The Organic Coup - Sandwiches - 4825 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

The Organic Coup   - Sandwiches - 4825 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/9/2016

Food is delicious... as long as you like fried chicken.  First time eating there yesterday.  Had the chicken bowl which was basically a fried chicken on top of cole slaw.  The other options were a chicken salad which looked delicious, and a chicken wrap.   Sides were chicken tenders.  And tater tots.  The chicken was definitely juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside.  the salad was a tad dry, but the sauces acted as dressing.  But the chicken was the star of the show.  Recommend and can't wait to go again.

10/9/2016

$8.99 and that's all you'll really spend.  As this place basically offers their Signature Chicken Coup Sandwich, a Coup Wrap, and Coup Bowl.  I've tried all three, and they all seem to have given me that same, "eh, it's pretty good" feeling.  Nothing bad, yet also nothing spectacular.  I mean the business model is simple, serving deep fried (in organic coconut oil)  organic chicken only in different forms.  ~ The Coup Signature Sandwich is probably my favorite and most filling.  Comes with a toasted artisan bun and coleslaw.  They've overcooked the chicken breast sometimes, and other times it was fine.  ~ The Coup Wrap is okay as well, only I feel it's not as filling.  Obviously because it's wrapped in a flour tortilla.  Same taste with their veggies, or coleslaw, only without the bun.    ~ The Coup Bowl is basically all of the above without the bun or tortilla.  Just extra veggies.  For the most part, I'll probably go here about once a month as it isn't a bad option in my opinion.  I've added it to my "lunch-time option" as "occasional".  It's a tough world out there, so hopefully these guys survive.

Coup Bowl, $8.99. Coup Bowl, $8.99. Coup table and fountain drinks. Coup table and fountain drinks. See all photos from Ron R. for The Organic Coup 9/19/2016

I really love the concept! However, they don't offer a non-spicy chicken. Unfortunately, it was a bit too much for us. We boogied outta there to find some icecream to soothe our searing palates.If you like spice though, this place would be a great option for you!

10/10/2016

Better than fast food and tasty , I come here once or twice a week and I am always satisfied with my meal, simple , affordable and fast

8/9/2016

HOLY SPICY Chicken Sandwich amazeballs. Just tried this place today and it blew my mind. Coworker of mine brought it for lunch and it was epic. Also tried the spicy hot sauce and it was SO GOOD - especially for 500 calories. Definitely eating here more often!!

4/30/2016

I don't get the fried chicken cravings often (I'm not a big fried chicken guy), but when they do, I want the good stuff.  I want a well seasoned batter, crisp crust (not mushy), and for the chicken to the juicy and tender.Organic Coup does this reasonably well.  I tried the chicken in the wrap, the sandwich, and as tenders.  Let's start with the tenders, as the purest way to view the chicken.  I liked the crisp crust - it wasn't too thick or too crunchy - although it was noticeably peppery.  Also, as tenders, the chicken comes off on the dry side and kind of stringy.  The sauces are kind of necessary.In a wrap, the chicken works much better.  There is a slaw of shredded cabbage, red onions, and de-seeded jalapeños and dressed with the sauce of your choice.  An interesting things about the wraps is they're closed wraps - so more like a burrito than an open wrap that you would normally expect.  With the wrap pre-sauced by default and paired with produce, it offsets both the dryness of the meat and the pepperiness of the batter.  Also, they use a multigrain tortilla which adds an unexpected sweetness.Likewise, the sandwich is usually prepared with the sauce inside and with the same shredded cabbage slaw.  The bun has a nice toasted crisp on it and, like with the wrap, the chicken works better here because of the sauce and the produce.  Also, as a sandwich, you realize that they're not skimping on the chicken because the amount of fried chicken in a single sandwich is a good sized portion.With the sauces, I only tried two of them.  The Spicy BBQ Ranch is very mild and also not too sweet.  It almost has a fry sauce quality to it.  Likewise, the Mustard sauce is also very mildThey also offer a chocolate coated popcorn as a prepackaged dessert item.  It's popcorn that was dressed in both milk chocolate and white chocolate.  Definitely one for the chocolate fan because the chocolate is very strong and very sweet.  If you're expecting sweetness more along the lines of caramel corn or kettle corn, this isn't it.  You're going to bet getting a lot of chocolate here.Organic Coup emphasizes it's organic supply chain and preparations and I'm sure that it's a source of pride for them.  For the price, this is a solid fried chicken option, organic or not.  I'm not totally a fan of how the chicken is prepared, but it only really is an issue as tenders.  Definitely worth a visit.

Soda fountain and condiment station Soda fountain and condiment station 10/25/2016

Amazing chicken sandwiches!! They are sooo good. Its   nice and crispy with a bit of spicyness. It is really hard to find restaurants/fast food that serves organic food. I would really recommend this place. They serve tator tots too as a side. The only thing i would recommend is they expand into the central valley (manteca,ca specifcally lol) as we need more organic options out here and also to serve organic french fries too. Its about a 45 min drive for me but i would go almost everyday if it was in my area.

8/2/2016

I don't see what the hype really is. It is an organic Chik Fil A. You literally have three menu options: a fried chicken sandwich, wrap, or salad. Now there are small snacks to choose from, but once again your main food options are very limited.  They have box water, I know for some individuals this is either a deal maker/breaker. Happy Organic Eating.

A view where the magic happens. A view where the magic happens. Boxed water. Boxed water. The wrap version, kind of small. The wrap version, kind of small. See all photos from Lesley B. for The Organic Coup 7/10/2016

I've gone here twice. One time I ordered the chicken, another time I had the sandwich. I've also tried the wrap at a Yelp event. Each time the chicken has been a little bit dry. While I like the fact that everything here is organic and I'm supporting a business with a good philosophy with a good work life balance. The quality of the taste seems to be lacking.They also got rid of their organic soda machine and replaced it with bottled drinks. I thought the organic soda machine was what made them unique.Overall, the food is AOK and I'll continue to support it because of the company's philosophy. I just hope they find a way to make the chicken less dry, especially since they are the star of the menu.

2/2/2016

Decision Fatigue: refers to the deteriorating quality of decisions made by an individual, after a long session of decision making.You know what minimizes decision fatigue??  Coming to a place that serves good Organic Chicken fried in coconut oil served three ways: in a bun, in a wrap, or on a salad with your choice of Mustard Vinigrette, Spicy BBQ Ranch (yummy), Sesame Ginger (yummy), or Ranch (yummy) sauce/dressing.  Those are the only choices and it is kinda nice!  The chicken is juicy and the breading was good.  I didn't get a super spicy flavor from breading or chicken so I am glad I added jalapeños (fresh and sliced)  to my bowl.  The chicken was served on a bed of shredded "spicy" vegetables.  I have had both the wrap and sandwich.  I don't know which I like more but I know that I love the Spicy BBQ on both. Yup, I am a fan!  Fried chicken, organic and consistent!  I also like the touge-n-cheek T-shirts!  Organically Cocky....I see what you did there!!!

Inside Inside The Coup Signature Sandwich The Coup Signature Sandwich Deets Deets See all photos from Melissa R. for The Organic Coup 1/18/2016

For me this is ideal ....organic fried chicken and slaw with a light dressing.Love the play on words... clean open space ( in the old Kinders space), fast friendly service, best fast food ever.KISS.... Do a limited menu and do it well.  This is it!I did the bowl with the Sesame Ginger sauce... had a yummy kick, not too sweet.  My only issue was that the chicken crust could have been a bit crisper, the meat was tender and delicious.They were giving samples of the cheese puffs and popcorn... but I would be happy to skip these for the chicken.Mr Katherine and I will most definitely be back!

Organic chicken for MLK Day!! Organic chicken for MLK Day!! 7/18/2016

In town again on business. One of my Uber drivers recommended this place that was near my hotel. I decided I'd give it a try! I was a little shocked by how limited the menu was, but I guess if you're going to do something you might as well be focused and do it well. I wasn't disappointed! I got a wrap with the Spicy BBQ Ranch. I really liked the texture and flavor of the chicken. I find that a lot of times wraps are dry, but it wasn't the case this time! There was plenty of moisture in the chicken and the sauce. I wasn't a huge fan of the Spicy BBQ Ranch... I think if I were to go again, I'd try the sesame ginger or just plain ranch. It was a little pricier than what I expected, but I ended up not being able to eat the entire thing, so I think that it was a fair price for an entire meal. I also tried the organic lemonade - SO GOOD.

1/23/2016

America's first USDA certified organic fast food restaurant? Whaaat?! Like Ivy L. said, I'm very surprised they chose a random location like Pleasanton. But hey, it gave me the opportunity to try the first organic fast food restaurant in the nation so I'm not gonna complain.I came for lunch on a weekday with some coworkers. We got there probably around 11:30 or 11:45 and got there right before the lunch crowd luckily so I recommend going a bit early. Everything on the menu is spicy chicken something. I don't have a high tolerance for spicy but I had no other option so I decided on the spicy chicken wrap with Sesame Ginger sauce. It was really spicy for me. For reference, I'm the type of person who can kinda handle hot cheetos, can handle only a few spoonfuls of bun bo hue, and gets non-spicy at Boiling Crab so you get the gist of my tolerance. I had to drink water pretty much after every 1-2 bites. If you seriously CANNOT DO SPICY, DO NOT COME HERE. **EDIT: Owner has corrected me and told me they now serve non-spicy chicken tenders and lowered the spice on their chicken breasts.**With the spiciness aside, I honestly think it's a great place. I normally am not a fan of fried chicken because of how gross I feel afterwards but I didn't feel gross after eating here. It tasted light and with all the veggies (which are spicy too by the way), it really tasted more like a healthy fast food which is quite a rare find. Although I don't see myself eating here again because I can't take the spiciness, I really do recommend eating here if you're okay with spicy. However, I wish they would expand their tiny menu and offer non-spicy options. **EDIT: I'd come back here to try the non-spicy chicken tenders now that I know they offer it!**

Organic sodas! Organic sodas! 1/10/2016

This spot is the hot, new organic fast food joint in the area that took over the former residence of Kinders. They have a short and sweet menu which I can appreciate. The concept is simple...Wait in line, order one of the 5-ish items on the menu and wait for them to call your name so you can pick up your food.I have no problem with a fast food joint keeping the menu small and building it around one focal item. In this case, it is the fried chicken. My belief is that if you are only going to do one thing, you better do it well. Sadly, the fried chicken was not crispy and was a tad on the dry side.You can order the chicken as a burger, wrap or a bowl. I chose the bowl to minimize the carbs. The customer service was great and I was offered the sides, popcorn or cheesy poof thingies (yes, these are the sides), which I politely declined. I do not usually order a regular soda but i was interested in what an organic soda tasted like since some of my co-workers had told me about them.I chose the root beer while waiting for my food to be cooked. It was okay but I noticed each soda had a fancy flavor to it. Sometimes sticking to the basics is a good thing.My chicken bowl was veggie filled and I had the ginger sesame dressing. I also added the jalapenos. The salad portion had a nice flavor, but as I mentioned above, my chicken was not crisp and it was slightly dry. I was surprised by the lack of crispiness because it was ready fairly quickly and had a nice brown color to it. I also enjoyed the dressing and the spice of the salad.Speaking of dressing, they have all the choices out next to the soda machine so you can sample each and choose which one you like.Overall, I like the concept of this place and the mission of the company (i.e good pay for employees). I would like to taste a crispier chicken on my next trip in.

Chicken bowl with jalapeños and sesame dressing.... And one root beer on the side! Chicken bowl with jalapeños and sesame dressing.... And one root beer on the side! 6/12/2016

This place was average. It wasn't bad but it wasn't amazing. I really liked the menu because of its simple choices. Everything here had the same organic chicken either in a bowl, wrap, or sandwich form. I ordered the wrap with spicy bbq sauce, and it looked nothing like the picture! The chicken was also really chewy and stringy. It took a lot of effort to chew and swallow it. This is a cool place to try, but it was a bit of a disappointment.

1/5/2016

Went to The Organic Coup with work colleagues yesterday afternoon. This is a one note shop, centered around organic fried chicken. Which is great if you like fried chicken, not so much if you don't! I happen to like fried chicken. I got the signature sandwich, with mustard vin. It was ready in next to no time (I was shocked how fast!) and I also snagged a couple of samples of chocolate popcorn and "Pirates Booty" (that's what my kids call it - no idea what the grown-up term is). Skipped the $2 "water in a box" by helping myself to $0 water in a cup from the drinks dispenser. For a little under $10, I got a lot of sandwich for my money. The chicken was fried crisp and I enjoyed it even though it was a bit dry. The cole slaw topping was fresh and contributed to my enjoyment. My colleagues seemed to enjoy their fried chicken wraps and fried chicken salads. Parking is not a problem, but seating is limited. Patrons were sharing tables (which was nice) but they can easily add a couple of tables without making the layout look too crowded. They certainly have the space for it. Overall, a solid lunch spot, if you like fried chicken.

They have a sense of humor! They have a sense of humor! They kept running out of samples. I finally snagged a couple - chocolate covered popcorn and "Pirates Booty". They kept running out of samples. I finally snagged a couple - chocolate covered popcorn and "Pirates Booty". The Coup Signature Sandwich - I got mine with mustard vin. The fried chicken was crisp but dry, the cole slaw topping fresh. The Coup Signature Sandwich - I got mine with mustard vin. The fried chicken was crisp but dry, the cole slaw topping fresh. 1/17/2016

Saw an ad at the Danville Costco for this restaurant and decided to give it a try. Located off Hopyard and Stoneridge, the place is not visible from the street but just look for Chili's - it's behind it. The menu is very simple. Chicken sandwich, wrap, or bowl. I opted for the sandwich. A promo I mentioned gave me a free soda and caramel popcorn. The soda machine featured a range of unique drinks from root beer, to lemongrass, to coconut. (See my uploaded pic for details). The chicken sandwich came out nicely assembled and warm in a compostable container. I was surprised at how big the piece of chicken was! The slaw, warm bun, and freshly cooked chicken made this sandwich amazing to eat! It was delicious! The popcorn was great too!I will definitely be back for another sandwich the next time I'm in the area...

Restaurant front Restaurant front Chicken sandwich Chicken sandwich Chicken sandwich. Look at that slaw! Chicken sandwich. Look at that slaw! See all photos from Tim Y. for The Organic Coup 12/30/2015

The Organic Coup has a very simple menu - fried chicken done three ways. So here's a simple review.I opted for the sandwich. Chicken was flavorful, but totally dry. The flavors of the coleslaw stuff and chicken breading made up for it a little bit. I got the mustard sauce as my thing, but didn't taste any mustard or moistness at all. They have sauces for you to put on yourself, maybe I should've added some. They also have interesting drink choices that I didn't try like cucumber and barley or something. I brought home some caramel corn, which is "chocolate-striped" - good I guess, but a little too sweet for me.I think the food is good quality, but would love to see just a little more variety/originality. You can see that "fries" are talked about in many reviews - because they don't have any yet, and people are clamoring for some! Personally I think they should offer Japanese curry as an option for the sauce, because it would complement the chicken super well. Also, I wish the chicken was more moist. Anyway, a pretty good option for the area.

Sandwich Sandwich 9/1/2016

Organic, maybe. Fast food, not at all. We Arrived with another couple at 5:30. The place was almost empty. We placed placed our orders and waited, and waited. Our food finally was ready but our friends who ordered right after us had to wait another 15 minutes. The chicken which was breaded was spicy.  It was moist in the center but was crispy on the edges.  They have profiles cups of lemonade.  Although it was stored in a refrigerator, it was luke warm.  We asked for ice but they did not have any.  It felt like the employees needed a supervisor. They were pleasant but seemed disorganized.  Maybe ok for lunch but not for dinner.  We will not return.

12/31/2015

The decor of this place is very cute. I love that everything here is organic, and even the Soda machines have a different taste to them due to how they're made.Unfortunately, there are a few problems they still need to iron out to be a truly awesome experience. First of all, there is too long of a wait time for food. For a place that's got such a limited menu, and is trying to service as fast food, a fifteen minute wait is too long. Secondly, the chicken itself was not hot when served to us. I don't know if they pre-fried these, but for the wait, you expect it to be fresh like many other chicken sandwich chains (which will not be named).Lastly, the price is too high. I get that the organic ingredients would fetch a much higher price tag, but it's pushing the boundaries to be more expensive than buying a Sushi lunch at a certain Organic Super Market (which will also not be named). All in all, a decent place with a few kinks to work out. If they ever change their menu or become more expedient, I might come back to give them another shot.

Their famous sandwich. But the Chicken was Lukewarm right after I got it after waiting 15 minutes. Their famous sandwich. But the Chicken was Lukewarm right after I got it after waiting 15 minutes.
Tags:
Related Articles
The Organic Coup   - Sandwiches - 4825 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews

The Organic Coup - Sandwiches - 4825 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews

9/9/2016Food is delicious... as long as you like fried chicken.  First time eating there yesterday.  Had the chicken bowl which was basically a fried chicken on top of cole slaw.  The other options were a chicken salad which looked delicious, and a c

Elite Event: The Organic Coup   Events - 4825 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA

Elite Event: The Organic Coup Events - 4825 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA

6/5/2016This was my first YEE of the year and first time meeting Steph! I was super excited to attend this one 'cause it's in ma hood and I had heard about it from the news on it being the first USDA certified organic fast food restaurant in the nati

The Stuffed Inn   - Sandwiches - 1829 Euclid Ave, Berkeley, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

The Stuffed Inn - Sandwiches - 1829 Euclid Ave, Berkeley, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

6/22/2016One of the best sandwich shops in Berkeley.During lunch, the line can go back to the entrance, but it moves quickly. I've only ever gotten sandwiches, but they have soup and salad, too. Go there often enough and they'll memorize your order.

Black Bear Diner   - American (Traditional) - 5100 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Black Bear Diner - American (Traditional) - 5100 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/30/2016Nice place.exept waitress was keep on asking everythings ok every 3minutes like a robot.Food was delicious.Sjdjdjdjdjddjjdddfjffjjccjkkfhhdjjdgjdjgdujdyjdhhd­kkdhkfkkdkhdkkfjhfkhkydddgdhhdgjdjjjdjjdjyryjrhgdh­hdhjdggdjhfhhfhhdjhdgghdkhdkhdjh

Sozo Sushi Restaurant   - Sushi Bars - 2835 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Sozo Sushi Restaurant - Sushi Bars - 2835 Hopyard Rd, Pleasanton, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

7/27/2016It was great the first time, but now it's routine. In-laws love this place because they serve you miso soup and edamame to get the party started. We typically get a bento box, several rolls, and some beer. Misc Items:The quality of the sushi

You Might Also Like

DOSA on Fillmore   - Indian - Japantown - San Francisco, CA - Menu
9/11/2016Good place with great Indian food. T ...
California Custom Hot Tubs   - Hot Tub & Pool - 19230 Sonoma Hwy, Sonoma, CA
9/18/2016 Updated reviewReview update:  After ...
Kinderhaus   - Preschools - 198 Waterville St, Bayview-Hunters Point, San Francisco, CA
5/29/2016This is the preschool for chill, dow ...
Wayne Wolfe, MD - 18 Reviews - Family Practice - 1004 Northgate Dr, San Rafael, CA
9/13/2016Fact: going to the doctor sucks. But ...
David B Sundy, DC - Active Haling SF - 10 Reviews - Chiropractors - 4200 18th St, Ste 204, Castro, San Francisco, CA
7/8/2016Dr. Sundy is really good. I had sever ...
Cafe Du Monde   - Coffee & Tea - 813 Decatur St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA
6/23/2016The cafe is always busy, which isn't ...

Tags