Twisted Vines Bottleshop - Wine Bars - 2803 Columbia Pike, Columbia Heights, Arlington, VA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Twisted Vines Bottleshop  - Wine Bars - 2803 Columbia Pike, Columbia Heights, Arlington, VA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/28/2016

Love this place! Great wine club!Great service, friendly knowledgeable staff and nice wine selection.  I am looking forward to trying the whiskey flight.

8/22/2016

So this is mainly based on service.Saturday afternoon - swing in for a solo brunch... (Look, I was hungry).  It was pretty late, so the rush was over.  I'd say there were about 4 tables...Got a drink fairly quickly, but took a while to get my food order... took even longer to get my food (considering, I think i was the only one in the place who needed to eat...)Anywho - I got the mimosa special (all your can drink for $18) and the crab fritatta.  The mimosa was mainly juice, and the food was ok.  None of this was $45 good.  That being said - this is what super bugged me. During my meal, as I order the 2nd mimosa... the waiter tells me how you get a horrible headaches from mimosas cause he drank a whole picture... you drunk now? you tellin me you use cheap champagne?  Then when I'm done he says "Wow, you made quick work of that"... well damn, I was eating by myself!  All this made me uncomfortable... I paid and left. The End.

8/19/2016

I stopped by here with my mom because I just had to try the wine flights. We tried the Great Whites and the Rosés. Neither of us were blown away by any of the wines except my mom realized she will only drink Sauvignon Blancs from New Zealand, less floral notes. Glad we accomplished that. Anyways, it was totally fun and the bartender was so friendly and talkative. We also tried the Mediterranean flatbread and the mussels. Both good. The mussels were particularly good which you will see because I ate them before taking a picture; however they could use more bread to dip in the broth. All and all we will totally return for more wine flights because the wines change all the time. They also have a parking lot there which is great.

The great whites wine flight! So fun! The great whites wine flight! So fun! Mediterranean flatbread, my mom bit it first :| Mediterranean flatbread, my mom bit it first :| 6/13/2016

I came here for brunch last Saturday with a group of 4. We made a reservation in advance and when we arrived, we were seated right away. This place is pretty small and definitely had that wine-bar atmosphere. Needless to say, everyone in my group did the bottomless mimosas. The mimosas were OK - I've definitely had better. They use a very pulpy orange juice, which led me to believe they made their own fresh-squeezed orange juice. However, when I asked our waitress, she said it's store-bought. I personally enjoy my mimosas with majority champagne and a splash of OJ. These had more orange than I would've liked.The food on the other hand was amazing. I ordered the Huevos Rancheros, which was basically a Heuvos Rancheros Eggs Benedict combo. It had a nice kick to it already, so no need for hot sauce. The hollandaise sauce on top was a great addition. My friends ordered the Crabcake Benedict and said that was also amazing. This was definitely a top brunch meal in my book. I'd probably give this place a 5 if the mimosas were stronger/less pulpy and if it was a little bigger to have that Saturday-bottomless-brunch kind of vibe with large groups. Overall, I definitely enjoyed the brunch here!

Huevos Rancheros and bottomless mimosas Huevos Rancheros and bottomless mimosas 5/2/2016

FOOD: 4SERVICE: 5AMBIANCE: 5VALUE: 3OVERALL: 4Wine flights: check. Knowledgeable staff: check. Polished interior: check.  Charcuterie: Big fail.I definitely appreciate the kind and warm welcome, the service, suggestions on wine, and the pointers on wine/food pairings.Tried a flight of pinot grigio, and my friend tried a flight of pinot noirs.However, when I order a cheese + meat board, I expect there to be substantial cheese and meat.  It was super disappointing.  Literally two thin slices of Idiazabal cheese (Spanish, sheep milk), and two thin slices of Lomo Iberico.  I was nearly weeping. The herbed Gnocchi was delicious, as was Ahi Tuna Poke ($14!) Please, Twisted Vines, you can definitely spare double that amount of cheese and meat!!  And then I will be a forever fan.

Ahi Tuna Poke and Creamy herbed gnocchi :) Ahi Tuna Poke and Creamy herbed gnocchi :) "Meat and Cheese" board... a bit lacking, no?? (Just two slices each, and the cheese is translucent because of its thin slices) "Meat and Cheese" board... a bit lacking, no?? (Just two slices each, and the cheese is translucent because of its thin slices) 2/6/2016

Zero stars. Horrible, horrible service. I am walking away from this restaurant absolutely livid due to the rude treatment I received from the owner herself. And keep in mind, I am not one of those "difficult" diners (check out my reviews- mostly 4 stars).  I have typically frequented this restaurant and even recommended this restaurant to friends.My two girlfriends and I were looking forward to getting together to catch up over brunch. I recommended this location and was excited bc I haven't had brunch here yet- only dinner and HH.We arrived at 11am and were seated. Sat there for a few minutes and flagged down the hostess for our menus. We ordered food and waited. And waited. Over one hour later and many questions to the hostess and staff re: our food, we were told there was a delay due to being "slammed" and that they "aren't usually busy like this on Saturday." Ummmm.... It wasn't slammed and there were plenty of empty tables. Food came for every table except ours and we had to flag down the server for coffee and water. Finally at nearly 12:30, 1.5 hours later, the owner comes over to tell us they lost our ticket and she was going to finally make our food now. What the...??!! There was no apology or remedy or appropriate customer service. Never once did anyone offer to bring us a complimentary drink or snack for the delay. I was flabbergasted. In addition, when the owner stated she was going to finally cook our food, I asked her if there would be any remedy for our time and delay. She scoffed at my question and stated, "well I guess we can discount it a bit" but acted as though I was asking for the world. I am throughly disappointed and upset at the service and treatment. I will not be returning. Please reconsider the way you treat your guests.

Happy hour menu 4-7pm Happy hour menu 4-7pm Happy hour Happy hour 2/1/2016

Found this place thanks to fellow yelpers! Stopped in for a quick brunch on Saturday afternoon. The menu is small, but varied.  I wouldve liked to see a bigger menu though.  Its a very cozy, intimate place. I ordered a specialty eggs Benedict, since apparently they don't have just the classic, with canadian bacon. I ordered it with bacon instead. Very yummy! The egg was a bit under cooked for my liking, but I'd rather that than over done. The fiancé had french toast. Thick, powdered sugar loaves were brought out. Not much syrup, and none was given to apply his own. 8$ for a side of 4 slices of bacon. Wut?Anyways, we had mimosas 8$ a piece. Ouch. Our server was nice, but not very attentive, and she often kept us waiting. We even had to ask another server for our bill. See my attached picture. I'd say it's a nice place to try... but I wouldn't call it my fave just yet!

Eggs Benedict. Asked for it with bacon only. They still added the spinach. Which was fine. Not traditional eggs Benedict though. Eggs Benedict. Asked for it with bacon only. They still added the spinach. Which was fine. Not traditional eggs Benedict though. 1/16/2016

WOWIE! came here for happy hour and it did not disappoint! $2 off everything on the menu except for the entrees. The pick 4 cheese & charcuterie board:All of the items were outstanding. Drunken Goat - YUMMY!! it was a semi soft, nutty and delicious. recommended by the bartender.Manchego - one of my favorite cheeses, always a good pickChorizo - really delicious here!Smoked Duck Breast - recommended by the bartender, it was super delicious!Ahi Tuna with grilled pineapple. Raw item on the menu? A must order for me! This dish was really good! that grilled pineapple flavored the tuna with a hint of sweetness that really made the dish for me. A surprising a delicious dish, they did a great job bringing flavor to the tuna, not easy to do for a fish that usually tastes bland to me.Mini Carnitas Tacos!!!! YUMMY!!! really delicious tacos, it comes with 4 per order, a great deal. Served with pico de gallo and guacamole.Steak Flatbread - it wasn't bad, but it wasn't amazing. I'd skip this the next time. Steak on the flatbread was tasty though!Crabcakes!!!! BEST DISH OF THE NIGHT! You'd never expect to eat bomb diggity crab cakes coming to a wine bar, but this place serves one of the best crab cakes I've ever had. They are meaty and the harissa sauce on top gives it that nice kick. The micro greens is seasoned well and with a squeeze of lemon, it ties everything together perfectly.House wine for $6, really great deal, and really tasty! Parking lot is on the right of the store, its free! We'll be coming back soon for those delicious crab cakes, mini carnitas taco, ahi tuna, and cheese+charcuterie board!

Pick 4 cheese and charcuterie! Starting from the left and going clockwise. Drunken goat, chorizo, manchego, smoked duck breast! Pick 4 cheese and charcuterie! Starting from the left and going clockwise. Drunken goat, chorizo, manchego, smoked duck breast! Heavenly crab cake! Heavenly crab cake! Steak flatbread, ahi tuna poke w/ grilled pineapple, mini carnitas taco Steak flatbread, ahi tuna poke w/ grilled pineapple, mini carnitas taco See all photos from Clinton L. for Twisted Vines Bottleshop & Bistro 3/13/2016

I had an absolute wonderful time at Twisted Vines. I gathered with a large group for Brunch. Twisted Vines is a quaint little place right on Columbia Pike. Parking is available in the lot next door marked  Filmore. I kinda learned that after finding street parking, which thankfully wasn't bad since it was a Sunday. The food was absolutely delicious. I can honestly see why they were voted best resturant!  I had the Crab Cakes Benedict. It was do darn good. Others in my bunch got pancakes, the sausage sandwich, mushroom benedict, and Huevos Ranchos ... there were absolutely no complaints. Service great, food came out timely, restroom nice and clean, and mimosas was bottomless. I was happy camper.I even met the man with the plan at Twisted Vines --  Tony!! He's very nice and you would never think he was the man running the place as he was very very personable. My only wish is that the Sangria or other brunch beverages could be bottomless as well. I promise you we won't make it past three (haha) Nevertheless  I'm coming back for sure.Bonus - Twisted Vines has a wide selection of wine and its own monthly wine tasting club. How cool.

Decor! Decor! Crab cake Benedict... my gawd!!!! Crab cake Benedict... my gawd!!!! 10/14/2016

My friend lives nearby and frequents this place. I'm not as obsessed, the service could be more professional and knowledgeable, space could have more character. The wines and food are good for a happy hour or Sunday brunch, or a meetup with the girls. Wine bars are always nice to have in the neighborhood, but this one could be a little better.

12/7/2015

This establishment is being reviewed for brunch under the new ownership (change back in August) of Tony Wagner.2 of my friends and I came here for Sunday brunch, and were unfortunately disappointed by the experience. The crab cakes on the Crab Benedict were a good portion, and the side of bacon was perfectly crisped, but everything else had significant room for improvement.The restaurant was under staffed leaving long wait times for less than friendly service, the tables were placed a bit beyond the cozy comfort level to its neighbors, and the food seemed to have been prepared with little consideration (or possibly the result of an overwhelmed kitchen staff trying to fill many orders).

Crab Benedict Crab Benedict 8/15/2016

Went there on Friday with a girlfriend to catch up and had a wonderful time. This is my 2nd time visiting and I'm looking forward to going back again:Nice ambience, where you can hear the conversation.Good for a night with friends or date night.Nice, attentive, knowledgeable staff.Good wine selection- love the flights.Good food. We had a cheese platter, crab cakes and hummus- all delish!

9/25/2016

Great Brunch

2/22/2016

My boyfriend and I visited Twisted Vines on a Sunday afternoon for brunch. They were very busy, but we were able to snag the last two seats at the bar.The mimosas were very tasty. I normally don't like when restaurants have the mimosas pre-mixed in large amounts but Twisted Vines mimosas were very good. Their bloody marys are not a house mix, and my boyfriend had to order an extra shot of vodka for his because there was hardly any alcohol in it.Mixed feelings on the food. I ordered a fritatta and my boyfriend ordered the french toast. They were both fairly good, but nothing to write home about. The service was very slow and took way too long to come out. It was one hour from the time we ordered that we received our food, which is unacceptable.Not sure if I would return.

7/17/2015

What a lovely little neighborhood wine shop and restaurant in the Columbia Pike neighborhood!  My fiance and I visited on a Friday evening around 6:30pm and just made it for their wine and appetizer happy hour (ends at 7pm).  We ordered a ton of different things and had a wonderful experience.  Service was very efficient and friendly and we got a nice spot right next to the window in their comfy chairs.  We ordered:-Cheese and Charcuterie plate with some drinks - we went with 2 cheeses and 2 meat and loved it!  For the cheeses, we got sharper gouda-type cheeses and for the charcuterie plate, we ordered prosciutto and duck (my fiance enjoyed the latter more than I did).  Paired perfectly with my wine (a riesling) and my fiance's beer (a wonderfully delicious watermelon beer - and I hate beer but I enjoyed trying this one).-Appetizer off their happy hour menu - we ordered the Twisted Mac (sun dried tomatoes/ applewood smoked bacon/ jack & chedder cheese/ shell pasta/ parmesan bread crumbs).  This was PERFECT.  EVERYTHING THAT I LOVE!!!  SO GOOD and worth it!  It's probably one of the top 2 best mac n cheeses I've ever eaten, right after the lobster mac n cheese I had last year at another restaurant (because what can compete with lobster mac n cheese?).  but the Twsited Mac was pretty darn good.-Entrees - I ordered the steak with chimichurri sauce and potatoes and seasonal veggies.  The steak was a little underdone (I asked for medium) for my taste and I wasn't really a huge fan (I've certainly eaten better steak), but I really liked the presentation and how unique this dish was.  My fiance ordered two appetizers as his entree - the Ahi Poke with avocado and 3 tacos.  He absolutely loved his food and raved about how good it was.  I tried a bit of his ahi poke tuna and was very impressed.Overall, food, presentation, atmosphere, and drinks are EXCELLENT here and we would certainly visit again!Parking is convenient, as the restaurant has its own parking lot and there was ample space when we visited. Overall, I think this place is a gem.  I'm a lover of wine shops and bistros generally and this place did not disappoint!

Steak with chimichurri sauce, seasonal veggies, and potatoes Steak with chimichurri sauce, seasonal veggies, and potatoes Tacos Tacos Tacos Tacos See all photos from Pegah Y. for Twisted Vines Bottleshop & Bistro 12/7/2015

Stopped in for drinks with friends before heading to dinner.  The place has a clean, cozy yet modern feel.  The staff here is fantastic.  Just super friendly people who will do whatever they can to answer your questions.  They continually asked if we needed anything else without being pushy.  Top notch no doubt.The wine list is ok, not overly expansive in volume, but covers many different regions around the world.  They have about 25 wines by the glass on the menu.  The selection was very diverse covering both Old and New World wines along with many different varietals.  No varietal is repeated on the wine by the glass list.  This is one of the better wines by the glass lists I have seen.  Most wines were about $8-$14 per glass.  If you are not into wine, the do have a fully stocked bar.  They also have a very small selection of beer on tap, all of which seemed to be local brews.  If you are interested in having a beer here, please note your selection is limited.  We did not have food here, only drinks.  Overall this is a really nice establishment.  Great staff and an unpretentious feel.  I would happily come back here, no questions asked.

8/18/2016

The food is good but the wine is shockingly overpriced.  Columbia Pike is not in Manhattan, last time I checked.

8/7/2016

This place was cute and tasty for brunch. There was a longish period of waiting for our food (we did have a party of 5). Forgot a coke refill but other wise it was decent service. The Crab Benedict was delicious, and the pancakes were good too (airy, like a thick crepe).  I recommend making reservations.

9/15/2015

We stopped in for a quick Happy Hour and ended up meeting Tony - one of the new owners!The HH prices were as good as the wine and food selection, plus the location makes it very convenient for me to easily meet my girl as she gets off the 16Y!They're about to install 4 beer taps that will feature local brews - this will be perfect for when she feels like wine and I feel like exploring new beers. We'll be back soon!

9/1/2015 Updated review

We were finally able to return during dinner service and this is just such a cute wine bar in south Arlington. My favorite are their selective and interesting wine/glass picks. But their cheese & charcuterie boards also piqued my interest so we opted for the drunken goat cheese, manchego, and Mahon (like a brie) and the smoked duck breast, prosciutto and hot coppa. The hot coppa was definitely the favorite charcuterie and the manchego was the best cheese. As cheese boards go, it wasn't the best I ever had, but I was impressed with the staff's knowledge of the selections. Overall, cute and intimate place for a nice date night.

Dinner menu: August 2015. Dinner menu: August 2015. 1/8/2015 Previous review This isn't our usual brunch spot (Wiliam Jeffries...holla!), but I heard they had bottomless mimosas… This isn't our usual brunch spot (Wiliam Jeffries...holla!), but I heard they had bottomless mimosas so thought we would give it a try. Note: bottomless mimosas are limited to 9 glasses, which we were sure to fulfill. When we arrived around 10am it was pretty dead but in about an hour it really filled up, to the point they were turning away so ressies are advised after 11:30am. The brunch menu was interesting. They also have a bunch of fancy coffees and lattes. My friend ordered the Mascarpone french toast (strictly for the mascarpone!) and I ordered the eggs benedict I think with 2 poached eggs on top and it was delicious. The french toast was meh...a little too soggy and the mascarpone was barely there. Otherwise service was friendly and the place was cute. I would like to return for dinner where they have cheese & charcuterie available. Read more Comment from Anthony W. of Twisted Vines Bottleshop & Bistro Business Owner 1/12/2015 We're happy you came for the mimosas and stayed for the delicious food! Thanks for sharing your… We're happy you came for the mimosas and stayed for the delicious food! Thanks for sharing your experience, Meredith, and we cannot wait to welcome you back. Just curious: How did you hear about us? We're so curious!All the best,Sybil and Josh Read more
Tags:
Related Articles
Bar Bambino Cafe and Wine Bar   - Wine Bars - 2931 16th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Bar Bambino Cafe and Wine Bar - Wine Bars - 2931 16th St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

1/4/2013Been meaning to hit this place up for a while. I keep walking by and hearing about it from friends. By the time I write this review, they will be closed. In announcing their closure Im sure it amped up their patronage. Place was crazy packed

Wayfare   - Wine Bars - 4510 Freret St, Freret, New Orleans, LA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Wayfare - Wine Bars - 4510 Freret St, Freret, New Orleans, LA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/15/2016You literally can't go wrong here. Wayfare salad, Cuban, and duck fat fries are some of my favorites. The bread pudding beignets are to die for. The wayfare Benedict is the absolute best thing for brunch in the city, you're welcome. Service

Wine Kitchen   - Wine Bars - 507 Divisadero St, NoPa, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

Wine Kitchen - Wine Bars - 507 Divisadero St, NoPa, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/6/2016We've not only been in for a glass of wine and a few dinners but we hosted a birthday party here.  Every visit has been exceptional and the price is right.  The wine list is diverse and very approachable, the food is really impressive, and th

L’emigrante Wine Bar  - Wine Bars - 2199 Mission St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

L’emigrante Wine Bar - Wine Bars - 2199 Mission St, Mission, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

9/17/2016The atmosphere is great, this is a perfect location for people watching.Calgar and Bikir are amazing! Outstanding customer service and have great recommendations for whatever wine you are in the mood for. Very knowledgeable in what they do.

District   - Wine Bars - 216 Townsend St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

District - Wine Bars - 216 Townsend St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu

8/10/2016Great happy hour!!! $1 oysters!! Need I say more??Great happy hour food and prices. Ceviche was bomb! The space is trendy and open. Lots of comfy couches to hang out on. Friendly and good service!! We will be back next time we are in ATT par

You Might Also Like

Dudley Perkins Co Harley  - Motorcycle Dealers - 333 Corey Way, South San Francisco, CA
7/28/2016I had my bike towed in this morning ...
GRID Alternatives  - Solar Installation - 1171 Ocean Ave, North Oakland, Oakland, CA
8/31/2016I first heard of Grid Alternatives w ...
Iguanas   - Mexican - 330 S 3rd St, Downtown, San Jose, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
9/9/2016I used to be a La Vics burrito fan, b ...
Lunch Box   - Fast Food - 50 Phelan Ave, Sunnyside, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
6/19/2014Always open whenever I'm in the need ...
IGIGI - CLOSED - 53 Reviews - Women's Clothing - 1547 Mission St, SoMa, San Francisco, CA
6/7/2015This review is for the online site on ...

NorCal Imaging - San Leandro - 24 Reviews - Diagnostic Imaging - 2450 Washington Ave, San Leandro, CA

4/7/2016When I walked in I the first thing I ...

Tags