William W Lee, DDS - 88 Reviews - General Dentistry - 114 Sansome St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

William W Lee, DDS - 88 Reviews - General Dentistry - 114 Sansome St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA
5/31/2016

Dr. Lee and his staff are amazing! Every time I go I feel like I have their undivided attention. Never feel rushed. Dr. Lee always takes time to answer all my question, and I can't say enough about how awesome the hygienists are! Never painful and always super friendly. Highly, highly, highly recommend Dr. Lee and his practice.

12/5/2015

HERE'S THE REAL DEAL:-Over priced exams-Mediocre to poor dentistry-Apparently everyone needs a "deep cleaning" (NOT) which of course is more expensive-pushes "preventative" dental work ( more $$$ right) So referred by a friend I went to see Lee for a yearly check up. The office is nice, clean, the staff is professional and Dr. Lee is pleasant. That is where the good stuff ends unfortunately. The tech took x-rays of my mouth and then Lee came to do an exam. He checked my gums as well. This is called a BPE -Basic Periodontal Examination. The dentist uses his metal probe and pushes on different areas of your gums and reads of numbers to the assistant. Notice this chart doesn't even have 5's on it.Score      0  Perfect  no attention needed1  Quite good  some attention needed (1 visit)2  Average  Needs attention and advice (1-2 visits)3  Trouble  but nothing that cannot be corrected (2-3 visits)4  Problems  a series of appointments needed to limit tooth loss.* potential for surgical intervention- Indicates furcation involvementGenerally if a BPE score of 4 has been identified in a sextant then you can move on to the next sextant as there isn't a worse BPE score. I'm young and my teeth are in good shape, I was just coming in for a regular cleaning. However now I was being told I have some 3's but MANY 4's and 5's on my exam and should have a "deep" cleaning that cleans under the gum line. I was shocked by this! He also told me I have a cavity that he can take care of the next appointment. He "tapped" on one of my teeth so hard asking about sensitivity I thought he was going to crack it! I had to reschedule for the deep cleaning he suggested so my appointment ended. His results and suggestions were very suspicious to me so I went to get a second opinion.**A TRUSTED SECOND OPINION** I have a friend who has been a dental hygienist for OVER 20 YEARS EXPERIENCE so I went to her to recheck Lee's "findings". She took x-rays and did a BPE exam. She told me I had mainly 3's and maybe a 4 but definitely no 5's. Additionally the dentist checked my "cavity" and said it was so small that I could use prescription toothpaste, Clinpro 5000, that would most likely resolve the cavity since it was so small. Basically my hygienist friend told of course is you press hard enough you will get 4/5 results. She was trained in Boston and to me has much more experience. Lee only has been practicing 11 years. CONCLUSION**DON'T GO BACK!I saved myself from being charged a ridiculous amount for a deep cleaning that wasn't even necessary. I also saved myself from having a cavity procedure that wasn't required. In the end I still had a balance to pay after my Delta Dental insurance paid because Lee's office has higher rates.Common check-up and cleaning costs can vary. Dentists charge different rates depending upon your situation and where you live. In most places, an average check-up costs about $288, which covers an exam, x-rays AND cleaning. I understand that things cost more in SF HOWEVER IT COST THIS MUCH AND MY TEETH WEREN'T EVEN CLEANED! This is completely unacceptable! I know another person that went to him and was told they needed a "deep cleaning" as well. Ridiculous, it's too bad it seems like this office is just out to make $$$. You have been warned. Here are links for more information. I would always check what your dentist rates are for each exam BEFORE getting any work done, and then check with your insurance coverage of that exam.memberbenefits.com/denta…dentalnotebook.com/basic…GOOD LUCK FINDING A DENTIST, AVOID THIS ONE!

Comment from William L. of William W Lee, DDS Business Owner 12/7/2015 Thank you for your review.  We cannot confirm if you are a patient of record.  If you are a patient,… Thank you for your review.  We cannot confirm if you are a patient of record.  If you are a patient, unfortunately, we cannot discuss your concerns in public due to violating HIPPA regulations.  We would be more than happy to address your concerns with you in a more private setting.  Please give us a call if you wish to do so. Read more 12/29/2015

This was a very pleasant experience from beginning to end. I got there a bit early but was promptly assisted by Sandy. There's a great view from the office and I had a very pleasant cleaning from Sylvia, resulting in a great clean smile.Highly recommended and I'll be back soon!

12/8/2015

Best dentist in SF!!!!!  Wish he does kids too.  My husband and I love his staff and clean beautiful office!

11/10/2015

Pros: Super friendly staff!Clean, modern-feeling officeCons: ExpensiveDentist is very busyThe main thing to be aware of is that they are considerably more expensive than some insurance companies think is reasonable. My insurance company claims that they pay 100% of the amount for all the standard, covered services. But when the dentist sent them the bill, they balked, and paid only a bit more than half, leaving me with close to a $200 charge at the end. All I asked for was the standard stuff that was covered by insurance. In fairness, another insurance company I had covered the full amount. So it's just a bit of a crapshoot, and according to this office, there's really no way to know until they submit the bill. The dentist is also super busy. He's very friendly when you have him. If you want a dentist who will get you in and out rapidly for standard check ups, he's great! If you want a dentist who will spend time with you on a standard check up, well, I've found that he's prioritized other patients with more advanced needs, and spent only very brief periods of time with me. Based on the other reviews here, my experience with the dentist being so busy is a bit of an outlier. I'm glad to see everyone else had a better experience with him!

Comment from William L. of William W Lee, DDS Business Owner 11/10/2015 Thank you for your review and we appreciate your concern.  Please note that insurance reimbursements… Thank you for your review and we appreciate your concern.  Please note that insurance reimbursements are based on what is set up with your employer and insurance companies.   This is what dictates what gets paid out.  It may be different from insurance company to insurance company and even different within the same insurance company depending on the employer.  Dentists are completely out of the loop. As a courtesy to our patients, we verify your insurance and try to get the most accurate information attainable.  They provide us with maximums, deductibles, and percentages of coverage.  Unfortunately, the insurance company does not provide to us what the benefits of reimbursements are, for had we had this information, we could have notified you of the circumstances and not have had this issue.  Please give us a call and we will be more than happy to discuss further with you the nuances of dental insurance. Read more 12/8/2015

As someone who is scared of the dentist, even as a full grown adult, and has sensitive gums, Dr. Lee is a godsend! His office looks like a floor of the MoMA, his staff is so friendly and attentive, and Dr. Lee himself is a thorough but efficient dentist. 4 people on my team at work go to him alone! Thanks for keeping my teeth clean, Dr. Lee!

12/8/2015

Dr. Lee and his team are as bright and dazzling as my teeth.  Thanks to the thorough and top notch care my teeth receive by Dr. Lee, I have not had any dental issues at all.   The front desk receptionists are always so friendly.  I never wait for my appointment and his dental hygienists are very good at educating me on improving my dental hygiene in between visits.  As a child I used to be excited about the toy my dentist would give me at the end of the visit but now I get so excited to come to my dental appointment with Dr. Lee just because they are so good at what they do.

11/17/2015 Updated review

Dr. Lee continues to be one of the most human Dr's I have had. He is very gentle and kind, and a pro - he is even a teacher at the college of dentistry nearby, so he is teaching the future minds of tomorrow! Great creds, and his office is super nice. You don't feel like you walk in and get that gross dental smell, it is more like a spa and I look forward to my lunchtime nap every 6 months. I have sent a few people there and everyone agrees, Dr. Lee is the only way to go for dental work in SF!

5/13/2013 Previous review I am very picky about my dentist, because I know there is a lot of basic dentistry out there where… I am very picky about my dentist, because I know there is a lot of basic dentistry out there where they do the bare minimum and most people don't know the difference, but Dr. Lee is innovative, thorough, modern and conservative. The place is a boutique feeling office so you feel that you are being treated with style and not sacrificing quality. The place feels small too, sometimes if you need to call for anything, Dr. Lee will answer. All of the staff is super friendly, and great location. I was so nervous having to change from my dentist in the peninsula (moved jobs) and I was very happy when I got the full treatment and it was awesome. You can tell that Dr. Lee cares about his patients and not just a number. Read more 12/9/2015 Updated review

Always amazing care. My is great and Dr. Lee always remembers me and facts about my life. Making a trip to the dentist way more enjoyable than normal.ALSO OPEN ON SATURDAY

9/16/2014 Previous review Excellent Service! 12/8/2015

I lived in Socal (Newport Beach) for 6 years and kept Dr Lee as my dentist. He's that great. They are awesome at scheduling and are super nice to my very sensitive teeth. I'm back in SF and still seeing them 2x yearly for my cleanings!

12/17/2015

I have been a patient of this practice for five years and travel from North Carolina to see them. My is the best hygienist I have ever had - very thorough, detail oriented, sweet, and funny. Dr. Lee is kind, personable, I trust his expertise. I would rate his care as exceptional. Additional:- Located near the Montgomery stop on Bart/Muni. Beautiful office in a central location.- Very clean - Even though they are booked out for months, they always make an effort to fit you in if there is a cancellation spot available.- I have no comment on cost, as insurance coverage is specific to the individual. Personally, I have had no issues.This team has improved my overall dental health and I am grateful to them.

12/8/2015

I highly recommend Dr. Lee!  I have had some bad experiences in the past and found Dr. Lee about 10+ years ago.  I have referred many people to him and will continue to do so.  I don't see myself ever going to anyone else!  Dentistry is lucky to have him!

12/8/2015

I've had nothing but thorough, quality exams and care at Dr. Lee's office.  I've never been advised of needing a deep cleanse nor have had any preventative measures suggested...  this after having been advised of preventative periodontal care from another dentist.  The office is clean, convenient, and appointments are a breeze...  there is never a wait, and I'm always in and out in the time suggested to allot-  which is awesome for someone who is in sales, and has a multitude of appointments to go to on any given day.In addition to my regular dental care, Dr. Lee has provided me with Invisiline as well as Zoom services-  both of which brought superior results.I HATED going to the dentist in the past, and now I have my bi-annual exams on a regular basis, and always know they will be painless, and quick.

12/8/2015

Dr. Lee came highly recommended from a friend, and he did not disappoint! Beautiful and conveniently located office, friendly staff, and easy/professional service.

12/10/2015

I've been going to Dr Lee for a few years now. The service delivered has always far exceeded my expectations. Appointments are kept on time and done in an extremely modern and comfortable office. The entire staff treats me like an old friend every time I visit. I actually look forward to my cleanings. (and not in a Bill Murray from little shop of horrors way). I can't say enough wonderful things about this dental office. If you are looking for a dentist or have second thoughts about the one you are seeing, give Dr Lee a try. You won't be disappointed.

8/24/2015

Dr. Lee is the antithesis of a scary dentist. If you're looking for comfort, assurance and someone who won't overcharge you- best guy to go to. I've referred him to several of my friends and colleagues as I know he'll be a good fit for anyone, they've all left his dental office smiling and thanking me for the referral. On top of that he's sent me hand written thank you notes for spreading the word- exemplary dental work in the fidi.

12/9/2015

I had a great experience with this office from start to finish. I was referred by a coworker so I knew they took our insurance. When I called to set up an appointment, the administrator was very nice and patient. The appointment was about a month out, which was no issue but I was called earlier to see if I wanted to fill a cancelled spot and I loved that. I was in and out of the dentist in the time they told me it would take. The hygienists and Dr. Lee were all pleasant and very helpful. Also very thorough. I'm a huge medical skeptic so I like to know exactly what is going on and if procedures are absolutely necessary. I hadn't been to the dentist in 2 years so I had some issues but they were very descriptive and specific when I asked questions about services and price. I've never had a dentist take an actual picture of my tooth to show me a cavity. Also, the admin looked up how much for future services my insurance would cover if I chose to have them. Only reason this isn't 5 stars is because they are on the pricey side but I expected that.

7/1/2015

Dr. Lee is a fantastic dentist. He spends a fair amount of time with patients and actually gets to know them. Whenever I have questions or concerns, he gives a detailed, clear explanation and discusses possible treatment options.Dr. Lee's office and office staff are also great. My appointment is always confirmed by text and email. His office staff are friendly and really competent--dealing with new insurance, making rush appointments, etc. are no problem for them. Lots of convenient, early AM appointments.

5/6/2015

Dr. Lee is not a dentist...he's an artist!  So proud of my smile!  Highly recommend him.  Always on time, very attentive, and detail oriented.  A+!

6/5/2014

Thank you Dr Lee! I had a horrible experience with another dentist in the area and ended up having to get a root canal. An expensive and painful event. I wasnt even a patient of Dr. Lee but I called him to get the root canal done since I didnt want to go back to the same doctor. He doesn't perform root canals himself, but he recommended a friendly and talented doctor - Dr. Brian Nguyen. By the time I went into Dr. Lee's office to finish the permanent filling, my dental insurance was all dried up. I was so worried it was going to cost an arm and a leg. However, I was pleasantly surprised about how accommodating he was! He suggested I push the expensive procedure to Jan to save some money. Very thankful for that!Overall, friendly and accommodating with a clean and welcoming office!

Tags:
Related Articles
Preston K Brown, DDS - 99 Reviews - General Dentistry - 114 Sansome St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Preston K Brown, DDS - 99 Reviews - General Dentistry - 114 Sansome St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

8/21/2016I have been going to Dr. Brown for 15 years. I absolutely LOVE him and everyone in his office.I am a bit of a stickler for good bedside manner and Dr. Brown has that as well as the skill to match. His work is the best and he is super gentle.

Bradley D Shepard, DDS - 35 Reviews - General Dentistry - 22 Battery St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Bradley D Shepard, DDS - 35 Reviews - General Dentistry - 22 Battery St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

8/3/2016Best dentist I've ever had in my life... Dr Shepard is attentive, kind, professional, patient, etc etc (I can go on and on...)... but most importantly, he is VERY GOOD AT WHAT HE DOES!!! Got fillings (embarrassing to say but I blame it on

Nick Levi, DDS - 45 Reviews - General Dentistry - 230 California St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Nick Levi, DDS - 45 Reviews - General Dentistry - 230 California St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

6/23/2016This was the best dentistry experience in my life so far. Dr. Levi is a very smart and attentive doctor. He gave me a full explanation about each tooth in such simple words that I can understand and helped to start working on my problems. Th

Anita B Youngblood, DMD - 27 Reviews - General Dentistry - 180 Montgomery St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Anita B Youngblood, DMD - 27 Reviews - General Dentistry - 180 Montgomery St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

6/11/2012I had an emergency dental situation this morning, and my dentist was unavailable to help, so a friend recommended I give Anita Youngblood a try. Walking into her office, I was amazed by the stunning view of the Transamerica Pyramid from the

Lynn Mieger, DDS - 73 Reviews - Oral Surgeons - 115 Sansome St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

Lynn Mieger, DDS - 73 Reviews - Oral Surgeons - 115 Sansome St, Financial District, San Francisco, CA

3/20/2013Excellent, attentive care. I've been going here 6 years and have consistently had only positive experiences. No unnecessary procedures, just good care. My teeth have never been better.Great energy and vibe in the office, too. Dr. Mieger and

You Might Also Like

Anchor Distilling - Distilleries - 1705 Mariposa St, Potrero Hill, San Francisco, CA
Kama Lounge   - Karaoke - 3910 Geary St, Inner Richmond, San Francisco, CA
5/13/2016Midnight and senior stunble is in fu ...
Get It Darker Window Tinting   - Auto Glass Services - 400 E Todd Rd, Santa Rosa, CA
3/31/2016These guys are great. I had them do ...
Marcello’s Pizza   - Pizza - 420 Castro St, Castro, San Francisco, CA - Restaurant Reviews
6/2/2016It's quite fitting this place's logo ...
Thanh Huong   - Vietnamese - 2050 N Capitol Ave, North Valley, San Jose, CA - Restaurant Reviews - Menu
6/9/2016My "go to" spot in Milpitas ...
Seton Medical Center   - Hospitals - 1900 Sullivan Ave, Daly City, CA
4/6/2016Everyone that knows me, knows that I' ...

Tags