly. So since this was a fast lunch, I didn't eat it all especially the beans. But everything tastes very fresh and had a home style taste. Not much more else to say, but now I've found my Nor Cal Mex stop!  But yes, still looking for my southern end of the Tri Valley Mex spot. Read more Combo enchilada and carnitas taco with rice, beans, sour cream and guac. 5 stars and great service. Near UC Davis Combo enchilada and carnitas taco with rice, beans, sour cream and guac. 5 stars and great service. Near UC Davis 5/7/2016

Pretty bomb tacos. Came here on a Saturday around 6pm and ordered 1 pastor taco and 1 lengua taco at $2.05. Not cheap but not too expensive either! They give a pretty generous portion of meat. Both of the tacos were very very good. I really loved how they serve the pastor tacos with the pineapple on top--it takes me back to the tacos I had in Mexico!! The service is soo great and friendly, and overall this is a great place to come for tacos!!!

Pastor and lengua tacos!! $2.05 each Pastor and lengua tacos!! $2.05 each 9/19/2016

Pretty tasty burrito with chips and salsa to go with it. Cute interior and the staff was genuinely nice. I'd go back.

5/24/2016

Good mexican food.Friendly employees.Cheap prices.Free chips and salsa.I don't know what else to say but that you need to try it for yourself to understand why the ratings are so high.The only thing I found out of ordinary about this place...I visited the bathroom and to do that you have to walk through part of the kitchen. When I did this, I walked just inches away from the hot food stock where the cooked meats were open with no lids or covers on. It grossed me out a little seeing as anyone walking by, myself included, could have sneezed or coughed or anything when walking by and it would have gone straight into the food.Regardless, I didn't get food poisoning so I'm still going to return. (:

8/14/2016

Went here yesterday to try out their Chili Verde. The chili verde was very good, and their crispy taco was good as well. Looking forward coming back to try the rest of their menu.

Chili Verde Chili Verde 9/20/2016

Very good authentic Mexican food.  I like the dinner plates best, good tostadas, good beans and rice.  Nice friendly staff.  The bathrooms could be cleaner.

9/13/2016 Updated review

Not sure why I didn't give 5 stars from the start. Chorizo and pastor tacos were delicious! This place is just awesome and everything they make is great.  Also enjoy the Asada French Fry Bowl, Cali Burrito (sub potatoes for fries), and enchiladas are all things I have tried in addition to tacos.  The meats are always cooked nicely and have great marinades and the quality seems to be there.  The staff is so gracious towards there customers.  Can't wait to be back in here again!

7/31/2014 Previous review This is the best mexican in town, hands down.  The pastor is delicious and has to be made fresh… This is the best mexican in town, hands down.  The pastor is delicious and has to be made fresh daily.  I think this place does nearly everything from scratch.  The carne asada fries are awesome as are the burritos. I have had the California, asada, and pastor.  I have also had tacos here, and they did not disappoint.  Big shout out to the owner and his crew, they are extremely polite and nice people.  They deserve your business.  I probably should be going here more often. Read more 9/13/2015

Good food. Delicious flavors. Generous portions. Nice folks own & operate. Dining room is basic. Borders on a dive. Restrooms are filthy. My 2 course combo with salad beans & rice was mighty satisfying. Excellent chili relleno. Best $8.95 meal I've had for several months. If you can handle the cruddy ambience, the food is worth your consideration.

Taco salad without the fried tortilla. Wife's healthy choice, but without the crunchy shell, what's the point? Taco salad without the fried tortilla. Wife's healthy choice, but without the crunchy shell, what's the point? Chili relleno & beef tongue taco. Lots of food for $9. Chili relleno & beef tongue taco. Lots of food for $9. 9/29/2015

Can't believe I have never heard of this place until my 3rd year here in Davis!  Wish I've discovered this place earlier. Came here for a quick dinner to-go on a weeknight. Even though the place was smaller than other taquerias in Davis, it was very clean and nicely decorated. The cashier who took our order was also super friendly and made sure we get the good stuff since it was our first time. We ordered the Aggie Burrito Bowl (with steak) and the Super Burrito (with beef tongue). Let's just say that I usually don't think Mexican restaurants differ all that much from each other, but I think this place is quite different (good different) than other places in Davis. The Aggie Burrito had a cheesy sauce that made the whole thing super flavorful and the steak itself was also really good (except the steak pieces could be bigger). The beef tongue in the Super Burrito was so tender! They also didn't skimp out on the meat. Both plates had ample amount of meat was overall really good. Overall, I think that this is my new favorite taqueria. While the sauces for the chips were lacking (only two sauces), they certainly make it up with the good food (big portion, too!) as well as the clean and friendly environment. Before we left, the cashier mention to us about trying the taekwondo Fries, so I'll definitely be back some other time to try that!

To-go Aggie burrito bowl with steak. Cheese sauce on top was so good! To-go Aggie burrito bowl with steak. Cheese sauce on top was so good! 7/8/2016

The al pastor tacos are amazing and if you like quesadillas, try out the mini ones (fyi they are actually quite big).I go here a often for lunch.

9/13/2016

Best Go-To spot in Davis! The prices are very fair and the food is everything you could ask for in a taqueria. Carnitas are flavorful and juicy. The staff are all friendly and the restaurant itself is very warm and charming.

7/9/2016

This place is busy! I met my boyfriend for a quick lunch since I was near his work. When I arrived most of the tables were filled. I quickly ordered the special of the day: 2 mole enchiladas with beans and rice. My boyfriend got chicken street tacos because the al pastor were all out.The enchiladas were meaty but I wish they put more sauce on top to cut through the meat. The street tacos were delicious.You also get an endless amount of chips and salsa with every meal purchased!

Tags:
Related Articles
Taqueria Cancun   - Mexican - 1003 Market St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Taqueria Cancun - Mexican - 1003 Market St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/4/2016I walked into Taqueria Cancun my first weekend in San Francisco. My roommate was raving about having to try a proper burrito and this was his favorite spot. As a burrito lover, I look back on that day as a beautiful moment that changed how I

Taqueria Guadalajara   - Mexican - 4798 Mission St, Excelsior, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Taqueria Guadalajara - Mexican - 4798 Mission St, Excelsior, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/11/2016My go-to place when I have the drunchies after the club. Where do I begin? Snack on the chips they give you while waiting for your food. They taste very home-made, but make sure you leave room for some tacos or a burrito. Drench the green sa

Taqueria Vallarta   - Mexican - 3033 24th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Taqueria Vallarta - Mexican - 3033 24th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/30/2016Super good Mexican place (but duh, it's in the mission). Absolutely will be coming back. So what's unique? Well it beats the competition a couple key ways:-Unique (at least that I've seen) menu items (atole, elote)-Uncommon menu items (piña

Taqueria Guadalajara   - Mexican - 3146 24th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Taqueria Guadalajara - Mexican - 3146 24th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/4/2016For me, Taqueria Guadalajara represents easy access to quality burritos, which accompanied with chips, basically represent a single high protein meal.The Habanero salsa is bomb.  And by that, I mean it literally blows up in your mouth.  Disco

Cactus Taqueria #1   - Mexican - 950 Vine St, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Cactus Taqueria #1 - Mexican - 950 Vine St, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

10/9/2016Fantastic. The best Tacos Pastor in LA....we stop here every time we see a concert or show in Hollywood. Seriously, just order a ton of them. They are small and served on piping hot corn tortillas with only the juicy, spicy, delicious pork o

Taqueria Los Coyotes   - Mexican - 3036 16th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Taqueria Los Coyotes - Mexican - 3036 16th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/14/2016Amazing late night spot in the Mission.Reminded me of some of the late night Philly cheesesteak spots - clearly not because of the food, but because the food staff are working at 100mph to get burritos wrapped and into customers hands.Pretty

You Might Also Like

Organic Chef Catering - 23 Reviews - Caterers - Potrero Hill, San Francisco, CA
6/15/2011Eden catered my wife's birthday part ...
Nothing Bundt Cakes   - Desserts - 2720 Via de la Valle, Del Mar, CA - Menu
9/14/2016Was going to Costco and seen this pl ...
Oasis Goodtime Emporium - 32 Reviews - Adult Entertainment - 6363 Peachtree Industrial Blvd, Atlanta, GA
12/30/2014I end up here sometimes.  I admit i ...
Domo   - Sushi Bars - 511 Laguna St, Hayes Valley, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/30/2016Small as hell, but with a really dop ...
Restaurant Zaza’s   - French - Daniel Stalpertstraat 103, Zuid, Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, The Netherlands - Restaurant Reviews
5/13/2016Amazing service and even more amazin ...
Pink Bear Ice Cream   - Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt - 226 E 14th St, East Village, New York, NY
9/21/2016Delicious ice cream rolls with unlim ...

Tags